We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Save
Review Highlights
Dog Sledding or Snow Mobile? Do both!

I did both the snow mobile tour and the dog sledding and both were outstanding! Derek was so... read more

Reviewed March 12, 2023
sarahve2023
Exhilarating experience!

We thoroughly enjoyed our snowmobiling tour! Derrick & Kerian were great guides! They made sure we... read more

Reviewed March 11, 2023
Thechildsfam
Read all 160 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Whitehorse
from C$260.00
More Info
from C$156.45
More Info
from C$828.45
More Info
from C$2,172.45
More Info
Reviews (160)
Filter reviews
160 results
Traveller rating
138
11
1
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
138
11
1
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews snowmobile tour fish lake ice fishing guide mark cookies and hot chocolate life jackets rental gear warm gear exhilarating experience day trip wind river snow mobiles awesome guide dog sledding northern lights kieran canoe
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 160 reviews
Reviewed March 15, 2022 via mobile

Today we jumped on a half day snowmobiling tour with Up North. We were picked up from our hotel and transported to the site just outside of town. Our guide Mark was friendly and professional, and made sure that we were taken care of throughout our time there. Upon arrival on site, we had the option to jump into some warmer clothes if we needed, and then our guide sat with each of us and made sure we understood how to use the snowmobile‘s before jumping onto the trails. We took off onto the lake and into the hillside for some amazing views. Our guide was very patient and checked in with us often. Our machines worked great and we enjoyed our time exploring Fish Lake and surrounding area. Definitely a highlight of our trip.

Date of experience: March 2022
1  Thank Face_The_Elements
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 5, 2022

We drove about a half an hour out of town to the site where we had to change our clothes. We wore winter heavy boots, pants, jacket etc., but our guide wanted us to put on even heavier clothes and balaclava around our face/neck. Our guide said he is retired, but does these tours in the winter.

Most of the trip was fine except one incident. Our guide said we would have to pull over on the narrow trail if a dog sled team came by. Sure enough, there was a group of 4 dog sleds stopped on the path near the lake. The woman driving the snowmobile in front of me headed left into a snow bank. I followed behind to get off the path, but didn’t go as far into the side bank as she did. Our guide said he would have to get her sled out of the snow, so had them get off the machine. For us, he just said to come back onto the path. Keeping in mind this is the first time we have ever sat on a snow machine, we were quite scared when I slowly moved the machine out of the snow, down the bank, and we thought it was going to tip over. We both put out our feet to stop from rolling. Our guide came back and said to never put our feet down! … It was an understandable reaction. I told him that if we were in a situation like that again, I would appreciate it if HE would get the sled out for us, and not leave it to us when we are not sure of what we are doing.

About half way through the day, after our stop at a lookout, he said we could change drivers. (Two people share the snow machine and each has a turn at driving.) Then he said the following section “was going to be a bit technical”. That’s scary. Now we have a NEW driver, and the trail is going to get tougher to drive? We went a short distance and he said it was going to be too tough, and had us all turn around to head back down the hill where we had come from.

Date of experience: February 2022
1  Thank Travel-1-Facts
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
UpNorthAdventures, Manager at Up North Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2022

Thank you so much for your review! We're glad that you were able to take advantage of the extra winter gear that we provide for those colder days, especially on our snowmobiling and ice fishing tours. We're also pleased to hear that your guide took excellent care of you: extricating machines when guests were unable to, instructions to protect you from bodily harm (no leg can prevent a machine from rolling over!), cautions about the coming trail before the option for guests to switch drivers, and a sound decision to reroute the group when the trail wasn't safe to proceed. It sounds like you had a wonderful tour with a well-experienced guide who kept everyone safe and warm and prevented any incidents while out on the machines. Thanks for recommending Up North Adventures!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 28, 2022 via mobile

Had such a wonderful experience with up northern. Staff was nothing but kind, helpful and attentive. We booked an ice fishing tour. It was cold but beautiful. Tour guides provided warm clothes, made sure we had all instructions and were safe. They even gave us hot chocolate and cookies during ice fishing. Definitely recommend!

Date of experience: March 2022
Thank HonestReviews748
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
UpNorthAdventures, Manager at Up North Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2022

Thank you for such a glowing review! Our guides work hard to give you great experiences while keeping you safe in our outdoor adventures. I hope you caught a fish too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 21, 2022

Amazing aurora view your. The guide was super friendly (Derek), and really cared about us experiencing the northern lights. When we were about to leave, the northern lights started their show and he went running to the van and said: come come, it’s happening. We stayed around 40 min more than the limit, and was an unforgettable experience. He was extremely nice, outgoing and caring.

Date of experience: February 2022
Thank 998brunad
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
UpNorthAdventures, Manager at Up North Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2022

Thank you for your wonderful review. The guides definitely want you to have the experience that you hoped for, and in this case Derek went over and above in order to do so. I'm so glad that you were able to enjoy an amazing show of aurora!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 1, 2022 via mobile

My friend and I had a 1 day excursion including snowmobiling and ice fishing. Our guide Kiran was superb with lots of experience, good humour, and attentiveness. I wasn’t sure what to expect but the snowmobiling was unforgettable with incredible mountain too sunrise views and the ice fishing was a nice chance to learn more about the region while being surrounded by all the beauty at fish lake. I would absolutely do this again!

Date of experience: January 2022
Thank Natalie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
UpNorthAdventures, Manager at Up North Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2022

Thanks so much for your review! Sounds like you had a great day with one of our great guides. Kieran works hard to provide guests with an amazing experience. Thank you for your business!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews