We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (58)
Filter reviews
58 results
Traveller rating
23
26
7
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
23
26
7
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews good size minute walk to the shops separate bedrooms only gripe family wedding road noise comfortable bed place to stay te mata peak lyn unit host village cleanliness region pillows kitchenette
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 58 of 58 reviews
Reviewed April 9, 2011

Our family has stayed at Cherry Grove each summer over the past 5 years for our sons Cricket Camps. Janet and Ian are always very welcoming and hospitable. The rooms are a good size for motel units and always kept clean. Am excellent location for walking to local restarants and in the summer it is great to have the pool to cool down in.

Date of stay: January 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SJLWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 27, 2011

We were stuck for accommodation because of a major concert and were delighted to find the Cherry Grove. The motel is basic, not luxurious, but extremely well designed. Everything one could need is there - unusual in a motel. Our host was a delight and most helpful.
The Cherry Grove is well located for touring the area and we found a very pleasant restaurant (The Post) in the small town. Our motel unit faced an interior green space so we sat out after dinner with a glass of wine, toasting our last night in this wonderful wine area.

Date of stay: February 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boblynruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 26, 2011

We stayed two nights at $130 per night in a studio room. On the surface, the room was reasonably clean, but the carpet had countless stains on it. The bathroom wall linings were bowed out and the surfaces of the walls were heavily marked. The paint on the cupboards and units generally was chipped. Notices in hte room told us to use white towels in hte room and link towels at the swimming pool. The towels in our room were dark red! That tells you much about the motel.
We stayed at a far better motel between Christmas and New Year in Taumaranui, for about $85 per night and had a much cleaner and larger room.
However, you pay through the nose for being in Hawkes Bay.

Date of stay: February 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NewZealandNeville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherry_Grove_Motel, Owner at Cherry Grove Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2011

I am sorry you were disappointed with the cost and standard of our accommodation when you stayed here recently.
Our prices for a studio unit are $90 - $130 depending on time and events.
The carpet has now been thoroughly cleaned, a matter of getting a clear day when it was vacant so that it might be fully dried and aired.I can find no evidence of any heavy wall marks so they must have been cleaned after you departure and not before your arrival. My apologies again.
Maintenance is an on going matter here, something we are constantly working on in order to achieve maximum cleanliness and comfort. Unfortunately during the busy season it is not always possible to deal with some things immediately. The bathroom walls are being relined and dealt with as a matter of priority.
Thank you for your comment about the pool towels notice. We have recently replaced all pool towels with new red ones. The white bath towels in the studio units were also replaced with new red ones but I forgot to amend the notices. That will be dealt with

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 27, 2015
Google Translation

Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews