We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location and price!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Senator Saskatoon
Ranked #30 of 39 Hotels in Saskatoon
Moose Jaw, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Perfect location and price!”
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Rooms clean. Staff very polite. Rooms may seem small if thats important to you. Beds very comforatable. You can walk everywhere downtown from this spot as it is in the heart of downtown. Parking available for free. Perfect for 3 women down for shopping and the theatre!

Room Tip: DId not have any noise problems. There is a pub connected to the hotel but we didn't hear anythi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hao548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    66
    33
    12
    21
See reviews for
20
36
33
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dearborn, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Pluses: wide comfortable bed, quiet room, immaculately clean, excellent water pressure in shower, attractive paintings throughout hallways, dining room gorgeous place to eat breakfast (at dinnertime, it's expensive, with gourmet selections), excellent bar/grill with delicious buffaloburgers, courteous service (on checkin, clerk asked me if I wanted a quiet room in back with view of parking garage or noisier room with nice street view (I picked the former), good location accessible by bus lines. Minuses: little desk space in room (the bed dominates the space), internet connection on the free computer provided for that was often not working.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EJW8191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince Albert, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

I love staying in this old hotel. The interior is a little creepy but fabulous at the same time. While this hotel is not the hilton, it is always clean! The beds are comfortable and have great bedding. I also love the English pub downstairs where you have a selection of ~40 different kegs. Very close to all the downtown ammenities, shopping, dining, TCU place, etc. I will be going there again this month.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Want2BWarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meadow Lake, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

I love old buildings and I was so excited to stay here. My husband on the other hand wasn't so thrilled. He acctually parked the car at his brother's hotel and we took a cab in order to avoid the rediculous parking (somthing that should be made a bit clearer by the hotel) which required double parking! The lobby is lovely and restored well, however the first floor hallway which was under FULL renovation was just plain scary with hanging electrical wires, no ceiling, only two table lamps for lighting and dibris everywhere! It looked like a scene from a bad horror movie.
That being said the room while small (which was expected from the discription) was clean, and the bed was heaven to sleep on. The door to the room was a bit out of place being a commercial steel door. Overall I would like to stay here once the renos are all done and I think the price should be lowered a bit to reflect the renos taking place on floors still being used for guests and the hotel should inform people booking rooms that the floor they will be staying on is under renovation.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summerland
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

I stayed in the Hotel Senator for a week while in Saskatoon by myself on business. I arrived on Saturday, and the first night was bad. Someone outside was smoking pot and the hotel itself smelled old -- like years of wood polish. During the night the guy next door got up at 4 and and again at 6 and threw up loudly in his washroom, which sounded like it was right behind my headboard. It wasn't a good first experience.

The rest of the week went much better. The front counter staff were friendly and helpful. The cleaning staff do a good job. This is an OLD hotel, but it has a lot of character and charm to it. I even got used to the smell of all that wood polish. Everyone who works there is trying to make it shine. That said, it could use some updating. The room I was in was showing its age. I was encouraged to see that they appeared to be preparing for some major renovations to the hallway downstairs, just as I was leaving. I don't know to what extent the renovations were planned, but it would need to extend into the rooms to really affect my rating.

The pub downstairs was also nice. It was a good place for a quick dinner or to catch a game. Again, the staff and patrons were friendly, and there were many different beers on tap to choose from.

I would recommend this hotel if you are looking for somewhere (relatively) inexpensive to stay in downtown Saskatoon. I would not recommend it for romantic getaways or for children, as, from what I could see, it offered little to entertain them.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VoxPop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2011

We just got back from the hotel senator in saskatoon from a monday night booking. The hotel has a nice quaint feel about it, but from the get go, the customer service resembled something I would see in a understaffed fast food restaurant. We pulled into the makeshift parking lot where a lady got out of a car, looked at us funny and proceeded to enter the hotel. Once inside the hotel, we realized she was the front desk attendant. She then proceeded to tell us to go a move our vehicle as it wasn't supposed to be parked where we parked it (at the back of the stall instead of all the way up). Why didn't she tell us this when she saw me pull in in the first place???

Next we got the key to go up to our room. The hotel is under major renovations as evident from the wires hanging from the ceiling. When we got into the room, we immediatly noticed the toilete running over and over again. I went to the front desk to see if it could be fixed (it was very loud in the small room). The front desk attendant from before along with the front desk manager said (rather abruptly) that all the maintenance staff had left. I asked for another room, and they both got snarky. They finally agreed to look for another room for me. Apparantly there was only one other room in "my payscale". A new room they showed us (or actually made me go a look at myself) was freezing cold. They also would not turn on the heat to the room (and evidently the entire hotel) as it might make other guests too hot.

I guess in the long run, if it wasn't for the crappy attitudes, the lack of trying and the fixtures in the rooms breaking....it would have been lovely! Too bad....I was really looking forward to the stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank macdaddytravellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hssaskatoon, Owner at Hotel Senator Saskatoon, responded to this review, 14 April 2011
We do take all customer feedback very seriously. Parking in any dowtown is always an issue and we provide *FREE* parking to all guest first come, first available. On one side we require guests to double park and manage parking that way as we have 16 stall which is never a problem if guest don't take *TWO STALL!*. It very obvious, but some guests have to be reminded to pull all the way forward. This is free parking and we would like to keep it that way for all our guests. As for renovations, this guest was declined to upgrade room class and did want to stay in the original room booked which we are finishing renovations on this floors hallways. Brand new state of the art heating/air conditioning green key leeds upgrade, heating and air definatly works in that room very well as it was just put in last month.

Staff attitude has been looked into (people sometimes don't like to be directed to pull up their vehicles) and we always strive to provide a great experience at the Hotel Senator.

We are always improving our property and striving to provide and improve customer stays and experiences and appreciate all feedback.

Safe Travels!

Chris Beavis
Hotel Senator
General Manager/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Saskatoon hotels

Vancouver
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 April 2011

The Hotel was undergoing renovations, so the darkened hallways looked a little spooky and smelled a little old. The rooms were fantastic though, with high ceilings, great linens, and a strong internet connection. The noise travels easily from the hallways or street into the rooms, so bear this in mind where you are there during the summertime when the street may see more action. No fridge in room, so we used the windowsill (as you can, in winter...) Very clean, good staff. Great pub downstairs with great atmosphere and great food. The downtown seems to close up early, but this worked just fine, as the pub and hotel met all our needs for this one night stop.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MagnoliaVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saskatoon hotels
Radisson Hotel Saskatoon
#10 of 39 in Saskatoon
1,013 reviews
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Saskatoon Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Delta Hotels by Marriott Bessborough
Caswell Hill
Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express
#24 of 39 in Saskatoon
252 reviews
The James Hotel
#4 of 39 in Saskatoon
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Senator Saskatoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Senator Saskatoon

Property: Hotel Senator Saskatoon
Address: 243 21st St E | Downtown Saskatoon, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan S7K 0B7, Canada
Region: Canada > Saskatchewan > Saskatoon > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 39 Hotels in Saskatoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Senator Saskatoon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saskatoon boutique downtown hotel, the Hotel Senator features Rembrandt's Fine Dining & Wine Bar with international cuisine, Winston's English Pub & Grill with over 50 taps, 80 imported ales, ciders, stouts and lagers and a home away from home personal attention and service. Your room awaits! Safe travels and we hope to see you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Senator Saskatoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Senator Hotel Saskatoon
Hotel Senator Saskatoon Saskatchewan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing