We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
funding the Aurora Borealus on a cloudy night

on a cloudy and snowy night with little chance of seeing the Northern lights we were very happy to... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
Woiling W
via mobile
Across Olgilvie mountains

I traveled with Terre Boreale with Max as guide through the beautiful and remote Olgilvie Range... read more

Reviewed September 8, 2018
donjek
,
Vancouver, Canada
Read all 36 reviews
  
Reviews (36)
Filter reviews
36 results
Traveller rating
36
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
36
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bald eagles canoe trip black beans dawson city max mountainside pikas grizzlies backpacking tombstone dehydrated birds skills landscape glacier canoeing sheep
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 36 reviews
Reviewed September 8, 2018

I traveled with Terre Boreale with Max as guide through the beautiful and remote Olgilvie Range near Tombstone . It was an amazing experience backpacking through true wilderness. Max is a highly skilled guide who has great route finding skills, and is expert in mountain and bush travel. And a sense of humour and patience! All food is home dehydrated, carefully crafted and delicious.Max is extremely knowledgeable about the birds and animals in The Yukon, and their lives and habits and is happy to impart his knowledge and passion. We saw caribou, Dall sheep, marmots,pikas, grizzlies, and lynx...golden Eagles, and Peregrines and many more birds! Also the amazing Aurora Borealis !!
It was a challenging and rewarding journey, a real immersion in the wild. Max and Milena offer a special experience . Highly recommended!

Date of experience: August 2018
2  Thank donjek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 23, 2018

…”but we didn’t see a moose”, was Max’s lament. He seemed disappointed but he shouldn’t be for we did see wildlife. Oh yes, we certainly did see wildlife. We saw 23 bears from our canoes (many more than we would normally expect to see) most of whom were far up on the mountainside fattening up on berries before their long winter’s nap. And also from our canoes just 20 or so metres away we saw a momma black bear with her two cubs feeding at the river’s edge. And we saw a grizzly feeding at the side of the road, aware of us but totally disinterested. We saw literally tens of thousands of migrating Sandhill cranes on their annual trek south, sometimes flying so high we could hardly see them (we could hear their distinctive and cacophonous honking long before we could see them). We saw so many bald eagles it almost became old hat (for whatever reason, the eagles were seen frequently associating with at least two ravens). We saw fat porcupines waddling up the beach and we saw, believe it or not, a squirrel swimming across the Yukon River. But we didn’t see a moose.
We experienced raw nature at its finest. It took a few days to slough off the city and to begin to feel the awesomeness, the immenseness of the Yukon and when we did, the feeling of oneness with our surroundings was fabulous.
Up at 6:30 in the morning and in the canoes by 9, we worked hard paddling 50 km., typically, every day (70 km. on at least one day) to accomplish the 600+ km. to Dawson City and we worked hard setting up the camp, pitching our tents and cutting firewood for the campfires. Then breaking camp again the next morning. We slept well at night.
Max did the cooking. And what Max can do with only an open campfire is nothing short of phenomenal. He created numerous French gourmet meals such as Coq au Vin. My birthday happened to occur on our first day on the water and Max (remember only on a campfire) created a cheesecake and presented it complete with birthday candles. We had sandwiches made from bannock cooked over the campfire and one morning we even had cinnamon buns for breakfast, prepared right before our very eyes.
Max and his partner, Milena, are obviously totally committed to the environment, to the Canadian Far North Country and to providing an authentic wilderness experience for their clients. They are hardworking, very well organized and they plan diligently to see that the total experience is genuine.
Should you take your trip in early September as we did, I would recommend warm clothing. But would I recommend a tour with Terre Boréale? Absolutely.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank fredbutler2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 13, 2018

January 13th 2018

450 miles in a canoe down the Yukon river with
TERRE BOREALE

Terre Boréale
info@terreboreale.com
GST/HST: 808814586RT0001
© 2017 Square, Inc.
Square Privacy Policy | Security

Three guys looking for an adventure:

We are retired, aged from 65 to 80 years old wanting to do something outside our comfort level. Something that we would consider an adventure, something we would remember and something that would be doable. Here is what we came up with:

A Whitehorse Company in the Yukon, Northern Canada, Terre Boreale, offers an all inclusive 15 day adventure comprised of a 450 mile canoe trip down the Yukon River from Whitehorse to Dawson City. I had never been to the Yukon nor like my two friends, had any previous experience in a canoe. We signed up for the September 2017 trip, last one of the season.

We arrived in Whitehorse the first of September where Terre Boreale put us up in a downtown hotel and told us to be ready to go tomorrow early.

The company, owned and operated by Max and his wife Milena, did all the prep, meal menus, acted as guide and generally seem to know everything one needs to know about the area and the river. The number of people on each canoe trip is limited, our group was two canoes for the four of us which included our guide Max, so this really was a personal adventure.

We left the hotel in a van arriving at the river entrance around noon. After lunch we loaded the canoes and started off. The first and second day were in essence demonstration days where our guide, Max, was able to assess our virtually non existent canoeing skills. On the third day he explained we were going to need an adjustment to complete the trip in comfort and within the time frame allotted. To do this, he lashed the canoes together with small logs he harvested, set up a mast and fashioned a sail using a camping tarp. The four of us completed the trip paddling the raft in this configuration. This allowed us to spend time paddling, enjoying the scenery, taking pictures, watching for bears and other wildlife while maintaining an adequate pace of travel.

The trip was wonderful, the vastness of the country, admittedly a small part of the Yukon, was a eye opener and the variety of wildlife, especially the bird population, along with some of its history made it really interesting. We had some 24 bear sightings both black bear and grizzly. Each of us carried bear spray with us and soon got used to being asked each time we left the campsite “have you got your spray”. For the most part this was wilderness camping on the bank of the the Yukon river and we only actually shared our camp with others, twice over 13 odd days. For city people, living in a tent for this length of time was an experience we were not used to but for the most part enjoyed. Food was a very pleasant surprise, Max our guide, prepared all the meals over an open fire and the variety and quality was hard to believe. Fred, on the third day out, celebrated his 80th birthday and Max prepared a birthday cheese cake, again over an open fire. The weather was a mix of cool days, sunny days, some rain but over all very doable.

It is fair to say that we had an adventure that we will remember for a long time and definitely accomplished our objectives for the trip,

A special thanks to our guide and owners of Terre Boreale, Max and his wife Milena, for a great time, good food and for keeping us safe. I have no difficulty recommending this canoe adventure to both the experienced and non experienced paddler as the company is ready, willing and able to make the adventure fun and most importantly doable.

Jim Mansley
75 years old, still moving and keeping them fooled!

Date of experience: September 2017
1  Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 4, 2016

Me and my partner spent a total of 14 days with Max, first a relaxing 4 day canoe trip in Snafu lake and then the main highlight - a 10 day wilderness backpacking hike along the Donjek unmarked trail, in Kloane national park, which I'll focus on. The hike was amazing, easily one of the most beautiful and extraordinary we've ever done. Serene and pristine landscape, spectacular views filled with wild-life, away from it all (we saw a few people on the first day and that was pretty much it), truly a unique once in a lifetime kind of experience. The hike is considered very difficult by Parks Canada - it is an unmarked route, and there were certainly quite a few technical hiking stretches (scree climbing and descending, river crossing, bushwhacking, rock cliffs, etc). We are both in our late 30s, and experienced hikers, but whenever needed Max did a great job at instructing us, and teaching us some good hiking skills. We felt very safe all the time from that aspect as well as bear safety, navigation etc. He did a great job on the logistical side - it was all very organized, the meals (that are home made and dehydrated by Terre Boreale) were varied and good for a trip like that where all has to be lightweight and carried on our backs. We even had cookies/treat for lunch and desert every night :) . Max is a great naturalist and very familiar and knowledgeable of the flora and fauna. He also has super-human eyesight and spots wildlife everywhere all the time so we didn't miss a thing. In the park we saw grizzlies, caribou, mountain sheep and goats, gophers, pikas, hares, many different raptors (golden eagles, bald eagles, goshawks, peregrines, northern harriers) and many other birds, we heard wolves, and we found lots of bones, tracks and scats he taught us to identify. In general he answered our many questions, we had fun and interesting conversations, and it was a very pleasurable experience from the social perspective (which isn't something to take for granted on such a long hike!). If you like wilderness hiking, and looking for something amazing and different, I would highly recommend this trip with Terre Boreale and Max.

Date of experience: August 2016
1  Thank ulla_lala_42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 14, 2016

We spent 2 weeks in the Yukon with Max in June, a week in the coast mountains and a week travelling up the Dempster highway, stopping off at Tombestone for some hiking. The coast mountains are a magical place made all the more special by Max’s thoughtful itinerary. The landscape and walking were spectacular and we didn’t see a single person all week, just lots of wildlife. Throughout the trip we were well looked after and provided with excellent home cooked food. We have travelled a lot and this trip is one of our favourites, from the destination itself through to the knowledge and enthusiasm of the guides. The Yukon is a wonderful part of the world and we wouldn’t hesitate to recommend it as a destination with Max and Milena as guides.

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank janeferon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews