We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (372)
Filter reviews
372 results
Traveller rating
298
64
6
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
298
64
6
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fuzzy crocus viewing cabins raven's nest wolf den hot tub northern lights dog sledding aurora viewing city tour satellite tv well equipped kitchen takhini hot springs hot beverages two nights beautiful cabin full kitchen yukon wildlife
Filter
Updating list...
93 - 98 of 372 reviews
Reviewed February 12, 2016

I vacationed with friends at the Sundog Retreat for 6 days in the Cranberry Cabin. Seeing the Northern Lights was #1 on our bucket list and were thrilled to see them put on a great show for 3 nights of our stay. We also booked dogsledding, snowmobiling, a tour of the Wildlife Preserve and a tour of Whitehorse. We had a blast on all of our activities and took great pictures! Heather, Andrew, Kei and the rest of the Sundog crew were so hospitable and accommodating to us our entire stay. They made arrangements for us to go back to Whitehorse for some shopping our last day there. Our cabin was clean, comfortable and was situated to give us the best view of the lights. We were sad to leave... We will be back in the future and highly recommend Sundog for others who are looking for a beautiful, peaceful, yet exciting vacation to the beautiful Yukon Territory. Thank you Sundog!!

Room tip: Highly recommend the Cranberry Cabin
Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Leah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 15, 2016

We stayed at Sundog for 5 nights in the Wolf Den cabin. The cabin was very clean and had everything we needed for a comfortable stay. We pre-ordered the meals from the retreat and they were delicious, home cooked meals that went down after big days adventuring in -30C.
The owners were sensational! They were extremely accommodating, helpful with organising tours and transporting us to tours. They were on call any time we needed anything. They had extensive knowledge of the area and were just lovely to talk to.
The location for Northern Lights viewing is perfect as it is outside of the city and the disruptive city lights. My husband and I walked out to the bonfire and roasted marshmallows and drank hot chocolate (provided by the retreat!), and lay out under the stars. We were lucky enough to view the lights two nights out of five.
If you are going to Whitehorse this is the place to stay!
My husband and I want to go back to experience Canada in the Spring time and we will be staying at Sundog.

Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank MatildaAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 8, 2016

We took four children between the ages of 1 and 11 up for three nights and two days of Yukon exploration.

As it was the end of a three week trip, we chilled in the fireweed cabin for most of the time, which was lovely, as the kids piled on winter gear and built a Tlingit (local version of an igloo or nomadic ice house) over the days we were there, complete with a resplendent stained glass window made of ice with frozen leaves and berries floating throughout.

The hosts were kind, knowledgable and warm. They are responsible for an amazing initiative called the sundog carving initiative that saw 17 at risk local kids on an island for 70 days, camping and carving a beautiful canoe that you can view at the local arts and cultural centre. Very fond of them and their wonderful work and connection with the community and nature.

A city tour on our first full day was lovely. Whitehorse is magical, any season. We are keen to return in the summer in a few years and see the wildflowers and more local wildlife.

We did get a $900cdn bill which I need to look into, as it seems very steep considering we had prepaid and were very confused about the food ordering system. We will look into that further. I would suggest if you have any questions about the charges or costs that you contact the team there before you arrive, as it was a very unwelcome surprise indeed, considering the fact we had thought we had prepaid.

Still, a wonderful time and great facilities. Unlike anything we've seen before and I'd highly recommend it to anyone.

Room tip: great privacy and facilities
Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DeeWest5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welcoming_Host, Owner at Sundog Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2016

Hi Dee – thanks for taking time to share your experience here. It was great to spend time with your whole family and I’m glad your kids enjoyed building the quinzhee. I know you appreciated the local Tlingit culture too!

Just wanted to clarify that the amount you mentioned included charges for feeding your family of six and also for some personal extras you requested that we were happy to accommodate.

I’m sorry you did not understand the email conversation we had while confirming your meal order with us. Because your primary booking was made through a travel agent, arrangements were not communicated as directly as we prefer with our clients.

We really enjoyed answering questions from your curious and enthusiastic kids… and hearing about all the good things you are doing in the world… hope our paths cross again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 3, 2016

First trip in Winter to the Yukon, with goals of seeing the Northern Lights, wildlife and breathing in the (cold) fresh air. Airport pickup was seamless. They took us to pick up groceries on the way to the property since we pre-ordered only about half our meals. Made a pit stop to local Yukon Brewing store to pick up vital supplies (worthwhile).
Stayed in Panorama and Fuzzy Crocus cabins. Panorama is more like a regular small home, and Fuzzy Crocus is a cozy cabin (doors and ceilings are quite low in the latter). Both are very warm and clean. Their home baked food ranges from good to excellent and has great portions. Next time I'd order more of it so I don't have to cook as much.
High grades for the outdoor hot tub and sauna which are a perfect respite from the freezing temperatures. The ultimate experience would be viewing the aurora from the hot tub but it was too cloudy at the time for us unfortunately.
The hosts (Heather & Andrew) and the staff are all very pleasant and organized. I would not hesitate to stay at Sundog in the future.

Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 774patrickc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 2, 2016 via mobile

We stayed at Sundog for 4 nights between the wolf den and fireweed cabins and both were very clean and well equipped. I think the cranberry has the best location for aurora watching, the rest you likely need to step outside to check on the aurora. There are nice extras around the resort like a fire pit with marshmallows and hot chocolate close by and also the sauna/hot tub. There isn't a lot to do during the day within walking distance so plan accordingly. The excursions are likely your best bet if you don't have a car. With only 6 cabins there was minimal interaction/noise from other guests which we appreciated. The hosts and staff were fantastic and friendly. We didn't buy any meals there as we were content cooking our own. This is a great fit for couples/family's who enjoy the outdoors and peace and quiet.

Date of stay: December 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank erinandkai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews