We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favourite place in Whitehorse”
Review of Burnt Toast Cafe

Burnt Toast Cafe
Ranked #5 of 110 Restaurants in Whitehorse
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Cafe has a page on Facebooki.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Our favourite place in Whitehorse”
Reviewed 3 October 2012 via mobile

We stopped I'm here for brunch on our first Sunday to check it out. Lovely rustic casual atmosphere with really good food. We decided to try it for dinner 2 days later and it was even better. Quality and portion for price was excellent, and we were all thrilled with our food. Service was friendly and personable, making this place easy to recommend. If we had been here longer we would head back many more times.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Crimsonsketch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    249
    78
    32
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Great, creative dishes for breakfast.”
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Had breakfast here two days in a row. Excellent menu. Flavourful food. Try this while in Whitehorse.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AdventureArt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service”
Reviewed 27 September 2012 via mobile

A very cosy restaurant. The food was excellent and the service very attentive even when they were busy. A good selection of wines by the glass which I appreciate. A relatively small menu but with a very nice range of offerings. Very decent prices for the quality of food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chantal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansdowne, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Latte”
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We stopped for a pick me up. It was a beautiful day and had lattes and cookies outside. They made my latte with a beautiful leaf pattern on top. The coffee was wonderful and it was just enough to get us going again to explore this beautiful city.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank LindyJacobsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Dropped in this place on the recommendation of a hotel concierge and found it to be the best breakfast spot in all of Whitehorse. Super-friendly staff, excellent food, large portions and great coffee--what more could you ask? We re-visited for breakfast 3X on our trip and were never disappointed.

Note that service is pretty laid back, as is customary in all of Canada--waitresses don't hover over you, and if you're accustomed to such attention, you may think they're ignoring you. Not so--they simply believe in letting you enjoy your meal with minimal intrusion, so don't be afraid to flag the server down if you need something--they are more than happy to oblige, but generally won't intrude once you've been served.

Also came in for lunch once, and again found not one thing to complain about. It is obviously a locals-favorite, which speaks volumes. The Quinoa salad and pulled pork sandwhich are fantastic, by the way.

Seldom do I find a restaurant like this in my travels--HIGHLY recommend this place to anyone passing through Whitehorse.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Burnt Toast Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Burnt Toast Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing