We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm service in a cold climate”

Aurora Borealis & Northern Lights Tours Yukon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Welcome to Northern Tales Travel Services, your one-stop shopping spot for year-round adventure in the Yukon! In winter, enjoy an aurora borealis viewing package with optional winter activities such as dog mushing, snowmobiling, snowshoeing, ice fishing, sightseeing flights and special events. Summer experiences include hiking the Chilkoot Trail, canoeing remote rivers reachable only by float-plane, fishing on the Big Salmon River, trekking past glaciers in Kluane National Park, and much more! Ask about custom, individual and private trips by foot, boat or van.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Warm service in a cold climate”
Reviewed 4 March 2012

I can highly recommend Northern Tales/Aurora Borealis Yukon. From the initial enquiry to pick-ups, service and attention to detail everything was first class. Sebastian, Torsten and the entire team are courteous, knowledgable and eager to please. They have assembled a great range of day tours to complement their aurora night experiences and catching kokanee on the ice was a first for me! No need to look further if you are planning an aurora experience in Canada. A useful piece of advice for those from warmer climates like my own - take up the offer of hiring arctic clothes package as we did. You can't be dressed to warmly on those cold Yukon evening.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Trekker_time
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    351
    29
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tahiti, French Polynesia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“make my dream comes true!!”
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Just amazing!!
I'v been in whitehorse to see the notherline, and well...it was amazing!! the people are very friendly, the city is cute.
The place to see the aurora is very nice with a fire outside and a little house!!! you have coffee, tea, chips, marshmallow,...and a great view to see the nothernlight!!
Thanks again for your help to make my dream comes true!!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Fabien59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great winter experience”
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Well organised tours - we did the lot! Finally saw the aurora as well. Besides the aurora, the dog mushing was # 1 followed closely by a day of snow mobiling. Northern Tales went the extra mile looking after us in every way. Highly recommended.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Kev126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Northern Tales & Yukon Aurora tour - Amazing and Unforgettable trip to Whitehorse...”
Reviewed 27 February 2012

First, no need to look any further for a tour company when planning a trip to the Yukon other than Northern Tales Travel. I booked the 4 day package with 3 nights hotel and aurora viewing, full day of dog sledding, wildlife preserve and air from Vancouver to Whitehorse. Confirmed the trip 5 weeks in advance and from the moment of my first inquiry to the conclusion of our trip, everything went perfectly - even 2 nights of fantastic aurora viewing. The staff are outstanding and ensure all guests are comfortable and taken care of - very organized and yet flexible to accommodate requests. Highly recommend renting the winter clothing package - so much easier than traveling with all the extra gear. Depending on how hot/cold you are - wear the proper clothing underneath the snow pants and coat - (layers). Make sure the boots are loose and wear a couple pairs of warm wool socks - if too tight your feet will get cold! Pack a muffler/scarf, extra wool socks, some thermals and you're set for your Yukon adventure! The site for the aurora viewing is set up so very well - Northern Tales thinks of everything - even tri-pods for cameras! We were there during the weekend of the Yukon Quest and had our dog sled adventure on Sunday, 2/19 - we saw Marcelle Fressineau as she was on her last few miles to the finish line in Whitehorse. Truly a remarkable and memorable few days and hope to make this an annual adventure - forget Europe and the Caribbean - go to the Yukon!!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Da11asGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corona del Mar, California, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yukon gold!!!!!”
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Hello Team Northern Tales!!!!!

My wife and I just enjoyed a vacation with you!!!!  We had a wonderful
time!!!!  Staff was great!   Enjoyed Tom and Ray very much!!  Even caught
myself a Kokanee ice fishing! (caught a couple more at the bar!)

Thank you so very much for a wonderful experience.  You all were great hosts
and wonderful ambassadors of the Yukon!!!!!!  We loved it!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Dottie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aurora Borealis & Northern Lights Tours Yukon also viewed

 

Been to Aurora Borealis & Northern Lights Tours Yukon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing