We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Booked, Disappointed, Canceled”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Gold Rush Inn
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Whitehorse
Reviewed 28 August 2017

Arrived in Whitehorse Aug 28 around 245pm and went to check in. Emily who was efficient but not very personable informed the room I had reserved was not ready and we could go through the pre - checkin. I did and left to return 30 minutes later and the room was still not ready. Another young lady whose name I did not catch began assisting me and acted like she new the room was still not available so she made a best effort and called housekeeping to verify the room was still not ready. She then asked if I would like a free drink in the saloon while I waited and I declined but asked if the rate could be adjusted since I would be checking out before or at six.

She then checked with a person in the office who declined a price reduction but offered bonus points if I was a BW member or did I want to sign up. Long story short, no adjustment for the wait so I cancelled and went to a different establishment.

Unfortunately for this hotel, I wasn't the only one waiting in the lobby for a room.

Poor customer service as far as I'm concerned.

Room Tip: Call ahead to confirm your room the day of stay or you may be waiting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Service
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqui C, Front Office Manager at Best Western Gold Rush Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Dear Mike M
Thank you for taking your time to review our property. I am sorry to hear that your expectations during your recent visit to Whitehorse were not met.
Due to a very busy summer our hotel has been extremely full the past few weeks, with a full hotel checking out, and back in again. On your day of arrival our housekeeping team were working hard to get all 99 rooms ready for our check in time of 3pm. Unfortunately due to the busy day some rooms were delayed.
We did offer complimentary drinks during your wait, the points were offered as a gesture of good will due to the inconvenience that was caused. Due to the reservation being booked by a third party we were unable to change the rates on your reservation at this time.

I would like for you to visit the Best Western Gold Rush Inn again, it would be a pleasure for us to show you the guest services that we continuously strive to succeed for with all of our guests. Please feel free to contact me directly where I would be more than happy to assist you in making reservations and ensure that your stay goes smoothly should you choose to return to Whitehorse.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (649)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

34 - 40 of 649 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2017

We had a wonderful stay at the Gold Rush Best Western! Summer was super helping us check in and getting us up to speed with our rewards. We were pleasantly surprised about the current promotion. Wonderful room- we slept very well. Thank you.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Kathymc1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqui C, Front Office Manager at Best Western Gold Rush Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Thank you for your recent review Kathymc1973
It is great to hear that Summer was able to help you get up to speed on the rewards program and the fantastic new promotion that Best Western are currently offering.
I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017

Stayed two nights and heard and felt the bar music from 7:30 to 10:30. Desk offered ear plugs. Room was clean, beds comfortable, nice bathroom. Walking distance of good restaurants. Had Wifi, Tv, coffee,

Room Tip: On front but noisy due to live music in bar. I was with a group and had no choice in accommodation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Siouxtex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqui C, Front Office Manager at Best Western Gold Rush Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Dear Siouxtex
Thank you for choosing the Best Western Gold Rush Inn during your recent stay with us.
We do have live music on Friday nights, we are currently looking into other ways to mitigate the noise issue that can sometimes be heard in the above rooms.
We hope that this will not deter you from staying at our hotel again, and we look forward to the possibility of welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017

The service was superb. The room is large and well furnished. We were on the fourth floor, room 430 overlooking Main Street. A large TV screen and a very adequate bathroom. Do not be fooled by the external appearance of the hotel as it is clean inside. At the counter we felt that the service was run by student trainees, but they did their job very well. We stayed twice a few days apart and without asking we got the same room, which was very much appreciated. We recommend it to tourists visiting Whitehorse. Definitely we will go back there on our next visit to the Yukon.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ernestm317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqui C, Front Office Manager at Best Western Gold Rush Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Dear Ernestm317
Thank you for reviewing our property. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us .
We are currently undergoing several renovation to our property. Currently we are just finishing up residing the exterior of our property as well as installing new AC & Heating units in to our guest rooms. We are excited to say that we have recently hired new employees to our guest services team, and we we look forward to have a fulled experience team look after all of our guest needs.

I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017

Hotel staff were very helpful. The restaurant/bar had a good menu with tasty food. Breakfast was not included with my stay. The room was clean and nicely appointed. The in-wall air conditioner was completely blocked when the drapes are closed and therefore was almost useless during the night and morning to keep the room cool. Water pressure and water temperature were good, but the shower head was so bad you might as well be standing under a restricted garden hose. at $160 US a night I expected more.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Ted B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqui C, Front Office Manager at Best Western Gold Rush Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Thank you for taking your time to review our property Ted B.
We encourage all of our guests to provide feedback after there stay as this helps to improve on our product and overall service. Your feedback will be passed on to relevant managers. I hope we have the pleasure to welcome you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

Whitehorse has a real frontier feel to it and your expectations generally need to be adjusted accordingly, no adjustment is necessary for this hotel! Reception staff were awesome, I watched them deal with the most impossible group of tourists who were harassing the staff with a litany of nonsensical issues and the staff never lost their cool, courteous to a fault. In spite of not having a reservation and Whitehorse being sold out on a busy summer weekend, Remi (kind reception lady) worked magic to find me a room. The hotel is absolutely charming and the rooms are delightful, comfortable, modern and clean. The experience was sublime and we thoroughly enjoyed the hospitality.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank SkypeDaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqui C, Front Office Manager at Best Western Gold Rush Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Dear SkypeDaddy

Thank you for your kind words about the Best Western Gold Rush Inn. We are happy to hear that the superior services that we strive for with all of our guests is showing.
Remi is an exceptional, valuable, hardworking, & kind member of our team and we are very lucky to have her working for our company. Your feedback will be passed on to Remi & our management team.
We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

The Staff was amazing and consistently went above and beyond. The rooms were comfortable and clean. Not the fanciest place I have ever stayed at but with the staff and the location, it was really was a great part of my trip.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank michaeleU7935VT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqui C, Front Office Manager at Best Western Gold Rush Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Thank you for taking your time to review the Best Western Gold Rush Inn. We do strive to be attentive to all of our guests and we look to provide everyone with superior service.
We hope you enjoyed the Whitehorse area, and that you will visit again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitehorse hotels
0.5 km away
Coast High Country Inn
Coast High Country Inn
#2 of 14 in Whitehorse
461 reviews
0.4 km away
Edgewater Hotel
Edgewater Hotel
#3 of 14 in Whitehorse
67 reviews
0.3 km away
Westmark Whitehorse Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
SKKY Hotel
SKKY Hotel
#5 of 14 in Whitehorse
448 reviews
1.2 km away
Days Inn Whitehorse
Days Inn Whitehorse
#11 of 14 in Whitehorse
277 reviews
0.4 km away
Canadas Best Value Inn
Canadas Best Value Inn
#12 of 14 in Whitehorse
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Gold Rush Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Gold Rush Inn

Address: 411 Main St, Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 2B6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Yukon > Whitehorse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Whitehorse
Price Range: $147 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Gold Rush Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Gold Rush Inn is the premier family and business-oriented hotel in Whitehorse. Having undergone extensive renovations to the cost of several million dollars, the rooms are spacious and modern. All rooms include wireless high-speed internet, microwave, mini-fridge, flat screen television, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Best Western, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Gold Rush Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gold Rush Hotel Whitehorse
Best Western Whitehorse
Whitehorse Best Western
Best Western Gold Rush Inn Whitehorse, Yukon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing