We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“By far the worst experience I've ever had.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Northwoods Inn & Suites
Ranked #38 of 39 Hotels in Saskatoon
Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“By far the worst experience I've ever had.”
Reviewed 12 March 2012

By far the WORST experience Ive ever had IN MY LIFE. I spent 140 dollars for one nights stay. The room was EXTREMELY hot, there was no way to turn the heat off completely... went to turn on the air conditioning, opened the door the control panels, and a freaking CRACK PIPE, wrapped in paper towel falls into my hands. HOW DID THE CLEANING STAFF MISS THIS? Could not get a wink of sleep because a group of people above our room were extremely loud and constantly slamming their door, falling into our window and door, getting in their car and leaving every 10 minutes, yelling at each other, etc. When I got the room they said I would get free breakfast in the morning. After I expressed my distress and disgust in the most polite way possible, they had no response, revoked their *deal* on the free breakfast, refused a refund, and all out didn't care. This place needs to be shut down. I can't believe their staff missed a CRACK PIPE that was basically out in the open. Disgraceful.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank Caila A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John P, General Manager at Northwoods Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 3 June 2012
Please take notice that our hotel has been serving the public for many, many years and we have had thousands of happy and satisfied guests. However, as we are not perfect, we try to improve our services all the times. Our apologies for any inconvenience we have caused. If you please, come and stay in our hotel within next 90 days, we will give you 50% discount on the existing rate which is publicized in our website. If you have any question, please call John Pontes at 306-653-4012.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    14
    8
    8
    109
See reviews for
31
15
21
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
saskatoon
Level Contributor
83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

I have boked new immigrants in here and they were dissapointed wth drunks rambling the Halls and the Bar next Door.
Unfortunately the management does nothing to deal with their repiutation.
Do check this motel before spending your money foolishly You will not sleep with the noise and the management will not adjust the price so friends had the Via Bill Cancelled .
Norman Wallace

Room Tip: Maybe management will realize the reputation and do something to improve Saskatoons repution on havi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank normanwallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John P, General Manager at Northwoods Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Please take notice that our hotel has been serving the public for many, many years and we have had thousands of happy and satisfied guests. However, as we are not perfect, we try to improve our services all the times. Our apologies for any inconvenience we have caused. We will try to resolve the concern. If you have any question, please call John Pontes at 306-653-4012.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Saskatoon hotels

Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2011

this hotel was run down over priced and didnt even know how to make drinks. plus they had no hot water and people fighting all night. good thing i only had to stay there passing threw im never going back to this place again

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John P, General Manager at Northwoods Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 4 December 2011
Please take notice that our hotel has been serving the public for many, many years and we have had thousands of happy and satisfied guests. However, as we are not perfect, we try to improve our services all the times. Our apologies for any inconvenience we have caused. If you please, come and stay in our hotel within next 90 days, we will give you 50% discount on the existing rate which is publicized in our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Spent last night at this motel/dump. Partying, arguing, slamming doors, running on walkways all night. No heat, bed stunk to high heaven. No other available rooms in town that take pets. Do yourself a favour if you're travelling out this way. Book a room well in advance and don't ever even consider staying here.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms here. My tip is keep driving!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Tripps06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mel_sask, Manager at Northwoods Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Please take notice that our hotel has been serving many many years and we have had thousands of happy and satisfied guests. However, we are not perfect; we try to improve our services all the times. Our apologies for any inconvenience we have caused. If you please come within next 90 days, we will give you 50% discount on the existing rate which is publicized in our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traverse City
Level Contributor
207 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

I didn't mind the broken lamp or the worn-out room so much, it was the cars honking their horns in the parking lot at 3 am that ruined it for me. Not a good place for any price unless you're used to living in a trailer park or slum.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank JohnnyHHHHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mel_sask, Manager at Northwoods Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Please take notice that our hotel has been serving many many years and we have had thousands of happy and satisfied guests. However, we are not perfect; we try to improve our services all the times. Our apologies for any inconvenience we have caused. If you please come within next 90 days, we will give you 50% discount on the existing rate which is publicized in our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

We arrived at the motel and checked in. We were unable to open the door of our room after 2 attempts with 2 new electronic keys from the front desk. The clerk came up to the room and opened the door with a manual key. The room was smelly and very dirty. We were concerned about whether the beds would be full of bugs. Upon taking the bed sheets off to check we discovered one bed had blood covering about 1 square meter of area; which had also dripped down the side. There was blood next to the chair in the front area. We were shocked. When I asked for a refund at the front desk; the manager swore at me. I left with my elderly mother rather than argue with him.

Room Tip: Don't bother with this hotel. I've never seen anything like it in my life!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Skiboy154914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mel_sask, Manager at Northwoods Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Please take notice that our hotel has been serving many many years and we have had thousands of happy and satisfied guests. However, we are not perfect; we try to improve our services all the times. Our apologies for any inconvenience we have caused. If you please come within next 90 days, we will give you 50% discount on the existing rate which is publicized in our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swift Current
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

I was very mistaken when I thought that the Northwoods Inn looked like a nice place to stay with my elderly parents. It was late in the evening when we booked in or we would of left right away, because as soon as we walked into the room we noticed a bad smell, then all the repairs that needed to be done including a door with no dead bolt and a window with no safety device. We were exhausted so went to bed. About an hour later we were woke up by shouting and alot of activity out side are window, and all around the area. It continued so for safety reasons I called for police assitance in leaving the place and will not go back.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Unicorn155044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mel_sask, Manager at Northwoods Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Please take notice that our hotel has been serving many many years and we have had thousands of happy and satisfied guests. However, we are not perfect; we try to improve our services all the times. Our apologies for any inconvenience we have caused. If you please come within next 90 days, we will give you 50% discount on the existing rate which is publicized in our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saskatoon hotels
Caswell Hill
Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express
#26 of 39 in Saskatoon
243 reviews
Quality Inn & Suites Hotel
#21 of 39 in Saskatoon
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn
#28 of 39 in Saskatoon
167 reviews
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Saskatoon Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northwoods Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northwoods Inn & Suites

Property: Northwoods Inn & Suites
Address: 610 Idylwyld Dr N | Highway 16, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan S7L 0Z2, Canada
Region: Canada > Saskatchewan > Saskatoon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 39 Hotels in Saskatoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Northwoods Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Northwoods Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northwoods Inn And Suites
Howard Johnson Saskatoon
Northwoods Hotel Saskatoon
Northwoods Inn & Suites Saskatoon, Saskatchewan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing