We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Beyond the arctic circle!

It was the best experience to cross the artic circle i could imagine. Very informative and relaxed... read more

Reviewed April 4, 2024
Christian H
Kluane Colours with Terre Boreale

Our Kluane Colours adventure with Terre Boreale was nothing short of spectacular. The scenery was... read more

Reviewed November 18, 2023
Anna K
via mobile
Read all 98 reviews
  
Google
Recommended experiences in and around Whitehorse
from C$859.95
More Info
from C$2,329.95
More Info
from C$156.45
More Info
from C$218.29
More Info
Reviews (98)
Filter reviews
98 results
Traveller rating
98
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
98
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hiking trip arctic circle dempster highway kluane national park territorial park northern lights highly recommend this trip an adventure dawson city beautiful scenery max ogilvie backpacking dehydrated tombstone gear route
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 98 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2016

We spent 2 weeks in the Yukon with Max in June, a week in the coast mountains and a week travelling up the Dempster highway, stopping off at Tombestone for some hiking. The coast mountains are a magical place made all the more special by Max’s thoughtful itinerary. The landscape and walking were spectacular and we didn’t see a single person all week, just lots of wildlife. Throughout the trip we were well looked after and provided with excellent home cooked food. We have travelled a lot and this trip is one of our favourites, from the destination itself through to the knowledge and enthusiasm of the guides. The Yukon is a wonderful part of the world and we wouldn’t hesitate to recommend it as a destination with Max and Milena as guides.

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank janeferon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 30, 2016

I had 1 week with terre boreal to travel in Yukon beyond the Arctic Circle. This trip with Terre Boreal was wonderful and fantastic. During 1 week, I visited, learnt and saw lot of things. This french agency Terre boreale is very professional and passionate for the Yukon Territory. This Yukon trip will be never forget.

Date of experience: March 2016
Thank Guillaume S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 28, 2016

황홀한 오로라, 그곳에서만 볼 수 있는 야생동물 그리고 끝없이 펼쳐진 설경.
그야말로 최고였습니다.

Gorgeous Northern lights, Wild animals and endlessly spreading beautiful snowy landscapes. It was Awesome!!

Date of experience: March 2016
Thank Explore808030
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 26, 2015

Terre Boreale designed a custom 3-day backpacking trip for us based on our schedule and our experience. We were impressed from the start by Max and Milena's professional and friendly communication as they designed our trip, and were looking forward to our hike. We never could have imagined the incredible adventure and amazing experience we would have! We were awed and inspired by our guide Max, who expertly guided us through wilderness, encouraged us with care and attention, nourished us with hearty food and snacks, and educated us on our surroundings. The incredible meals prepared by Max were remarkable, eaten al fresco overlooking glaciers, mountains, and valleys. This trip exceeded our wildest expectations! We Look forward to doing another trip with Terre Boreale, and highly recommend them to anyone looking to explore the Yukon.

Date of experience: July 2015
3  Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 29, 2015

I am so happy I hiked the famous Donjek route in Kluane National Park with Max as my guide. The Donjek is one of the most challenging hikes in the area, and I had it in my mind to hike it faster than the typical 8 to 10 days. Max did an amazing job mapping out a way to complete it in 7 days, with contingencies built just in case of course. And that even though we took the purist approach: hiking from and to the Alaska Highway, rather than driving up an old mining road for the first few kilometres on either side.

Max had prepared great home-made, dehydrated lunches and dinners that were super tasty and provided just the right amount of energy for our long hiking days.

This route features impressive scree descents, elevation gains of 1,000 m in a day, bushwhacking through thick brush (sometimes aided by game trails), and big creek crossings. We took care to stay safe and be mindful of the risks we took and manage them well. We both drew on considerable hiking experience in remote back country to accomplish this; and we worked well as a team.

Of course, long hiking days do come with long breaks in an extraordinary landscape. So, I never felt rushed even as we put in significant mileage each day.

I was also impressed by Max's excellent map reading and way-findings skills. We never had to back track, between the map and satellite GPS readings.

Having the opportunity to do this hike with Max - just Max and myself (!) - was truly remarkable. This week in the remote Kluane back country will stay with me for a long time to come.

Date of experience: June 2015
4  Thank ingap604
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews