We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A stunning, unique house in a quiet, convenient...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Casa Sant Fournier

Upper Terrrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Upper Terrrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Upper Terrrace
Dinning room, seats 16
Dinning room, seats 16
Kitchen
Dining Room
Courtyard at night
Courtyard in winter
Interior
Interior
Interior
Bedroom
Bathroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
View from terrace to terrace across the courtyard
Another view of upper terrace
Courtyard from the lower roofgarden
Swimming Pool
Dylan the tortoise having breakfast
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
7 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Haz-Zebbug, Island of Malta

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Rootveg
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A stunning, unique house in a quiet, convenient setting”
Reviewed August 24, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This house is absolutely beautiful and feels like a family home rather than a holiday rental. There are lovely things there; pictures, nick-knacks, plants, furniture; and yet you don't feel it's so precious you cannot relax properly. If you are expecting perfection to English standards, forget it; and accept the charm of a real place. The house is obviously a few hundred years old, and I guess must need constant maintenance. There are minor issues with damp in a few places, which do not take away from its intrinsic elegance and beauty. The setting is lovely; it's built round a central courtyard where we ate most of our meals, with various roof terraces with comfortable furniture (some of this is getting a bit tired, but we didn't mind one bit), trailing plants, and lovely views.

Zebbug is central and close to a lot of things you might want to visit. It is a charming small town, although lacking in facilities. We found nowhere we wanted to eat out in the village, and the few shops are fairly basic. However, there are great markets every day except Sunday and Monday. Tip: if you arrive on Sunday, ask the lovely owner to organise some food to be in the house for you. There is a kind and helpful maid who comes in from time to time unobtrusively to water and look after the two tortoises, and she did some basic shopping for us before we arrived. We had no car, but got around on foot (Mdina, must see, is 1 hr on foot over quiet roads) and by bus (Valetta 30 mins, frequent buses from main street). You are only 10 mins from the airport, and you do get occasional plane noise, but it was never a real problem during our stay.

There is aircon in most of the bedrooms, although it was pretty much ineffective in one, and the small single bedroom has only a fan. In fact, I would not use this bedroom except for, say, a young adult, as it is far from any bathrooms and must be terribly hot. Two of the double rooms are interconnecting. The rooms are generally comfortable and spacious, and all except one has an en-suite. There are two separate living areas, and various places to dine. The kitchen is a real chef's paradise, very well equipped and large.

The swimming pool is not huge, but certainly big enough to swim rather than just dip, and beautifully set in its own courtyard surrounded by plants. Do not bother with the heating if you are coming in summer; you won't need it (owner will advise you). They ask you not to use it after 10pm as the neighbours are close, and we did feel that our noisy children might be annoying at siesta time too (although no one complained).

Three things to prepare for. 1. Mosquitoes. Some of us were bitten quiet badly, despite using spray in the rooms. It is hard to find decent anti-mossie stuff in the town so I suggest you get some before you travel. 2. Water. The water in most of the taps is not suitable for drinking or even brushing teeth. So ask the nice maid to get some for you in advance. 3. Wifi. There is wifi, but it does not work in all the rooms, and went down after a few days (although it was fixed). If you absolutely need internet access all the time this may not be the place for you, although there are plenty of places in the town with free wifi.

All-in-all, this is one of the most lovely places I have ever stayed in as a holiday rental. Do try it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beauty of the house and that it feels like a home
Liked least: The mosquitoes
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2016
All the bedrooms have air con. All functioning perfectly on inspection.
Wifi now works throughout the house but some spots are blind as the walls are 4 foot thick in places.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeatrizPe...
Madrid, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Could be beautiful again with some work”
Reviewed March 24, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
2
people found this review helpful

I have just return for a week in Casa Sant Fournier in Malta. I went with other eight friends.
The house is really beautiful. Rooms are aple and well appointed. You can see it was a very good house and could be again with some work. There is a lot of damp and many walls are flaking badly. It is a pity
The web shows nice pictures but they have been taken some time ago because now the house is note well manteined. The floors in the courtyad and the terraces have a lot of moss and the greenery needs somebody to take care of it.
As I said the house is beautiful; has really nice rooms and it is decorated with good taste.
Mary is the person who has taken care of us. She is really nice and very helpfully. I have to say that she was the best value of the house.
I would recommend to the owner to repair the walls before any other clientes go there

Travelling group: Con amigos
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Feb 2015
We always appreciate feedback but in this case there were exceptional circumstances. The plaster on one wall was flaking as a result of a particularly wet winter as these clients experienced in full as it rained every day they were there. Malta is a maritime climate where, within reason, these challnges are annual. We took this review to heart and in fact repainted the entire ground floor and replasterd the whole stiarcase. The house is now immaculate and was that way one month after this review. All other guests have been more than happy with Casa Sant Fournier as will be very evident from every other review. We look forward to inviting people to this lovely historic house in Malta.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 13, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Helene M
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The most beautiful and perfect place we have ever stayed”
Reviewed September 4, 2012 for a stay in August 2012
2
people found this review helpful

If you are looking for a beautiful place to stay with a real taste of local malta life, this is for you. The home (far more than just a house/villa or place to stay) is so lovely you will not want to leave. We rented Casa Sant Fournier for our family for the week as were getting married in Malta and our experience could not have been happier. This is indeed a home to the owners family and so welcoming you feel like you know them personally. It has everything you need for a larger group, plenty of space, bathrooms, quiet corners and yet the main areas the kitchen (very well equipped), central courtyard, lounge etc quickly become the heart of the home while you are there. Most of our evening meals were spent in the beautiful central couryard with candles, the sound of the running water from the small fountain, just perfect. The local village centre has enough shops as well as a market most days for all your fresh food needs, with a few local bars and takeaways if needed.The owner has left a book to explain how everything from the hot water to the internet works, however Mary the housekeeper, a delightful lady was there to help if needed at any time. If you have a car you would need to park a 100yards or so away in the main square but to be honest buses run every 20-30mins to Valetta with changes to St Julians etc.Our family could not believe how lovely this home was, we have never stayed in such a beautiful and loved family home and I doubt we will ever find anything like it again. Loved everything about it. Our group age range was 14yrs to 73yrs in age.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The homely, well loved feel to the house
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grpadv
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Classic Malta Experience”
Reviewed May 23, 2011 for a stay in November 2010
3
people found this review helpful

This is a belated review for a marvelous vacation we had in November 2011 at Casa Sant Fournier. It was a very pleasurable experience from start to finish. The owner, Tess, was very responsive by email to all my enquiries including some English to American translations. The payment process was easily made by bank transfer. Mary, the housekeeper, was very responsive to our requests and went above and beyond duty at our arrival. Overall the Holiday Lettings website was very accurate and didn't feel there were any surprises what so ever.

The house is situated off a side street of Zebbug. With a typical Mediterranean low key doorway opening into the spacious house/garden/terraces and pool. The pictures on the web site are true to life. This is how the house looks. We were a group of six friends who have travelled all over Europe staying in similar accommodations and this was one of the best we've used. Since two of our members are gourmet cooks, the kitchen is important to us and this one did not disappoint. We spent most of our time in the greater kitchen/dining area. Wireless internet worked great. IPhones and personal computers worked well.

While the location was perfect for our needs it may be a little too in a city for those looking for something a bit more getting away from it all. The bedroom facing the street could be a bit noisy early in the morning. And parking was a bit of an issue. If we didn't time our getting home time to be before the end of the work day, then parking could be a problem and sometimes the walk was considerable. This wasn't an problem for us because we like to walk but it could be an issue for some people. When we first arrived we came when the market was going on in the town square so that area wasn't available for parking. The housekeeper drove around with us to show us where it was acceptable to park. You don't have to have a car to be there as the bus stop is near by but certainly if you don't want to go by the bus's schedule or if you want to go to Gozo for the day and need to coordinate with the ferry schedule then you probably should have a car. We did take the bus into Valletta a couple of times and it was very convenient. Also on our first night on Malta we took the bus from the airport into Valletta which was also very convenient and inexpensive. BTW if you have a GPS that works in Malta, I would highly recommend it. Especially if you come from a country that is not left hand drive, it makes getting around a lot simpler when you don't have to concentrate on driving and trying to read road signs at the same time.

We did have some issues with hot water. We read all the directions on what to do and how to do it as the heating is on a solar powered system. But no matter what we tried we were lucky if one person a day got a decent shower/bath. Check to see if the dishwasher has a built in water heater. Our resident Europeans thought it did and so we would run the dish washer at night. But maybe it didn't and we were using up all the hot water at night and so there was none available the next day until the solar heating heated up more.

These were minor issues to us though as overall we loved the place. Sitting on the upper terrace at night and watching the stars come out and feeling sorry for the people on the planes departing from Valletta was one of our favorite things to do. We stopped pretty much every day at the corner grocer store to grab a savory either coming or going and we mystified the young man working there as to why any Americans would be staying in Zebbug. But that is exactly why we liked it. We were the only Americans around.

Tourist Info: Get the Lonely Planet Malta and Gozo book, pre book your tickets for the Hypogeum, read the Sword and the Scimitar by David Ball (titled Ironfire in the U.S.) for a sense of Maltese history, see the cathedral in Valletta - looks boring from the outside but anything but on the inside.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Oct 2012
thank you for your review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clément b
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviewed June 17, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jul 2017
Merci!! So glad it worked so well for you.
Regards Tess
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CkDP
Vannes, France
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
Google Translation

Travelling group: En famille avec jeune(s) enfant(s)
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2016
So glad you enjoyed the house.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing