We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Easily the Best Chinese Restaurant in Saskatoon!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yip Hong's Dim Sum Restaurant

Yip Hong's Dim Sum Restaurant
Ranked #49 of 656 Restaurants in Saskatoon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Grosvenor Park
Calgary, AB
Level Contributor
116 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Easily the Best Chinese Restaurant in Saskatoon!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

Being from Calgary and loving food in Vancouver - I would almost say the flavor and quality and portion size of Saskatoon beats out many restaurants!

You can tell all their food is handmade (not mass purchased from a frozen dim sum place). The food is traditional - nothing fancy is fusion like - so that makes it equally comforting and satisfying.

Each time I come visit friends, it is one of the first places I rush to, in order to get my fix. Weekend dim sum and in the evening, the Garlic Gailon, Chicken Fried Rice, Salt & Pepper Squid and Beef Brisket stew. SO PERFECT and so comforting!

The decor of course is not the greatest but the service is amazing! I haven't lived in Saskatoon for over 4 years and it is still the same owners and if not, it is busier than I remembered!

Love this place - it is a Saskatoon gem that I must admit - conquers all of Calgary's dim sum places!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sunjoyjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    26
    11
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Happy Chinese New Year”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

Really enjoyed the dim sum Sunday lunch. Should have gone a little earlier because they ran out of custard tarts.

Helpful?
Thank RIElliott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medicine Hat, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great place to eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2011

It was our fifth attempt............there are always line ups because it is so popular.
Eventually we dropped in for an early lunch and easily got a table. 15 minutes later the place was packed and the lineup long.
We had hardly sat down when there was a pot of tea on the table.
The food is excellent, from chicken feet to turnip pie!! The servers friendly and helpful.
It is ideal for a quick lunch as there is no waiting for a menu, for an order to be taken and then the food to arrive.
This is dim sum at its finest, right here in Saskatoon.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank TripMember06042014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Tasty food, dirty looking unappealing decor”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

There was a dirty stained 7 foot diameter plywood table top leaning against the wall right beside our table. Everything on the table including the dinnerware was really worn and chipped. The entire surroundings in the restaurant gave the appearance of an "I don't care" attitude. My son found a piece of a stainless steel pot scrubber in the shanghai noodles.
The food was very tasty especially the hot pot eggplant. The service was quick and efficient and the waiter was polite and helpful. The steamed rice was made with really good rice and they didn't charge us for the shanghai noodles.
We will never go back there. It was easy to overlook the shabby decor but not the metal piece in the food.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best dim sum in the city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2011

Excellent authentic dim sum in the middle of the prairies. Always consistent with food quality. Restaurant is a bit of a dive though.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TigerH00ds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yip Hong's Dim Sum Restaurant also viewed

Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
 
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
 

Been to Yip Hong's Dim Sum Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing