We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“December stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandman Hotel Saskatoon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sandman Hotel Saskatoon
Ranked #30 of 39 Hotels in Saskatoon
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“December stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

I booked my stay for a Holiday rate of $99, which is a good value in the city. I inquired at the time of my booking if they had Airport Shuttle service. I was assured that they did. Upon check-in I requested a 5 a.m. shuttle ride, and was told there would be no problem.
However, in the morning, upon check out the front desk told me I had no shuttle request booked, nor did they offer such service. Another guest who was waiting to check out told me she had also requested shuttle service, but had been told Sandman only offered it after 8 a.m.
She and I shared a cab to the airport.

Room Tip: The adjoining Denny's restaurant had great food, good value and very good service. I will be st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LCDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    50
    48
    50
    17
See reviews for
22
34
15
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
107 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

My husband and I frequent Saskatoon quite often, and when we do, we stay at the Sandman. The rooms have always been clean and fresh. Its not in the best area for tourism, its right by the airport, and there is a country bar across the street. The denny's and the shark club bar that are attached to the hotel are great, and extremely convenient. I have never had any issues with the staff there, they have always been polite and accommodating, Its a decent price, and I wouldn't think twice about going there again! Unlike some of the previous comments, I have not seen any 'sketchy' people around, or have been even remotely worried about going to my car alone at night.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jesaco1114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saskatchewan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

Stayed here for one night and that was one night too many. Wasn't our choice but company was paying for our stay. Bathroom was absolutely filthy as was the carpet. Furniture was really outdated. We never would have paid the price that our company paid and if paying for ourselves we would have immediately left and asked for a refund after seeing the room. The front desk agent was friendly and professional though.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sask3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Saskatoon hotels

Regina, SK
Level Contributor
82 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2011

There doesn't seem to be anything special about this particular hotel.
I checked in on a Saturday afternoon and there was one agent working behind the counter...so my check in took about half an hour.
The pool was nice, spent some time relaxing there, and I like the lobby- very welcoming.
Another good point is that the Denny's restaurant is attached (the extremely busy Denny's so get there early).
The hotel is easy to find and more than adequate for short stays.

Room Tip: Rooms furthest from the lobby or pool will definitely be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank badness59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

We chose this hotel for its proximity to the airport as well as public transit. This hotel chain needs better technology - you can't even book on-line. Arrived in Saskatoon 10pm and tried to use the direct phone line from the airport to call for the free shuttle. After the phone had rung 40 times with no answer I finally texted my partner who had already checked in, and got him to see about the hotel shuttle. The shuttle driver must have been in a really bad mood; he neither lifted my bag into the van, nor did he lift it out of the van after we got to the hotel. He just stood there and waited while I did it myself. The check-in was no better - the desk clerk didn't even speak as she thrust the key card towards us. Common areas of the hotel looked very good, but the room itself was pretty plain - we had paid for the executive suite but there was nothing executive about it. Cleaning staff were pleasant and polite, and did a pretty good job, and the Denny's onsite was convenient. Free internet in the business office was nice, and we even printed out boarding passes for free. Also free coffee in the lobby as well as a basket of fruit. Check out was a much better experience - very nice and accommodating.

Room Tip: rooms at the back will likely be quieter, as the hotel is located at a major intersection
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley05, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Saskatoon, responded to this review, 14 October 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay.
Please accept my sincere apologies for not ensuring your visit was one of a positive and memorable experience.
The Sandman Hotel, Saskatoon, Guest Service Representatives take great pride in ensuring our guests are treated in a caring and professional manner. As per your comments, this was not exhibited during your stay. My apologies again. It is our wish you will afford The Sandman Hotel, Saskatoon the opportunity to host your future visits and show our true hospitality spirit.
Please visit our websit at sandmanhotel.com

Best Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

This place is Played out. Rooms are beat up and generally unclean. Its in dyer need of an update. No water pressure. No ability to adjust room temperature. Generally unkempt and unpleasant.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BKDpotato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manitoba
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

We stayed at this hotel about 3 years ago and really liked it. I don't know if we had a recently renovated room at that time because the room this time was definelty in need of some work. Everything was old, including bathroom fixtures and TV. We had to get down on our knees to set the air conditioner. Bed sheets were very wrinkled and we were unsure if they had been changed. Hall ways were very hot. The price is a much too high for the quality of the room.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hello003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley05, Manager at Sandman Hotel Saskatoon, responded to this review, 9 August 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Please accept my sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations during you recent stay.
Your comments are important to us and it ensures our guest experience is one of feeling valued and enjoyed. This certainly was not exhibited during your visit. Standards in consistency especially in room cleanliness are vital and your concerns have been addressed for immediate rectification. Future hotel renovations will be commencing in the near future. My apologies again, and it is my wish you will afford The Sandman Hotel, Saskatoon the opportunity to host your future accommodation needs.

Yours in Hospitality
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saskatoon hotels
0.4 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#36 of 39 in Saskatoon
3.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.1 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Saskatoon, SK
0.4 km away
Days Inn - Saskatoon
Days Inn - Saskatoon
#15 of 39 in Saskatoon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Comfort Suites Saskatoon
Comfort Suites Saskatoon
#5 of 39 in Saskatoon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
0.9 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saskatoon Airport
0.9 km away
MainStay Suites Saskatoon
MainStay Suites Saskatoon
#17 of 39 in Saskatoon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Hotel Saskatoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Hotel Saskatoon

Property: Sandman Hotel Saskatoon
Address: 310 Circle Drive West, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan S7L 2Y5, Canada
Region: Canada > Saskatchewan > Saskatoon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 39 Hotels in Saskatoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandman Hotel Saskatoon 3*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A perfect blend of comfort, quality, and service, Sandman Hotel Saskatoon has everything for both corporate and leisure travellers to make your stay ideal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Sandman Hotel Saskatoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saskatoon Sandman Hotel
Sandman Inn Saskatoon
Sandman Hotel Saskatoon Saskatchewan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing