We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$135
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sundog Retreat(Whitehorse)
US$183
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Stratford Motel(Whitehorse)
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$122
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Edgewater Hotel(Whitehorse)
US$274
US$260
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elite Hotel(Whitehorse)
US$99
US$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Midnight Sun Inn Bed and Breakfast(Whitehorse)(Great Value!)
US$145
US$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kaleido Lodge Yukon(Whitehorse)(Great Value!)
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Triple B Bed n Breakfast(Whitehorse)(Great Value!)
US$84
US$78
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Reviews (713)
Filter reviews
713 results
Traveller rating
175
304
166
48
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
175
304
166
48
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgold panfourth floorfront desk staffcentral locationmain streetin townbusiness or pleasureair conditioningdowntown whitehorsehotel restaurantrooms are cleanfridge and microwavecoffee makerbed was very comfortableenjoyed my staycomfortable staysaloon
Filter
Updating list...
578 - 583 of 713 reviews
Reviewed December 28, 2011

We stayed here for five nights at the business class king bed rooms on the fourth floor and paid about cad$112/night with taxes included. You may have the impression that this is a motel like place from its look on the outside and old fashioned decorations on the inside, but the business class rooms will not let you down, I think they renovated the fourth floor and charge a little higher rate on these rooms but nothing unreasonable, the mattress is pretty good, heating is just right most of the time, although it could get hot when temperature outside rises above zero celcius, bathroom has good lighting and also heated, soap is all in the containers hanging on the wall, easy to reach. The only drawback for the room would be the tv, which I rarely turned on because it really doesnt have much channels to watch, wish they had a list of channels with the numbers to use with the remote. Other pro's: the hotel restaurant doesn't really give you much noise in the winter month at least during the time I was there I didn't hear anything, and they have very good fish and chips - big portions too and I liked the sweet potato fries! You can pretty much borrow whatever you need from the restaurant, I think it's pretty convenient, their menu pricing is reasonable, ie. $10.95 for a burger meal, $13.95 for fish and chips with free salad or soup. Hotel location is within a few blocks away from a drug mart, a Starbucks, a Chinese restaurant, a japanese restaurant, a nice cake/bakery, several banks/ATM.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jokie00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yukonhotels, Director of Sales at Best Western Gold Rush Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2012

Thank you for staying with us and for the kind comments. We are happy you enjoyed your visit.. Our staff is a very important part of our success and we are happy you enjoyed our room renovations. We are installing brand new flat screens into all the rooms this month and I will recommend your suggestion of including a list of channels. Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 13, 2011

The staff at the Goldrush Inn is without a doubt the best hotel staff that we've ever encountered. From the front desk, maintenance, cleaning, and restaurant, and shuttle staff, they were all awesome and made our stay feel as close to a home as possible while we have been in our transition and house hunting in the Yukon. They all went above and well beyond their jobs to make us all feel welcome, and tolerated and amused our son as he has been touring around the hotel the last few months. We will miss their friendly faces and smiles when we leave, but our son will miss them even more. They were so great with him taking the time to wave at him, look at his toys when he wanted to show them off, and just giving him their time and attention that a toddler is always looking for as he explores all the things that are new to him. A huge thank you to the whole staff for the way they treated and helped my family during our stay, and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yukonhotels, Director of Sales at Best Western Gold Rush Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2012

Thank you for the wonderful comments about our staff. We are delighted you had a such a great experience. You and your family were very popular guests and became a welcome addition to our hotel family. Your son made everyone's day and we all hope you stop by to say hello often. All the best with your new move to the Yukon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 4, 2011

There are few selections and few differences, but the staff here make this hotel stand out.

Very friendly and will go out of their way to make sure that not just your hotel experience is great, but your whole time in Whitehorse is!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanielKOBrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yukonhotels, Director of Sales at Best Western Gold Rush Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2011

Thank you so much for the glowing comments about the staff. We are very lucky to have them and they will be delighted their efforts are being noticed. They really care about our guests and we all look forward to welcoming you again soon. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Updated rooms in this older structure are quite comfortable. Front desk staff were friendly and did not hesitate to go beyond the call of duty to satisfy unusual requests. Downtown location is great - walk to everything. However, unless you have already lost your hearing and you are more interested in alcohol than food, skip the on-site "restaurant." It is a dark, loud saloon and the service is awful unless you are a group of local guys drinking the night away.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank biztraveler05340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yukonhotels, Director of Sales at Best Western Gold Rush Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2011

Thank you for staying with us and for the positive comments. We are very proud of our Front Desk staff and they will be pleased to read your review. And while the Gold Pan Saloon is a very popular pub in town, its not always the quietest dining venue. So we plan to add cafe to the hotel this coming year to accommodate all of our guests. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 14, 2011

We booked through a tour operator, Northern Tales and asked for a quiet room at the back of the hotel, having read through some of the reviews. When we arrived we were put into a room directly above the saloon. Horrors. We thought our tour operator must have not communicated this information. It was 2:30pm so we thought we would try if we could be put into a quieter room. Came back down and the front desk told us they would have a room with a bigger bed instead of two beds for us by 3pm. At 3:10, still no sign of room being ready. Spoke with front desk again and the lady hurriedly got one of the chambermaids (thru walkie talkie) to make sure that one was available. We finally got put into a room on the 3rd floor at the back but with two beds!

The hotel provides a free shuttle to the airport. We were the first on the sign up sheet for the day we were supposed to fly. We saw the night duty person write our names and room number. He however could not tell us when the bus driver would be picking up guests and advised us to check the next morning. However the next morning to our horror our names were not on the list at all. Good thing we checked again. Again the clerk could not tell us when the driver would be arriving. She said she would alert us when the driver arrived which didn't happen.

Really poor service!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floor facing the police station. The street facing units tend to be directly above the saloon and can be quite noisy.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annahummingbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yukonhotels, Director of Sales at Best Western Gold Rush Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2011

We appreciate your feedback and apologize for the communications issues you experienced this trip. Our staff is usually great at accomodating requests and organizing the details of the shuttle service and we will be looking into ways to improve on this. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip and that we get the chance to show you the kind of positive expereince we are known for if you make it up to Whitehorse again. Safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews