We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (222)
Filter reviews
222 results
Traveller rating
160
44
14
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
160
44
14
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews contemporary rooms watch your head renovated monastery traditional room wellness classes qi gong interesting museum interesting place to stay spa services two twin beds old quebec regular hotel rooms are small private bath older part train station fourth floor
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 222 reviews
Reviewed November 9, 2017 via mobile

The monastery and accommodations are outstanding. The mix of old and new is beautifully done. Our room, the entire place, was exceptionally clean! We happened to meet a couple of the sisters as we were touring the museum and wandering about the building. They were very friendly and welcoming. The location couldn’t have been more perfect! We were able to park our car in the front lot (parking is hard to come by inside the wall). We used the rear entrance to step right onto charming streets loaded with restaurants, store fronts and parks. Beautiful place to stay. We highly recommend the monastery and will stay here again!

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Alfred K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 15, 2017

The other travelers have described the property hence I'll not get into that.
It's beautifully located and old city is all around the hotel. Hence no car needed.
The rooms are too small so if you have large luggage will pose some difficulty. We had a double bed and that was excellent.
The breakfast is good but very basic.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tanujpatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2017 via mobile

We particularly wanted to stay here and immerse in the whole experience and we were not disappointed! At reception Cristoff was fantastic really making us feel like they wanted us there. The history, the silent breakfast was extraordinary. We loved it.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 26, 2017 via mobile

This is a beautifully updated and yet authentic monastere, which is now partially a non-profit hotelliere ,spa and museum in the heart of Old Quebec. I stayed in the "authentic" convent rooms, (there are "contemporary" rooms too) and the simple, very clean, pure rooms (from the 17th century, watch your head! ) the awesome art and history, combined with the very healthy fresh breakfast included, were not only totally convenient to everything in town, but was a perfect contemplative atmosphere for this area! We loved it. Reasonably priced too, and best of all, parking there and NO NEED TO DRIVE, on the crazy ancient streets of that city, around all the construction and no parking! Ugh, just THAT was worth it! Hints: SILENT breakfast! It was totally healthy and substantial, and the lack of chatter and noise first thing in the morning was not missed. A great start to the day. SECOND HINT: Parking is more expensive than the area, but we felt it was worth not having to drive around the ancient narrow streets managing parking. THIRD HINT: On the 3rd floor ("authentic" rooms) plan on communal bathrooms, (clean, they were fine, and plenty) but ask for a room that is not near them. 4th floor has private bathrooms. Also, noise you make in your room really travels around, very disturbing to others, so talk softly and bring headphones if you plan to listen to anything in your room. FOURTH HINT: Be careful of the privacy lock button on the back of the doors. It is easy to lock and not obvious how to release, and the staff will not be able to clean your room with it engaged. Lots of spa services and yoga classes available, but had no time to use them. They looked great too.

The church is being renovated right now, so there is no access, I missed visiting it but it was not crucial.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank G612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 17, 2017

This is a historic nun's monastery - turned into hotel, museum and retreat center. So, everyone there talks in whispers. Beautifully restored with modern safety and conveniences. We stayed in a "Traditional" room, the old nun's quarters; two old fashioned beds, sink, Armour, desk/chair, lamps, bedside table. Down the hall = restrooms with multiple unisex toilets (stalls with doors), and shower rooms (single shower, sink, toilet and lockable door). Need keycard to run AC. In Old Quebec City, behind the hospital = difficult to find. 24 parking spaces @$24 cad for 24 hr use. We had a view of roof tops, industry and some of the waterway. Stone walls surrounding garden area and building. Elevators and ramps. No TVs. WiFi. My husband loved the well maintained and restored architecture.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yvonne p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monasterequebec, Public Relations Manager at Le Monastere des Augustines, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2017

Hi yvonne p, thank you for taking the time to review your experience at Le Monastère. I am glad your husband and you enjoyed your time spent within our historic walls.
Best regards,

Shani Dion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews