We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Comfortable feel with quality and character” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Tadoussac

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Tadoussac
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Tadoussac
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chester, uk
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Comfortable feel with quality and character”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

Comfortable, old by North American standards, which also means it has lots more character than the modern chain hotels.

Commands a great view of the bay, which is basically at the bottom of the garden - front lawn must be a spectacular place to sit out on warm days, our 2 were chilly but we still tried it.

rooms were clean and well equipped, smaller than the corporate chains but big enough for us Brits. We needed a twin room for our two adult sons, which was on the end of a (very long) corridor and with a communicating door which was useful.

Lovely big lounge overlooking the front, we sat with books and coffee, watching the view and the world go by, whole place just felt comfortable.

look out for deals with Dufour Boats, who have a booking counter facing reception - we had a trip up the Saguernay Fjord (you could also do whale watches) effectively at $10 discount and a free breakfast in the hotel, not suprisingly the biggest and best breakfast we had on the holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the bay for the best views - and look out for the boats deals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chesterimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tadoussac155036, Front Office Manager at Hotel Tadoussac, responded to this review, 7 October 2011
Good afternoon,

The Team of the Hotel Tadoussac wants to thank you for your interest in our property during your vacation 2011. Every year we work hard to make sure that we reach our goal and we are glad that we did with your family. Your comments are important to us and we thank you.

Best Regards

Marie-Pierre Bergeron
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    317
    219
    64
    26
See reviews for
222
423
20
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

Old elegant destination. Great service. We used the buffet dining room for dinner which was over priced but 5 star quality and again in the morning for a 5 star breakfast. Rooms are small and the bathroom cramped. Beds are very nice. The hotel is by the water with a great view. Lots of lawn furniture to sit at and a board walk near by. Village is walking distance (2 blocks) and plenty of little places to eat and shop. Board walk leads a short distance to view the whales from shore or you can arrange a boat at the desk. Lots of history at this place and you could feel it everywhere.

Room Tip: We drove up one side of the fjord 3.5 hours and down the other another 3.5 hours and there is little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tadoussac155036, Front Office Manager at Hotel Tadoussac, responded to this review, 7 October 2011
Good afternoon,

The Hotel Tadouussac wants to thank you for your great comments. Those comments inform us that we did reach our goal with your family. Hopefully, we will see you in 2012.

Best regards

Marie-Pierre Bergeron
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

With the exception of the red roof, which is visible from far away while you are cruising in search of whales, this hotel blends in really well with the surrounding village/town.

We stayed on the second floor and there was a large balcony accessible to all, overlooking the bay: very nice view and a place where you can relax, read a book or just enjoy the view.
The room was very comfortable with nice linens. The bathroom was a bit small, but very clean.
We had a room with a window facing the entrance of the hotel, overlooking a nice little flower garden.
The restaurant called The William in the hotel has great service and excellent gourmet food. If you dine early and it is not yet dark outside, you can see the bay.
Look for deals before you go, sometimes they package 2 for one on the whale cruises with restaurant vouchers too, we made our deal before coming to the hotel: found it on the internet.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank msp_trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tadoussac155036, Front Office Manager at Hotel Tadoussac, responded to this review, 7 October 2011
Good afternoon,

The Team of the Hotel Tadoussac wants to thank you for your interest in our property for you vacation 2011. This is really fantastic for us to read your comments and find out that we did reach our goal. Every comment is important for us to make sure that we improve our services.

Best Regards

Marie-Pierre Bergeron
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
64 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

Hotel Tadoussac is conveniently located right in the village of Tadoussac. Nice lobby with plenty of big couches and comfy chairs, big dinning room and nice garden outside with chairs and view on the bay. Room with garden view we got was big enough, free wifi, but nothing out of the ordinary. All that does come with a heavy pricetag though, which is the only reason why I would rate this as Average vs Very Good. Decent breakfast buffet is about $20C per person, decent supper buffet is around $40C, and the rooms can be a bit expensive.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fcsklabrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tadoussac155036, Front Office Manager at Hotel Tadoussac, responded to this review, 21 September 2011
Good afternoon,

The Hotel Tadoussac wants to thank you for your interest in our property. Our team is glad to see that you did enjoy your vacation in Tadoussac. The area experience is base on the Whale watching cruise, the outdoor activity for the view, the historic of the area and the Hotel Tadoussac. Our goal is to make sure that we offer a 4 stars services. You can be sure that we take notes of your comment, because it a way to improve our product.

Thank you

Best Regards
Marie-Pierre Bergeron
Front Desk manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights. Hotel Tadoussac is a place that I would easily return to. I found the atmosphere friendly, charming and the decor a pleasant blend of the old and the new. Check in was easy; we were using a coupon with several amenities included & the front desk staff were very helpful in explaining what to expect and what was required of us.
Our room was very nice; equipped with a flat screen TV, lots of closet and dresser space, comfy chairs to relax in, and a bed that would rival the Sofitel for comfort .
We opted to dine outside the hotel on our first night, and were actually quite disappointed with both the service and the food at La Galouine.
We ended that first evening at the Coquart bar in the hotel..where the service was friendly & helpful and we enjoyed some apres dinner wine.
The next morning we dined in Le Cloverdale for breakfast. Wonderful Buffet at a very reasonable price.
I had prebooked our whale watching tour through the hotel. We were picked up at the front door of the hotel by the tour company & brought to the dock to board our boat for our trip. We saw many whales of different varieties; not to mention hundreds of seals! We enjoyed a 3 hour cruise & I was thrilled; this has been on my bucket list for a while.
Dinner on our last night was the Buffet in Le Cloverdale. Great service & lots of good food..try the Quebec cheeses; they are excellent.
I absolutely love the atmosphere of this hotel. I can only imagine the stories she could tell. As I said previously I would return here in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandiamos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

Nice location and beautiful view but needs upgrades and is way too expensive for what it is. The breakfast was good. The room was small but clean. The hotel has a desk for whale watching but it is only one company. They couldn't help us much so we reserved with another company from a brochure we received in Québec city. There is only one computer with Internet you can use in the lobby and it is pretty slow. I paid less than this for a great hotel in the heart of Boston or Philly. There isn't much to do in Tadoussac so I don't understand why it is so expensive. I recommend to people to either stay in a B&B or don't take the ferry and stay in Baie St-Catherine. I wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmvoyagerNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tadoussac155036, Front Office Manager at Hotel Tadoussac, responded to this review, 21 September 2011
Good afternoon,

The Hotel Tadoussac wants to thank you for your interest in our property for your 2011 vacation, and we also thank you for your comments. We are sorry that you been desapointed about the product versus the rate that you paid for. There is many evaluation that are made to decide the rate of the product, and the unicity of the area is a wonderful experience. You can be sure that your comment are important to us.

Best regards

Marie-Pierre Bergeron
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven
Level Contributor
100 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

On the outside it is a beautifull "old grandeur" hotel with a stunning view on the bay. The hotel used to be the film set of a movie in the fourties. It seems that the interior of the hotel has not changed much since then... The entrance hall is really depressive with outdated furniture that is good for a second hands shop. The rooms are also old-fashioned.
It's true that some efforts have been done: new fine linen bed covers, new flat screen TV, new tiles in the bathroom, but a thoroughfull upgrading of the hotel is necessary.
The breakfast seems to be OK for Americans, but if they want to accomodate European travellers they should provide a European continental breakfast as well (bread, cheese, salami, ham, ...).
This hotel is probably the best you can get in Tadoussac, as long as there is not a more up to date competitive offer.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jilmat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tadoussac155036, Front Office Manager at Hotel Tadoussac, responded to this review, 14 September 2011
Hello,

The Hotel Tadoussac wants to thank you for your interest in our property during your vacation in 2011. Your comments are important for us, and you can be sure that every year our establishment is refresh, and we are looking to continu our improvement.

Best Regards

Marie-Pierre Bergeron
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tadoussac hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel - Motel Le Beluga
Hotel - Motel Le Beluga
#1 of 8 in Tadoussac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Georges
Hotel Georges
#8 of 8 in Tadoussac
3.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Le Pionnier
Hotel Le Pionnier
#4 of 8 in Tadoussac
3.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Auberge Maison Gagne
Auberge Maison Gagne
#1 of 19 in Tadoussac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.3 km away
Auberge la Sainte Paix
Auberge la Sainte Paix
#2 of 19 in Tadoussac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.2 km away
Auberge La Merveilleuse
Auberge La Merveilleuse
#1 of 10 in Tadoussac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tadoussac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tadoussac

Property: Hotel Tadoussac
Address: 165, rue Bord de l'Eau, Tadoussac, Quebec G0T 2A0, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Tadoussac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Tadoussac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tadoussac 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Tadoussac Tradition With its whitewashed walls, red roof, maritime colours, dormer windows and cupola, Tadoussac Hotel calls to mind an earlier era. Overlooking Tadoussac Bay and the St. Lawrence River, the hotel is perfect for outdoor enthusiasts, family holidays, couples on a romantic getaway, or corporate groups looking to do some team building. Besides whale watching, golf, and eco-tourism, we offer a variety of other activities, including swimming and tennis, our health club and spa, and our Kids' Club. Wander the magnificent sand dunes, take one of the many scenic hikes, or just sit in your room and enjoy the ever-changing landscape. Come explore everything Tadoussac has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Tadoussac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tadoussac Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing