We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Sweet Home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Briarwood Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Elmsdale B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 July 2010

Read the reviews! There isn't much I can add to all the praises! Con, Rose, and Laura are wonderful! The house is beautifully decorarated, the huge landscaped lawn is breath-taking, the beds are extra comfy, the breakfast is delicious and the hospitality was the greatest. My husband and I stayed one night when we got to Halifax (it's close to the airport) and returned a week later for another night before returning home. And I couldn't wait to get back to my Briarwood "home". Every other place I stayed, didn't even compare to Briarwood. Thank you Con and Rose for all your help. Laura, good luck to you.
Andy and Cindy

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeeZDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2010

Beautiful home, very elegant, wonderful host, superb location, particularly to get to the airport fast. Very gnerous host allowing access to Internet and even free phone call back to the U.S.!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loveagora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2010

If you're looking for a place to stay near the Halifax airport, this is it. The home is a wonderful old farmhouse with all the modern upgrades and Con is a very congenial host who made us feel very welcome. The room was spacious with a very comfortable bed that made our 2-night stay a great start to our vacation and thanks to Laura, the breakfasts were a great start to our days. Con directed us to a couple of restaurants nearby that offered good food at reasonable prices (the fish & chips from the Hot Spot were great). He also gave us directions to a nice drive around the Bay of Fundy, although we somehow managed to make a wrong turn but it just meant we did the tour backwards and got to drive back on the water side. The grounds are extensive with a couple of sitting areas, a pergola, and a pond where the bullfrogs are very vocal! A great setting for a relaxing getaway.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelBug154985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2010

Only stayed one night, but Con made us feel very welcome.
The room we stayed in was immaculate - clean, comfortable and very well presented.

Would definitely recommend Briarwood if you plan to stay in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nik C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2009

My wife and I stayed here for two nights in Oct 2009. We originally planned only one night but decided because of location and comfort to stay an extra night - two other couples who were staying there also decided to stay an extra night. Need I say more! The linens were so nice, luxurious and comfortable that we actually bought a set from the owner and have them on our bed at home now. Con was extremely helpful with his suggestions and made us feel right at home - he walked us through the house initially and told us be enjoy the different rooms which we took full advantage of. The grounds are lovely and even though the weather was a little inclement we still walked around the property and enjoyed it. If we are back in this area again we will definitely take the opportunity to stay another couple of nights. Dorothy cooked a delicious standard breakfast for us and was also helpful with her suggestions.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SkyviewEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2009

This is the place to stay if you are just coming from the Halifax airport...or leaving. The hosts are warm and inviting, and the home itself will draw you in...it is such a charming & comfortable atmosphere...and the breakfast was wonderful as well. I only wish we would have had more time to enjoy all it has to offer.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oh4petesake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2009

I'm not a fan of B&B's but I loved this place. it's close to the airport so if you have an early flight out or a late night arrival it's great, but don't just stay for the convenience. Book another couple days as well. I thought the house was lovely -- antiques, beautiful century home, and enjoyed Dorothy's simple cooked breakfast, served in the elegant dining room. The peace and quiet of the country but still in town, the dogs to play fetch with, the paths to walk and Con, the owner, is working on a three hole golf course he hopes to complete in the next couple of years. Con is also involved in rescuing tired old Land Rovers and giving them a second or even a third chance. Make time to talk to him. Great food within easy walking distance, just ask Con for his recomendations. But best of all was sitting in the chairs outside in the morning with a coffee and in evening and listening to the wind in the trees and the birds...truly relaxing.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManitobaBoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Briarwood Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briarwood Bed and Breakfast

Address: 11 Miller Rd, Elmsdale, Nova Scotia B2S 1G4, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Elmsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Elmsdale
Price Range: $111 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Briarwood Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnificent Victorian Home on 7 acres of manicured grounds. Minutes to the Halifax International airport. Executive suites all with wireless internet, down duvets, phone, tv, hairdryers & DVD. Full 3 course breakfast. Walk to shopping and restaurants. Park and fly. Airport pickup and drop off by prior arrangement. A fine start and finish to your Nova Scotia trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Briarwood Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Briarwood Bed And Breakfast Elmsdale, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing