We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (725)
Filter reviews
725 results
Traveller rating
178
310
169
48
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
178
310
169
48
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgold panfourth floorfront desk staffcentral locationmain streetin townbusiness or pleasureair conditioningdowntown whitehorsehotel restaurantrooms are cleanfridge and microwavebed was very comfortableenjoyed my staycomfortable staycoffee makersaloon
Filter
Updating list...
586 - 591 of 725 reviews
Reviewed January 5, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel three times, and other than the shabby lobby, I love it! The rooms are clean and spacious, with fridges and microwaves, comfortable King-sized beds with tons of big fluffy pillows and large bathrooms. The staff are knowledgeable about Whitehorse and local sites and restaurants, and as friendly as can be. I have stayed in many hotels where they only look up at you when you are standing at the counter, but in this hotel, the front desk staff greet you when you walk in or out, and ask how your stay is going, and if you need help.

Room Tip: The 3th floor room that I was staying in twice (I requested the same room each time) was quiet and away from the busy side of the hotel. In general, the rooms on the back end of the building are quieter, especially at night when the saloon lets out.
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChoosyMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yukonhotels, Director of Sales at Best Western Gold Rush Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2012

We appreciate your repeat business and are happy to hear your nice comments about the rooms and our friendly staff. We truly admire the people who work here and are lucky to have them. Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 28, 2011

We stayed here for five nights at the business class king bed rooms on the fourth floor and paid about cad$112/night with taxes included. You may have the impression that this is a motel like place from its look on the outside and old fashioned decorations on the inside, but the business class rooms will not let you down, I think they renovated the fourth floor and charge a little higher rate on these rooms but nothing unreasonable, the mattress is pretty good, heating is just right most of the time, although it could get hot when temperature outside rises above zero celcius, bathroom has good lighting and also heated, soap is all in the containers hanging on the wall, easy to reach. The only drawback for the room would be the tv, which I rarely turned on because it really doesnt have much channels to watch, wish they had a list of channels with the numbers to use with the remote. Other pro's: the hotel restaurant doesn't really give you much noise in the winter month at least during the time I was there I didn't hear anything, and they have very good fish and chips - big portions too and I liked the sweet potato fries! You can pretty much borrow whatever you need from the restaurant, I think it's pretty convenient, their menu pricing is reasonable, ie. $10.95 for a burger meal, $13.95 for fish and chips with free salad or soup. Hotel location is within a few blocks away from a drug mart, a Starbucks, a Chinese restaurant, a japanese restaurant, a nice cake/bakery, several banks/ATM.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jokie00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yukonhotels, Director of Sales at Best Western Gold Rush Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2012

Thank you for staying with us and for the kind comments. We are happy you enjoyed your visit.. Our staff is a very important part of our success and we are happy you enjoyed our room renovations. We are installing brand new flat screens into all the rooms this month and I will recommend your suggestion of including a list of channels. Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 13, 2011

The staff at the Goldrush Inn is without a doubt the best hotel staff that we've ever encountered. From the front desk, maintenance, cleaning, and restaurant, and shuttle staff, they were all awesome and made our stay feel as close to a home as possible while we have been in our transition and house hunting in the Yukon. They all went above and well beyond their jobs to make us all feel welcome, and tolerated and amused our son as he has been touring around the hotel the last few months. We will miss their friendly faces and smiles when we leave, but our son will miss them even more. They were so great with him taking the time to wave at him, look at his toys when he wanted to show them off, and just giving him their time and attention that a toddler is always looking for as he explores all the things that are new to him. A huge thank you to the whole staff for the way they treated and helped my family during our stay, and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yukonhotels, Director of Sales at Best Western Gold Rush Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2012

Thank you for the wonderful comments about our staff. We are delighted you had a such a great experience. You and your family were very popular guests and became a welcome addition to our hotel family. Your son made everyone's day and we all hope you stop by to say hello often. All the best with your new move to the Yukon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 4, 2011

There are few selections and few differences, but the staff here make this hotel stand out.

Very friendly and will go out of their way to make sure that not just your hotel experience is great, but your whole time in Whitehorse is!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanielKOBrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yukonhotels, Director of Sales at Best Western Gold Rush Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2011

Thank you so much for the glowing comments about the staff. We are very lucky to have them and they will be delighted their efforts are being noticed. They really care about our guests and we all look forward to welcoming you again soon. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Updated rooms in this older structure are quite comfortable. Front desk staff were friendly and did not hesitate to go beyond the call of duty to satisfy unusual requests. Downtown location is great - walk to everything. However, unless you have already lost your hearing and you are more interested in alcohol than food, skip the on-site "restaurant." It is a dark, loud saloon and the service is awful unless you are a group of local guys drinking the night away.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank biztraveler05340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yukonhotels, Director of Sales at Best Western Gold Rush Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2011

Thank you for staying with us and for the positive comments. We are very proud of our Front Desk staff and they will be pleased to read your review. And while the Gold Pan Saloon is a very popular pub in town, its not always the quietest dining venue. So we plan to add cafe to the hotel this coming year to accommodate all of our guests. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews