We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Western Gold Rush Inn- Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Gold Rush Inn
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Whitehorse
Reviewed 5 January 2012

I have stayed at this hotel three times, and other than the shabby lobby, I love it! The rooms are clean and spacious, with fridges and microwaves, comfortable King-sized beds with tons of big fluffy pillows and large bathrooms. The staff are knowledgeable about Whitehorse and local sites and restaurants, and as friendly as can be. I have stayed in many hotels where they only look up at you when you are standing at the counter, but in this hotel, the front desk staff greet you when you walk in or out, and ask how your stay is going, and if you need help.

Room Tip: The 3th floor room that I was staying in twice (I requested the same room each time) was quiet and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChoosyMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yukonhotels, Director of Sales at Best Western Gold Rush Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2012

We appreciate your repeat business and are happy to hear your nice comments about the rooms and our friendly staff. We truly admire the people who work here and are lucky to have them. Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (680)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

553 - 559 of 680 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2011

We stayed here for five nights at the business class king bed rooms on the fourth floor and paid about cad$112/night with taxes included. You may have the impression that this is a motel like place from its look on the outside and old fashioned decorations on the inside, but the business class rooms will not let you down, I think they renovated the fourth floor and charge a little higher rate on these rooms but nothing unreasonable, the mattress is pretty good, heating is just right most of the time, although it could get hot when temperature outside rises above zero celcius, bathroom has good lighting and also heated, soap is all in the containers hanging on the wall, easy to reach. The only drawback for the room would be the tv, which I rarely turned on because it really doesnt have much channels to watch, wish they had a list of channels with the numbers to use with the remote. Other pro's: the hotel restaurant doesn't really give you much noise in the winter month at least during the time I was there I didn't hear anything, and they have very good fish and chips - big portions too and I liked the sweet potato fries! You can pretty much borrow whatever you need from the restaurant, I think it's pretty convenient, their menu pricing is reasonable, ie. $10.95 for a burger meal, $13.95 for fish and chips with free salad or soup. Hotel location is within a few blocks away from a drug mart, a Starbucks, a Chinese restaurant, a japanese restaurant, a nice cake/bakery, several banks/ATM.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jokie00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yukonhotels, Director of Sales at Best Western Gold Rush Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2012

Thank you for staying with us and for the kind comments. We are happy you enjoyed your visit.. Our staff is a very important part of our success and we are happy you enjoyed our room renovations. We are installing brand new flat screens into all the rooms this month and I will recommend your suggestion of including a list of channels. Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2011

The staff at the Goldrush Inn is without a doubt the best hotel staff that we've ever encountered. From the front desk, maintenance, cleaning, and restaurant, and shuttle staff, they were all awesome and made our stay feel as close to a home as possible while we have been in our transition and house hunting in the Yukon. They all went above and well beyond their jobs to make us all feel welcome, and tolerated and amused our son as he has been touring around the hotel the last few months. We will miss their friendly faces and smiles when we leave, but our son will miss them even more. They were so great with him taking the time to wave at him, look at his toys when he wanted to show them off, and just giving him their time and attention that a toddler is always looking for as he explores all the things that are new to him. A huge thank you to the whole staff for the way they treated and helped my family during our stay, and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yukonhotels, Director of Sales at Best Western Gold Rush Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2012

Thank you for the wonderful comments about our staff. We are delighted you had a such a great experience. You and your family were very popular guests and became a welcome addition to our hotel family. Your son made everyone's day and we all hope you stop by to say hello often. All the best with your new move to the Yukon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2011

There are few selections and few differences, but the staff here make this hotel stand out.

Very friendly and will go out of their way to make sure that not just your hotel experience is great, but your whole time in Whitehorse is!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanielKOBrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yukonhotels, Director of Sales at Best Western Gold Rush Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2011

Thank you so much for the glowing comments about the staff. We are very lucky to have them and they will be delighted their efforts are being noticed. They really care about our guests and we all look forward to welcoming you again soon. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Updated rooms in this older structure are quite comfortable. Front desk staff were friendly and did not hesitate to go beyond the call of duty to satisfy unusual requests. Downtown location is great - walk to everything. However, unless you have already lost your hearing and you are more interested in alcohol than food, skip the on-site "restaurant." It is a dark, loud saloon and the service is awful unless you are a group of local guys drinking the night away.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank biztraveler05340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yukonhotels, Director of Sales at Best Western Gold Rush Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2011

Thank you for staying with us and for the positive comments. We are very proud of our Front Desk staff and they will be pleased to read your review. And while the Gold Pan Saloon is a very popular pub in town, its not always the quietest dining venue. So we plan to add cafe to the hotel this coming year to accommodate all of our guests. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

We booked through a tour operator, Northern Tales and asked for a quiet room at the back of the hotel, having read through some of the reviews. When we arrived we were put into a room directly above the saloon. Horrors. We thought our tour operator must have not communicated this information. It was 2:30pm so we thought we would try if we could be put into a quieter room. Came back down and the front desk told us they would have a room with a bigger bed instead of two beds for us by 3pm. At 3:10, still no sign of room being ready. Spoke with front desk again and the lady hurriedly got one of the chambermaids (thru walkie talkie) to make sure that one was available. We finally got put into a room on the 3rd floor at the back but with two beds!

The hotel provides a free shuttle to the airport. We were the first on the sign up sheet for the day we were supposed to fly. We saw the night duty person write our names and room number. He however could not tell us when the bus driver would be picking up guests and advised us to check the next morning. However the next morning to our horror our names were not on the list at all. Good thing we checked again. Again the clerk could not tell us when the driver would be arriving. She said she would alert us when the driver arrived which didn't happen.

Really poor service!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floor facing the police station. The street facing units tend to be dir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annahummingbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yukonhotels, Director of Sales at Best Western Gold Rush Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2011

We appreciate your feedback and apologize for the communications issues you experienced this trip. Our staff is usually great at accomodating requests and organizing the details of the shuttle service and we will be looking into ways to improve on this. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip and that we get the chance to show you the kind of positive expereince we are known for if you make it up to Whitehorse again. Safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

Check in was amazing fast and I loved the jacuzzi suite on the fourth floor, facing the street. The size was about double the size of an average room will work desk, coffee table, tv stand/drawers, king size bed, chair, end tables and a corner jacuzzi tub for enough room for three. The decor was contemporary but it would have been nice to have a flat screen television. When we had trouble starting the jacuzzi, the night desk manager was quick to offer solutions and sent up extra towels without any trouble. The bed was very comfortable and I slept well. Check out again was pleasant and quick. There was free parking in the lot adjacent to the hotel and all guests can register their car with the front desk for this service. All in all a pleasant stay with friendly and efficient staff.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms are on the parking lot side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cnd_vacation_luvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yukonhotels, Director of Sales at Best Western Gold Rush Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2011

Thank you for stayng with us and for the kind words. Our staff will be delighted that their efforts made such a positive contribution to your stay. And our new flat screens have been ordered and should be in by youir next stay. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitehorse hotels
0.4 km away
Edgewater Hotel
Edgewater Hotel
#1 of 14 in Whitehorse
87 reviews
0.5 km away
Coast High Country Inn
Coast High Country Inn
#3 of 14 in Whitehorse
477 reviews
1.5 km away
SKKY Hotel
SKKY Hotel
#5 of 14 in Whitehorse
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Westmark Whitehorse Hotel and Conference Center
1.2 km away
Days Inn Whitehorse
Days Inn Whitehorse
#11 of 14 in Whitehorse
282 reviews
0.4 km away
Canadas Best Value Inn
Canadas Best Value Inn
#12 of 14 in Whitehorse
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Gold Rush Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Gold Rush Inn

Address: 411 Main St, Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 2B6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Yukon > Whitehorse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Whitehorse
Price Range: $146 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Gold Rush Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Gold Rush Inn is the premier family and business-oriented hotel in Whitehorse. Having undergone extensive renovations to the cost of several million dollars, the rooms are spacious and modern. All rooms include wireless high-speed internet, microwave, mini-fridge, flat screen television, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Best Western, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Gold Rush Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gold Rush Hotel Whitehorse
Best Western Whitehorse
Whitehorse Best Western
Best Western Gold Rush Inn Whitehorse, Yukon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing