We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Swift Current Thriftlodge
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Swift Current
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
“Nice stay”
Reviewed 21 April 2012

This hotel makes it a home away from home. We are here for weeks at a time and the staff is so helpful with anything we need, especially when I needed directions to the Casino. Hotel was clean and good breakfast.

Room Tip: The rooms in the West building are much quieter and cleaner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minnie0409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    23
    52
    21
    14
See reviews for
54
34
10
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dubuc, Saskatchewan, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We were in Swift Current for a provincial sporting event that my son was competing in. We just needed a place to sleep and relax in the evenings. The price was reasonable and included a complimentary continental breakfast and had an indoor pool. On our first morning we went for the complimentary breakfast. The room designated is about the size of a walk-in closet. There were few groceries. I was going to have cereal but there was no milk. Then I tried toast but the bread was frozen so that I couldn't even get the bread apart to toast. That was all the choice. The lady at the desk said the owners were away and didn't leave enough because they thought there wouldn't be many using the breakfast.
The motel also advertises an indoor pool. When I phoned to ask about the hours I was told there was no pool and "...where did you see that (we had a pool?)" I could see the building designated as the pool building (in the room guide) from our room.
Not to be totally negative, the rooms were clean but poor beds and very small bathroom. (I tried.)
We won't be coming back.

Room Tip: If there is anything in particular that you want don't assume the advertising is accurate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sctriper, Manager at Swift Current Thriftlodge, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.

As a result of survey from customers, we found that a lot of customers preferred fitness center and meeting rooms instead of indoor pool. So, Indoor pool is under renovation and closed since last November 2011. To privent customers' confustion about it, we've been tried to inform it as much as possible before and after we started the renovation. Again I feel very sorry if you didn't get that information when you check in.

We understand that the breakfast area is small. So, we already have a plan to renovate the front office and breakfast area. We finished the renovation of building exterior in 2011 and will focus on renovating inside of room and other facilities in the future.

It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Again, I apologize for the inconvenience during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Swift Current hotels

Jasper, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

We spent one night here on a drive through Saskatchewan on the Trans-Canada highway. We usually stay at slightly more upscale hotels but had not booked ahead, and as it was late when we decided to stop for the night, other hotels were already full and referred us to the Thriftlodge (note that it is a Thriftlodge at this address, not a Travelodge).

The hotel has two buildings, separated by a side street, and our room was located in the pool building across the street from the main building where the office is. We were not able to open the door - the key card worked fine and the door opened an inch or so, but the privacy lock was engaged and we could not enter. (The room did not seem to be occupied.) We did not realize there was another entry on the other side, off a hallway, so we went back to the desk and were assigned another room. The friendlier morning clerk said we would not have been able to access the hallway entry anyway, because that hallway is accessed from the pool area, which was locked up for the night by the time we arrived.

The décor was dated and mis-matched (red carpet, navajo patterned bedspreads with colours that clashed with the red carpet, slightly shabby furnishing etc.) and the place could use a coat of paint and some tidying up of some of the finishing work, but the room was clean and comfortable. The room was larger than most hotel rooms, and had two queen beds. The bed and bathroom linens were decent quality, although the bed was a little soft. The pillows were really flat, but we had our own with us, so that was not a problem.

The room also had a decently sized flat screen TV and a small fridge. It had been a hot day and although late, it was still quite warm and the room was hot and stuffy when we checked in, but the air conditioning unit was newer and worked well, and had it cooled off in no time.

We had spent several nights at another hotel in Winnipeg, and the wireless internet service at the Thriftlodge was much faster than the other, more expensive, hotel.

The rate included a continental breakfast, but we did not take advantage of this. For the price we paid ($99 plus tax), we thought the Thriftlodge was fine for an overnight stop.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank krp329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estevan, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 February 2011

First, we hesitate to check in this motel because of bed bug,but as soon as we arrived they have friendly and accommodating representative that help us getting room, make us comfortable and relax from long drive. As soon as we enter the room i check the bed, everything.... if really there's a bug but i didn't see anything.The room was clean and everything was fine.we had a nice sleep and we really enjoyed there pool and hot tub.It was a nice stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ate08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2010

My family stayed in pool side room and it was clean and spacious. The pool and hot tub was nice and enjoyable. The front desk staff was very kind and recommended to apply "Guest Rewards" that is beneficial for traveling.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minnie0409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2010

I booked the room as it was a little cheaper than others in the city. Big mistake. We thought the room was OK - definitely a little dated - but then my wife woke me up at 5am and the bed was covered in bed bugs - at least 20 of them crawling around. Very disgusting. We immediately checked out and requested a refund, which we're still waiting for.

The front desk clerk was suitably disgusted but that didn't help much. We moved to the Days Inn down the street and had a much better stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BattersUp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sctriper, General Manager at Swift Current Thriftlodge, responded to this review, 30 August 2010
I am sorry to hear that you had an unpleasant experience because of the bed bug. That was an incident that occurred due to workers who were staying at our hotel. The room has since then been sanitized and Pest Control Company has come to the room and checked everything over and has confirmed that there are no more bed bugs. Also I would like to add that pest control is compulsory with Travelodge Head Office and we check the rooms every month to make sure there is no problems that could occur. I am sure that there is no more issues about the bugs within the hotel. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manitoba
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2009

I booked this hotel through the Travelodge toll free number. They said it had a pool and a complementry breakfast. What they didn't say is that they are accross the street from each other and I am not sure I would eat any food they serve anyway. The beds very soft and the rooms have not been redecorated sinse the seventies. More than half of the TV channels did not work. The coffee cups that were supplied are used styrofoam. The rooms are worth $30-$40/ night not the $110.00 they charged.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BusinessTraveler89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swift Current hotels
1.0 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 15 in Swift Current
91 reviews
0.6 km away
Paradise Inn
Paradise Inn
#10 of 15 in Swift Current
36 reviews
0.6 km away
Home Inn & Suites - Swift Current
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Best Western Inn
Best Western Inn
#2 of 15 in Swift Current
361 reviews
0.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Swift Current
1.1 km away
No photo provided
Country Lane Inn & Suites
#9 of 15 in Swift Current
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swift Current Thriftlodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swift Current Thriftlodge

Property: Swift Current Thriftlodge
Address: 605 North Service Rd E, Swift Current, Saskatchewan S9H 3T8, Canada (Formerly Travelodge Swift Current)
Region: Canada > Saskatchewan > Swift Current
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Swift Current
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Swift Current Thriftlodge 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The lovely city of Swift Current is situated in southwestern Saskatchewan. The Thriftlodge Swift Current hotel is within minutes of the Swift Current Airport with easy access from Highway 1 and Highway 4. Offering comfortable and affordable guestrooms, this Swift Current hotel is a great place to stay. Recognized for its legendary service and time-honored hospitality, this Swift Current hotel is ideal for both family and business travelers. With a wonderful location adjacent to the Living Skies Casino and close to the downtown area, City Hall, Swift Current Museum, the Civic Center and two great golf courses, there is always plenty to see and do nearby the Thriftlodge Swift Current hotel. The Swift Current Mall and the Wheatland Mall are also just a short drive away. Guests can experience Lake Diefenbaker and enjoy boating, fishing and hiking all within easy reach ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Swift Current Thriftlodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travel Lodge Swift Current
Travelodge Swift Current
Swift Current Travelodge
Swift Current Travel Lodge
Swift Current Thriftlodge Saskatchewan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing