We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would stay somewhere else”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sandman Hotel Saskatoon
Ranked #29 of 39 Hotels in Saskatoon
Saskatchewan
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“I would stay somewhere else”
Reviewed 10 April 2012

stayed there for a hockey tournament. pool is small. rooms are drap, needs a make over. beds were clean. older TV. Denny ayyached was nice except it was busy all the time as get there early. The beds were only doubles not queens not good for a family of four with two teenagers.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrairieDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    57
    49
    51
    17
See reviews for
25
39
18
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Assiniboia, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

For the price it was not worth it. If I paid $40 -$60 dollars it would have been a wonderful stay but for an average cost of $140 it was disappointing at best. The room was small. When you turned any of the lights on the room flickered like a bad horror movie. Worst of all they had decommissioned the air conditioning for the winter and it was sweltering in the room at the end of the day.

If you have a choice, don't pick this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jwh223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Saskatoon hotels

Winnipeg, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Best place to stay while in Saskatoon.
Nice hotel. Shark club is awesome. Denny's inside also. Lots of other places to eat close by.
Close to airport.
Stayed here many times and try to every time I come here. Usually booked if you wait till last minute.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johngil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple Ridge, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

If I had to guess, Sandman doesn't own this property. It's not the standard of their other locations. This one is way down there. That said, you can always find good things, even in bad places. So let's start with those.

The bathroom amenities (shampoo, soap, etc.) are good quality. Not one, but two chain restaurant/bars are attached to the hotel. You'll know right away whether you want to eat here or not and don't have to worry about experimenting with menus. The lobby is well appointed and inviting. Front desk staff were courteous. But it kind of ends there.

We walked into our room which could have been mistaken for a nice sized walk in closet. It's not of the size that two adults can move around at the same time. I had to sit while my wife got organized, and vice versa. Decor, while in reasonable state of repair, was a dreary green/brown brocade reminiscent of a previous century. The walls were dark, and dark cherrywood furniture served to darken it even more. Even with every light in the room turned on, it was dark and repressive.

The heat was sweltering. The air conditioner had been decommissioned for the season, and covered with a cheap vinyl cover. A window opens, but only marginally, and there's no airflow in the room anyway. So we slept virtually uncovered in a very uncomfortable Ed (very soft). The TV is old and out of focus, and there seems to be a problem with the cable service. Ghost images make it difficult to watch.

The bathroom was tiny. No countertop for your toiletries, toilet paper roll under your armpit attached to the tiny vanity. You have to straddle the toilet to close the door.

Outdoor noise was fairly high. It's a busy intersection in a less than desirable area. And idling diesel trucks warming in the morning cut the troubled sleep short in any case.

My advice is to ALWAYS read reviews from TripAdvisor BEFORE making your reservation. Your traveling peers will let you know about shortcomings. We didn't do that, and relied on the brand name. This property demonstrates that there can be a sows ear in every decent brand.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mort69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley G, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Saskatoon, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share valued feedback.

Please accept my sincere apologies for not creating a positive and memorable experience during your previous stay. Your comfort and satisfaction is important to us and we certainly did not leave you with a valued impression.

The Sandman Hotel, Saskatoon has many room type categories to choose from. We could of extended the option of choosing a more spacious guestroom to better accommodate your needs.

We are also very pleased to announce renovations in the near future!

My apologies again. It is our wish you will afford The Sandman Hotel, Saskatoon the opportunity to host your future hotel stays.

Best regards,
Beverley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Like this place. Good quality sleep, quiet place. Room is very big for 150$. Even get a love seat couch + seperate 1 seat couch. The only down side is the washroom that is very basic with cheap old fixture. The Shark club has great looking and cheerful staff that worth the detour! Dennis restaurant does great for breakfast. Very close to airport and business district

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bretonsimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

I booked my stay for a Holiday rate of $99, which is a good value in the city. I inquired at the time of my booking if they had Airport Shuttle service. I was assured that they did. Upon check-in I requested a 5 a.m. shuttle ride, and was told there would be no problem.
However, in the morning, upon check out the front desk told me I had no shuttle request booked, nor did they offer such service. Another guest who was waiting to check out told me she had also requested shuttle service, but had been told Sandman only offered it after 8 a.m.
She and I shared a cab to the airport.

Room Tip: The adjoining Denny's restaurant had great food, good value and very good service. I will be st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LCDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

My husband and I frequent Saskatoon quite often, and when we do, we stay at the Sandman. The rooms have always been clean and fresh. Its not in the best area for tourism, its right by the airport, and there is a country bar across the street. The denny's and the shark club bar that are attached to the hotel are great, and extremely convenient. I have never had any issues with the staff there, they have always been polite and accommodating, Its a decent price, and I wouldn't think twice about going there again! Unlike some of the previous comments, I have not seen any 'sketchy' people around, or have been even remotely worried about going to my car alone at night.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jesaco1114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saskatoon hotels
0.6 km away
Saskatoon Inn and Conference Centre
0.1 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Saskatoon, SK
0.1 km away
Travelodge Hotel Saskatoon
Travelodge Hotel Saskatoon
#23 of 39 in Saskatoon
1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#26 of 39 in Saskatoon
186 reviews
0.9 km away
MainStay Suites Saskatoon
MainStay Suites Saskatoon
#15 of 39 in Saskatoon
138 reviews
0.7 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Hotel
Quality Inn & Suites Hotel
#19 of 39 in Saskatoon
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Hotel Saskatoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Hotel Saskatoon

Property: Sandman Hotel Saskatoon
Address: 310 Circle Dr W, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan S7L 0Y5, Canada
Region: Canada > Saskatchewan > Saskatoon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 39 Hotels in Saskatoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandman Hotel Saskatoon 3*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A perfect blend of comfort, quality, and service, Sandman Hotel Saskatoon has everything for both corporate and leisure travellers to make your stay ideal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandman Hotel Saskatoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saskatoon Sandman Hotel
Sandman Inn Saskatoon
Sandman Hotel Saskatoon Saskatchewan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing