We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
funding the Aurora Borealus on a cloudy night

on a cloudy and snowy night with little chance of seeing the Northern lights we were very happy to... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
Woiling W
via mobile
Unforgettable Adventure

The Glacier is breathtaking. Being in a small group is a luxury. We travelled through a wide... read more

Reviewed October 13, 2018
31toni
Read all 36 reviews
  
Reviews (36)
Filter reviews
36 results
Traveller rating
36
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
36
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bald eagles canoe trip black beans dawson city max mountainside pikas grizzlies backpacking tombstone dehydrated birds skills landscape glacier canoeing sheep
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 36 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2016

Me and my partner spent a total of 14 days with Max, first a relaxing 4 day canoe trip in Snafu lake and then the main highlight - a 10 day wilderness backpacking hike along the Donjek unmarked trail, in Kloane national park, which I'll focus on. The hike was amazing, easily one of the most beautiful and extraordinary we've ever done. Serene and pristine landscape, spectacular views filled with wild-life, away from it all (we saw a few people on the first day and that was pretty much it), truly a unique once in a lifetime kind of experience. The hike is considered very difficult by Parks Canada - it is an unmarked route, and there were certainly quite a few technical hiking stretches (scree climbing and descending, river crossing, bushwhacking, rock cliffs, etc). We are both in our late 30s, and experienced hikers, but whenever needed Max did a great job at instructing us, and teaching us some good hiking skills. We felt very safe all the time from that aspect as well as bear safety, navigation etc. He did a great job on the logistical side - it was all very organized, the meals (that are home made and dehydrated by Terre Boreale) were varied and good for a trip like that where all has to be lightweight and carried on our backs. We even had cookies/treat for lunch and desert every night :) . Max is a great naturalist and very familiar and knowledgeable of the flora and fauna. He also has super-human eyesight and spots wildlife everywhere all the time so we didn't miss a thing. In the park we saw grizzlies, caribou, mountain sheep and goats, gophers, pikas, hares, many different raptors (golden eagles, bald eagles, goshawks, peregrines, northern harriers) and many other birds, we heard wolves, and we found lots of bones, tracks and scats he taught us to identify. In general he answered our many questions, we had fun and interesting conversations, and it was a very pleasurable experience from the social perspective (which isn't something to take for granted on such a long hike!). If you like wilderness hiking, and looking for something amazing and different, I would highly recommend this trip with Terre Boreale and Max.

Date of experience: August 2016
1  Thank ulla_lala_42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 14, 2016

We spent 2 weeks in the Yukon with Max in June, a week in the coast mountains and a week travelling up the Dempster highway, stopping off at Tombestone for some hiking. The coast mountains are a magical place made all the more special by Max’s thoughtful itinerary. The landscape and walking were spectacular and we didn’t see a single person all week, just lots of wildlife. Throughout the trip we were well looked after and provided with excellent home cooked food. We have travelled a lot and this trip is one of our favourites, from the destination itself through to the knowledge and enthusiasm of the guides. The Yukon is a wonderful part of the world and we wouldn’t hesitate to recommend it as a destination with Max and Milena as guides.

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank janeferon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 29, 2016

I had 1 week with terre boreal to travel in Yukon beyond the Arctic Circle. This trip with Terre Boreal was wonderful and fantastic. During 1 week, I visited, learnt and saw lot of things. This french agency Terre boreale is very professional and passionate for the Yukon Territory. This Yukon trip will be never forget.

Date of experience: March 2016
Thank Guillaume S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 28, 2016

황홀한 오로라, 그곳에서만 볼 수 있는 야생동물 그리고 끝없이 펼쳐진 설경.
그야말로 최고였습니다.

Gorgeous Northern lights, Wild animals and endlessly spreading beautiful snowy landscapes. It was Awesome!!

Date of experience: March 2016
Thank Explore808030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 26, 2015

Terre Boreale designed a custom 3-day backpacking trip for us based on our schedule and our experience. We were impressed from the start by Max and Milena's professional and friendly communication as they designed our trip, and were looking forward to our hike. We never could have imagined the incredible adventure and amazing experience we would have! We were awed and inspired by our guide Max, who expertly guided us through wilderness, encouraged us with care and attention, nourished us with hearty food and snacks, and educated us on our surroundings. The incredible meals prepared by Max were remarkable, eaten al fresco overlooking glaciers, mountains, and valleys. This trip exceeded our wildest expectations! We Look forward to doing another trip with Terre Boreale, and highly recommend them to anyone looking to explore the Yukon.

Date of experience: July 2015
3  Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews