We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Experience ”

Aurora Borealis & Northern Lights Tours Yukon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Welcome to Northern Tales Travel Services, your one-stop shopping spot for year-round adventure in the Yukon! In winter, enjoy an aurora borealis viewing package with optional winter activities such as dog mushing, snowmobiling, snowshoeing, ice fishing, sightseeing flights and special events. Summer experiences include hiking the Chilkoot Trail, canoeing remote rivers reachable only by float-plane, fishing on the Big Salmon River, trekking past glaciers in Kluane National Park, and much more! Ask about custom, individual and private trips by foot, boat or van.
Cobble Hill, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience ”
Reviewed 25 February 2017 via mobile

Northern Tails went out of their way ensuring our trip met every expectation. We booked the cozy cabin package and were blown away with everything we experienced. Our first nights stay was in Whitehorse and we were picked up in the evening for a night of Aurora viewing, unfortunately Mother Nature was not on our side so the lights were not to be seen. We did however have a great evening and met some wonderful folks.
If you don't have the appropriate clothing those rented by northern tails are wonderful and certainly keep the cold out. (Jackets, pants, boots, gloves mitts and a hat).
The cabin at Fox Bay on lake Laberge was amazing, if it's getting away your looking for this is the place for you.
We walked the trails, strolled on the lake and booked a day of dog sledding. Everything was stunning. While here we had a camp fire beside the lake each of the 2 evenings and were here. On these evening we were mesmerized by the display of the northern lights, not a cloud in the sky and the stars were nothing like I've ever seen before.
The cabin is well equipped, propane lights, fridge and stove. Plenty of dishes and pots and pans. Your guide will stop at the local grocery store so your meals are up to you. The cabin has a wood stove with lots of wood so the cabin is very comfortable even when it's -25 outside. There is no power other than the generator (we were the only ones here so we dictated the hours) for the heated shower house.
We booked a day of dog sledding while here and were blown away with our guides. Before we knew it we each had a sled and were mushing up the lake for an unforgettable day.
Our last day we again were back in Whitehorse and had another evening with our northern tails guides at their viewing area. This time luck was on our side the display was incredible, the lights danced across the evening sky in stunningly greens and red.
There is lots to do in Whitehorse with a variety of restaurants for everyone tastes.

If this is on someone bucket list, I'd certainly recommend it.
Northern Tails when out of their way to make sure our trip was incredible.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    351
    29
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Highly Recommend!!”
Reviewed 20 February 2017 via mobile

I cannot express just how wonderful and knowledgeable the team at Northern Tales were, from booking our holiday right up until the very end of our 5 day winter adventure everything was smooth sailing, very well organised and communicated perfectly!
Each activity was great - the full day snowmobiles and dog sledding was incredible, the campfire lunch in the snow topped it off!
We had 4 nights to view the northern lights, didn't see any activity the first 2 nights however the cabin set up and camp fire is perfect for hanging out we were lucky to meet another couple of similar age and we just sat around the campfire with coffee and marshmallows! Our last night is when the lights decided to come out and due to our camera not having a long enough exposure the northern tales team were great, took everyone's photos at no extra cost - just a great way to end our adventure! Highly recommend if travelling to the Yukon!!

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
2 Thank Lauree_danielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow!!! Absolutely impressed with EVEYTHING”
Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

Spent our honeymoon here and couldn't speak any higher of how we were treated and how beautiful everything was! Would definitely love to go back.
Thank you to best western too for your hospitality x

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
1 Thank louisejodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, California
1 review
“Trip of a lifetime”
Reviewed 14 February 2017

We loved this trip. All the team members were great. They all helped with cameras, information for White Horse, dinner suggestions, tour suggestions and so much more. The site that they take you too is great. Wide open - places to warm up - snacks - drinks -fun - they did it all.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank rudedawgs17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing experience ! ”
Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

I had here in whitehorse one of the best experiences of my life and Northern tales made it even better, they answered all the questions Ibmade via mail (not less than 20) in a very quick, patient ,kind and warm way.
The hotel was perfect (Gold Rush Inn ) with an excellent location near shops and restaurants.
I booked almost all the tours (dog sled, snow mobiling, reserve and hot springs and aurora viewing every night ) and I can say I wouldn't change anything , the guides were all so kind and concerned , very punctual at the time of pick up and drop off.
All the snacks/ lunch included were delicious and all the tours companies were very professional .
I want to highlight that i was so lucky to see one of the best auroras of the season in two of my
Nights but the third even when we couldn't see anything , not even a green blurry cloud, I had an espectacular night with the fire, the crazy carpets and the maple syrup popsicles. So if any person is not as lucky as I was they non't have to worry at all because Northern Tales counts with a plan B,C,D and maybe more.
I'm so thankful with all the team for providing me with such a wonderful experience.
200% recomendable.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
2 Thank Sofi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aurora Borealis & Northern Lights Tours Yukon also viewed

 

Been to Aurora Borealis & Northern Lights Tours Yukon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing