We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice”
Review of SKKY Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
SKKY Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Whitehorse
GreenLeadersSilver level
cambridge, ontario
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Hotel is right across street from airport . They say it was just renovated, is very comfortable.
I stayed in the presidents suite, worth the $40.00 upgrade. big tv's, fireplaces bathroom, hardwood floors and very quiet.
Food
I believe they only serve dinner, I found it to be pricey but pretty good overall. Dinner with drinks and tip for one almost $100.00

Room Tip: Upgrade to presidents suite, only $40.00 extra and well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pawco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    157
    67
    24
    11
See reviews for
83
116
42
133
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whistler, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 December 2011

Great place and friendly staff.

Ensure you do not get the rooms above restaurant. They are called an executive suites, however, they are very noisy with a shower you cannot turn around in. They moved us no problems.

The hotel is far from downtown incase you want to have adult beverage and need to drive. It's $20 in a cab one way.

Beds are fantastic, but the heating unit is very very noisy. If you like complete silence then maybe you should consider elsewhere to stay.

Breakfast is very basic, but healthy. I thought it was very adequate.

Room Tip: Not above the restaurant is key.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary AB
Level Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

New hotel to me - discovered it is a converted older building. Warmly welcomed, quick and efficient check-in, excellent decor. My room was simple and over-priced at $137.03 inc. tax. - No seating to relax in, just two hard very upright side chairs. Very comfortable bed. Good lighting. Heating excessive - even with the thermostat set reasonably, the temperature just kept rising; I refuse squander money on A/C when it is minus10 degrees Celsius outside. Excellent shower with poor controls, poorly laid out (but beautiful) bathroom fixtures and lighting. Very noisy plumbing - other people showering reverberated throughout the building. Breakfast - self-serve cereal and film-wrapped breads, fruit, yogurt and cottage cheese, tepid coffee from a pump pot disappointing and a rip-off at $7.00; should be included in the room price. One dinner in the restaurant was good but over-priced ('it's the freight' used to be the reason given, possibly valid).

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CalgaryMark42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint-jean-sur-Richelieu, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

we were on vacation in the North for a week. This hotel is now my home away from home. It may not look like much but once you get in the room and lie on that bed you never want to leave. The rooms are super up to date with the large city hotels, 42" Plasma TV ,with french and english channels. ( pour ce qui on besoin de TVA le matin) the beds are new and tempur-pedic, plenty of pillows on the bed (not hidden in a dingy dresser). If you are a bath person this not your kind of hotel; but if you are a shower person and 6'1" this is great. the showers are just wow.
The only negative thing about this hotel is the rooms are big but the bathrooms are on the small side.

Room Tip: all the rooms are well insulated and sound proofed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 8thwunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
120 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

I was here on business and traveling alone. The location is great and you can see the hotel from the rental car parking lot. This building looks like it used to be an apartment building that has been converted. Nonetheless, the rooms are clean and the bathrooms were updated and contemporary. The hotel staff were very friendly and accommodating. I went to the hotel restaurant (Volare) and while it was a bit expensive, the meal was worth it. You will likely need a car to get around as the hotel is not centrally located.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hardern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

If you happen to stay in Yukon for a project don't consider to stay anywhere else. We stayed at Skky almost for a month in 2010 and 2011. We never had a single complaint to the Hotel. Corina (The Manager) was so helpful in any problems we had. 5 stars for Lisa too...Rooms are very modern (can't find it anywhere in Yukon as we travelled the whole Alaska Highway and stayed in many so called hotels). TV, internet works very well. Beds are very clean and comfortable. Showers are great. Hotel is just accross the Airport, you can even walk there. It is 5 min drive, 20 min walk to the city center. Last but not least the restaurant is the best in Yukon, hands down, no objection, period. They have continental breakfast every morning for $7, airport shuttle, conferance room, bar, and balcony. We will definetely be back to Skky, I don't think I will stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: Second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mehmet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

My husband and I recently went to Whitehorse on a business trip (his). I accompanied him reluctantly because I thought the experience was going to be a trip back in time (notwithstanding my husband's assurances). What a surprise to me when we checked in the SKKY Hotel. It's a modern hotel and the staff were incredibly efficient, attentive and friendly. I'd highly recommend it. Natalie (Florida)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitehorse hotels
1.7 km away
Coast High Country Inn
Coast High Country Inn
#2 of 14 in Whitehorse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
1.4 km away
Best Western Gold Rush Inn
Best Western Gold Rush Inn
#3 of 14 in Whitehorse
3.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
25.7 km away
Sundog Retreat
Sundog Retreat
#1 of 14 in Whitehorse
5.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Westmark Whitehorse Hotel and Conference Center
1.8 km away
Days Inn Whitehorse
Days Inn Whitehorse
#10 of 14 in Whitehorse
3.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
1.8 km away
Canadas Best Value Inn
Canadas Best Value Inn
#12 of 14 in Whitehorse
3.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SKKY Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SKKY Hotel

Property: SKKY Hotel
Address: 91622 Alaska Hwy, Whitehorse, Yukon Yukon Y1A 3E4, Canada
Region: Canada > Yukon > Whitehorse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Whitehorse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — SKKY Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SKKY Hotel is a boutique property conveniently located across from the airport and a short drive away from the downtown core. This hotel is in a class of its own offering many high-end amenities. Complimentary airport shuttle to/from the airport for major flights, complimentary wireless internet. All rooms are furnished with Tempur-Pedic mattresses with high thread count sheets, 42 inch plasma tvs, desk and office chair. The bathrooms come with large standup showers with granite walls and rain shower or hand held shower heads. All furniture is customized for the Skky Hotel and won't be found elsewhere. The hotel also offers air-conditioning with in-room controls during the summer months, and radiant floor heating on the lower floor in the winter. Included in the price of the room is complimentary wireless internet and airport shuttle. The Hue Oasis serves lunch and dinner, specializing in Korean and Japanese cuisine. A continental breakfast is available in the morning. Come in and take a look at the bar top which was imported from Italy. We hope you will come experience the best beds in the city, and our exceptional guest services in the near future. We hope you will come experience the best beds in the city, and our exceptional guest services in the near future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and getaroom.com so you can book your SKKY Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skyy Hotel By Book
SKKY Hotel Whitehorse, Yukon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing