We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (512)
Filter reviews
512 results
Traveller rating
44
130
220
74
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
44
130
220
74
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviews holland america cruise tour walking distance to everything central location comfortable stay tim river pet
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 512 reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2018

Be aware that even though when u make a reservation at this hotel that you will be charged to complete amount when u book even though in there email and so called policy says a deposit will be approx half the charge for 2 night a few days before you get there and final when you book out. I have never seen this before and I will never stay at this hotel again. The hotel itself is dated and need some work.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Gordon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayW2273, AGM/Conroller at Westmark Whitehorse Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2018

Hello Gordon,

Thank you for your valuable comments. Our staff work vary hard to make each guests stay as enjoyable as possible. It is not our policy to process payment for a room until the guest has given us authorization or until services have been rendered. The only way that we thinks that this may have happened is if you booked through a third party provider. Such online reservations are usually pay up front which the hotel has no control over. Please accept our appologies for any misunderstanding.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 8, 2018

After a long day of driving the Alaska Highway northbound, I was looking forward to a nice stay here. Stayed here 9 years ago, so made the reservation early. Was disappointed to see that the hotel had not done any updating and actually feel like it was case also of not taking care and maintaining the hotel. Carpets were worn, towels were old, rooms needed repainted to name a few. Now you have to put this into perspective, we had been traveling for 5 days. We had been use to cleaner hotels where the markets had competition to attract the traveler. Had we been out working in the Yukon somewhere, the hotel might have looked nicer to us. Next time, I will do more research on where to stay in Whitehorse verse relying on what used to be a great hotel.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayW2273, AGM/Controller at Westmark Whitehorse Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2018

Hello Tim,

Thank you for your valuable comments. Our company has been in possession of this property for just over two years and we have been working hard upgrading the infrastructure. We are now moving on to the interior and façade of the hotel and will be upgrading and improving the look and feel of our product in the near future. We look forward to your next visit so you can enjoy all of the changes that we have planned.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 7, 2018

This hotel is easy find although parking is not that easy as there are not that spaces. At first we though we would have to park in the street and pay at a meter. We eventually found additional parking at the rear of the hotel. Apparently there are 3 day tourist parking passes available at the tourist information centre but we arrived after they had closed for the day. The hotel is quite large. The rooms are very large, clean and well appointed apart from the fact that the fridge in our room didn't actually fit under the counter. This narrowed the access to the bathroom.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayW2273, AGM/Controller at Westmark Whitehorse Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2018

Hello Michelle,

Thank you for your valuable input. It is our goal to exceed the expectation of all of our guests. We are working hard to improve our product and will need to make some adjustements to the rooms to make all of the new upgrades such as fridges, microwaves and air conditioners fit well in the rooms and do not diminish the overall satisfactions of our guests. We hope that you will be able to join us in the future to see all of the changes that we have planned.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 5, 2018

Whitehorse, Yukon Canada is a fairly large city located on Yukon River. Yet I must remember that this city is really in the middle of the Yukon Territory which is in the middle of permafrost forests, mountains, and very few roads. Based upon my expectations I think this hotel is quite nice. Yes, the décor is dated, hallways are mazes, and elevators are super slow. But the staff were courteous and helpful, our room was comfortable and clean, the hotel was in a good location, and we had no issues with room temperature or noise. We stayed here as part of our Yukon/Alaska land tour with Holland America (which owns the Westmark Hotel chain).

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TexasCatBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayW2273, AGM/Controller at Westmark Whitehorse Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2018

Hello,

Thank you for your valued comments. Our staff work very hard to exceed the expectations of our guests and we are also working hard behind the scene's to improve, update and add to the product that we offer at to our guests. We are glad the you enjoyed your stay and hope that you can join us in the future to see the changes that we have planned.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 4, 2018

So - if you have travelled in any northern community in Canada and stayed at this hotel - you will recognize typical hotel style.
I must say i had been at that hotel some 15 years ago and when I walked in it was like going back in time - i do not believe it had been renovated since then. Especially when I walked into the room - OMG - really folks - yellowed paint and pealing wallpaper - and dont even get me started about the carpets - as a recommendation to travellers bring slippers to walk around.
Getting to some sections of the rooms is probably one of the strangest things I have ever seen - it is literally a maze - the elevator is at the center with a bunch of corridors shooting off in different directions - and of course to add to the charm - very few directions so you walk around for nothing.
It is either way too hot or way too cold inthe rooms - the first night I did not sleep as I was like a sauna and I good not breath - turned on the air conditioning - it was even worse. I went to the front desk next morning to check and they said to open the window as well - sure - good idea - next night - absolutely freezing!
We had meetings in the hotel and the rooms were deathly hot - had to open doors - stiffling!
The food at the restaurant was good quality - the bar was okay although the service was not - tried it twice to give them a chance and it was same - servers are chatting people at bar and having drinks with patrons at same time - ok - why not! pls finish your drink before you come and serve our table ....
If you have no choice - its ok - i have not seen other hotels in the city so I cannot compare but definitely needs to rejuvenated!

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank barnloves2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayW2273, AGM/Controller at Westmark Whitehorse Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2018

Hello,

Thank you for your valuable comments. Firstly I would like to assure you that it is not the policy of this hotel that any employee share any of our products with guests. We are working hard to improve the quality of our hotel and the recent addition of fridges, microwaves, air conditioners and updated linen are just a few of the changes that we have in store for the property. We have been in possession of this property for just over two years and there have been some growing pains with the style of air conditioner that we are able to put into the rooms but we have had success in many cases as we adjust the manor of usage. Again, thank you for your comments as we do listen and are making changes to improve every aspect of our customers experience.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews