We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (180)
Filter reviews
180 results
Traveller rating
141
36
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
141
36
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pub grub coal fire lovely village hotel in scotland lounge bar lead mining attic room the perfect place to stay home from home friendly locals delicious cooked breakfast southern upland way great hosts lovely clean room mine host whiskey selection lentil soup
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 180 reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2018

the hotel is well maintained and the owners are very welcoming.
the food was of good proportion and tasted great . this was a very friendly area and the views surrounding the area are also great.lots of history.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
Thank ralph947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 19, 2018

This is a small hotel in a sleepy town most visited for its history of lead and gold 'mining'. As an old building the hotel has the sort of quirks you would expect but our room was large, comfortable and had all the amenities we needed including peace and quiet. As a small hotel in a small town, its advisable to let them know if you want to eat. The food is good, plentiful and the beer is too. Breakfast was great as well. But, the thing that makes this a good place to stay is the genuine warmth of the owners who made us most welcome.

Stayed: June 2018
1  Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HopetounArms, Owner at Hopetoun Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2018

Hi Steve B
Hi there. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, it was really good of you. It was so nice to meet you and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope you had a good onward journey.
Rab & Rachel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 16, 2018 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel before doing tough mudder and they welcome was great, the food was lovely and the bar was really good value for money.

As we would be leaving before breakfast they offered a packed lunch. Above and abound what was required!

We had room 8&9 and both where lovey nice cosy beds. If in the area again I would definitely stay again

Such good Value for money!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Thedon1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HopetounArms, Manager at Hopetoun Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2018

Hi Thedon 1986 Thank you so much for your review We are all delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope hat you stay with us again in the future xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 11, 2018

We stayed here on a 1 night stop over with our 2 dogs. The room was of a high standard and the owners very helpful and friendly, the room represented very good value. We ate alone in the bar which was a shame, dogs are barred from the lounge, the bar is very basic with a pool table. We would not expect to take our dogs into a dining room but we saw no good reason why we should be barred from the decent pub lounge.The food in the bar is decent standard, good value pub grub. Breakfast in the dining room was very good. Some good walking nearby.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malcolmjb1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HopetounArms, Owner at Hopetoun Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2018

Hi there, thank you so much for your review. I'm pleased you had a pleasant stay and was overly to meet you and your four legged friends. I'm afraid not everyone feels the same about dogs so to keep everyone happy, dogs are allowed in every room of the hotel, including the dining room and bar, and as you rightly stated not the lounge, which is carpeted. It's a difficult balancing act but feel that this is a good balance. Thanks again
Rab &Rachel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 20, 2018

Although a little way off the Way, the owners were kind enough to collect us in the afternoon and return us to the path the next morning. We were very pleased they did as we enjoyed our visit to the Hopetoun Arms which is the highest residential hotel in Scotland and set in the centre of a large village with a fascinating history. The room was comfy and clean; the shower was great and the evening meal and breakfast were excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HopetounArms, Owner at Hopetoun Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2018

Hi Caroline M
Thank so so much for your very kind words, we are so happy you enjoyed staying with us. I have passed your lovely comments onto all the staff involved.
Thanks again
Rab & Rachel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews