We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok hotel in a seedy location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sandman Hotel Saskatoon
Ranked #30 of 40 Hotels in Saskatoon
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We chose this hotel for its proximity to the airport as well as public transit. This hotel chain needs better technology - you can't even book on-line. Arrived in Saskatoon 10pm and tried to use the direct phone line from the airport to call for the free shuttle. After the phone had rung 40 times with no answer I finally texted my partner who had already checked in, and got him to see about the hotel shuttle. The shuttle driver must have been in a really bad mood; he neither lifted my bag into the van, nor did he lift it out of the van after we got to the hotel. He just stood there and waited while I did it myself. The check-in was no better - the desk clerk didn't even speak as she thrust the key card towards us. Common areas of the hotel looked very good, but the room itself was pretty plain - we had paid for the executive suite but there was nothing executive about it. Cleaning staff were pleasant and polite, and did a pretty good job, and the Denny's onsite was convenient. Free internet in the business office was nice, and we even printed out boarding passes for free. Also free coffee in the lobby as well as a basket of fruit. Check out was a much better experience - very nice and accommodating.

Room Tip: rooms at the back will likely be quieter, as the hotel is located at a major intersection
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley05, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Saskatoon, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay.
Please accept my sincere apologies for not ensuring your visit was one of a positive and memorable experience.
The Sandman Hotel, Saskatoon, Guest Service Representatives take great pride in ensuring our guests are treated in a caring and professional manner. As per your comments, this was not exhibited during your stay. My apologies again. It is our wish you will afford The Sandman Hotel, Saskatoon the opportunity to host your future visits and show our true hospitality spirit.
Please visit our websit at sandmanhotel.com

Best Regards,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (196)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 196 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2011

This place is Played out. Rooms are beat up and generally unclean. Its in dyer need of an update. No water pressure. No ability to adjust room temperature. Generally unkempt and unpleasant.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BKDpotato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We stayed at this hotel about 3 years ago and really liked it. I don't know if we had a recently renovated room at that time because the room this time was definelty in need of some work. Everything was old, including bathroom fixtures and TV. We had to get down on our knees to set the air conditioner. Bed sheets were very wrinkled and we were unsure if they had been changed. Hall ways were very hot. The price is a much too high for the quality of the room.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hello003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley05, Manager at Sandman Hotel Saskatoon, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

Please accept my sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations during you recent stay.
Your comments are important to us and it ensures our guest experience is one of feeling valued and enjoyed. This certainly was not exhibited during your visit. Standards in consistency especially in room cleanliness are vital and your concerns have been addressed for immediate rectification. Future hotel renovations will be commencing in the near future. My apologies again, and it is my wish you will afford The Sandman Hotel, Saskatoon the opportunity to host your future accommodation needs.

Yours in Hospitality
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2011

Had a 2 night stay there. The hotel is 10 years old and if you can believe it the hotel was built without central air. There was no place to gather without beingt totrtured by the heat. The halls were also very hot and my heart goes out to the cleaning staff who work under the sweltering conditions.
The rooms are quite small but fine. The beds seemed smaller thatn doubles and very very soft. Woke up each morning in pain. Our room was not cleaned up at all other than having the beds made. There was no wiping of tables or vacuuming of floors. They did not even pretend to clean it, everything on the floor ie. a hanger was exactly where we left it in our rush to get out. Makes one wonder how well it is cleaned if at all between customers.

The door kwys seldom worked and we had to go back to the front desk everytime we needed to open the door. That was a pain in the neck to never be able to enter your room easily.

This is basically a trucker or traveller stop. There is nothing to do there at all. The surroundings are ugly and nowhere to walk to, It should not be used for anything other than it's main function which is probably overnight travel. The pool looked murky and the environment of it was sterile and uninviting. On the whole it was an awful place except for a very pleasant staff.
Even if it were for free there is nothing about it that would make me come back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank morahb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley05, Manager at Sandman Hotel Saskatoon, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Sandman Hotel, Saskatoon for your recent stay. Please accept my sincere apologies for the problems encountered. We take pride in ensuring our guest's experience is one of satisfaction and feeling valued, this certainly was not exhibited to you during your stay. I have addressed the issues with the guestroom condition to the appropiate dept for immediate rectification. Renovations are also planned for the near future! My apologies again, and it is our wish you will afford The Sandman Hotel, Saskatoon the opportunity to host you future hotel accommodation needs.


Your in Hospitality
General Manager
Sandman Hotel, Saskatoon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

I stayed at the Sandman in Saskatoon while in transit. In part, I chose this hotel because it was close to the airport and offered a shuttle service. On checking in I informed the counter staff that I was hoping to take a 6:00 am flight to Toronto and that I would require the shuttle service. I was told that they were short staffed and that I would have to take a cab. It was late, so I checked in anyway. When I got to my room I found that I could not get a flight the next morning, so needed to stay in Saskatoon another night. I could not get on the internet, so decided to wait til morning.

In the morning I tried to get on the internet, but could not. When I phoned the desk I was told I could come down and use the business centre. As it was very early I told that person that I was wearing my pyjamas and did not want to come down to use the internet.

This staff member then tried to give me further advice about getting on the internet. For the life of me I could not understand what she was saying. Her command of the English language was less than acceptable.

Finallly, I understood that she wanted me to go to the Sasktel internet service. I was able to get to the provider and then needed a password to get on to the service. Once connected I was unable to stay on the internet and was continually being booted off the net.

I had to stay in town another night, but I chose to go to another hotel for the extra night. Although the person on the counter listened to my complaints, he merely told me that when I came back to town that I should stay there again and that he would upgrade me. I told him that I didn't need a bigger bed, I needed the services that were advertised.

In addition to these challenges I found the bar/restaurant to be VERY noisy and the food gave me an allegic reaction.

I can't recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ginger443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2011

THe room was too warm, no extra pillows, loud rowdy drunks beneath our window. The worst part was waking up at 2:30am to 4 bites on my arm. I met with the Manager in the morning about the bites, and she responded "probabley mosquito bites". My arm was sore, itchy and inflammed and ruined my whole weekend. Needless to say we checked out and went to another hotel.

Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
2  Thank Turbosled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley05, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Saskatoon, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

Please accept my sincere apologies for the problems encountered during your recent stay. Your comments are important to us. As per our conversation, a professional was immediately called in to investigate your concerns. An inspection report documented your guestroom as not requiring any form of treatment. Upon completion of the report, a telephone message with my contact information was left for you. I did not receive a returned telephone call. In view of the above comments, It is my wish you will afford The Sandman Hotel, Saskatoon the opportunity to host your future hotel stays.

Yours in Hospitality
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2011

I stayed overnight on business - the location is great (just 5 min from the aiport), staff very helpful and friendly, rooms comfortable .... and the attched bar is a great place for supper. the exercise room and pool looked great too, but I didn't have time to experience them. I'll definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank feather_pillows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saskatoon hotels
0.1 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Saskatoon, SK
0.1 km away
Travelodge Hotel Saskatoon
Travelodge Hotel Saskatoon
#23 of 40 in Saskatoon
1,368 reviews
0.7 km away
Saskatoon Inn and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Comfort Inn Saskatoon
Comfort Inn Saskatoon
#25 of 40 in Saskatoon
198 reviews
0.7 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Hotel
Quality Inn & Suites Hotel
#18 of 40 in Saskatoon
265 reviews
6.5 km away
Best Western Blairmore
Best Western Blairmore
#4 of 40 in Saskatoon
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Hotel Saskatoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Hotel Saskatoon

Address: 310 Circle Dr W, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan S7L 0Y5, Canada
Region: Canada > Saskatchewan > Saskatoon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 40 Hotels in Saskatoon
Price Range: $110 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandman Hotel Saskatoon 3*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A perfect blend of comfort, quality, and service, Sandman Hotel Saskatoon has everything for both corporate and leisure travellers to make your stay ideal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandman Hotel Saskatoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saskatoon Sandman Hotel
Sandman Inn Saskatoon
Sandman Hotel Saskatoon Saskatchewan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing