We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool little Motel in Havelock North”
Review of Cherry Grove Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cherry Grove Motel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Havelock North
Reviewed 2 January 2018

We stayed at the Cherry Grove Motel over the New Years period and were pleasantly surprised. Even though the property was fully booked and we had a pool outside our room we did not have any noise or disturbance. The property was clean and tidy and the owners were lovely. We had a great new year and came home to have a great sleep as the place was so quiet! A lovely little motel in walking distance to shops!

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WellieAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynCraigLarking, Owner at Cherry Grove Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2018

Thanks "WellieAnnie" for your lovely review!! So happy you had a great time whilst staying here - we hope to see you again sometime :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2018 via mobile

My son and I stayed here for a few days after Christmas. Owners and staff were very helpful and friendly. Spacious clean and quiet rooms with pool and outdoor games available for the kids. 8 min walk to town and dairy right next door. Te Mata Peak close by and only a 20 min drive to Napier. Staff always have a smile and the beds were super comfy too. We will definitely be staying here again in the near future.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank 858louisek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynCraigLarking, Owner at Cherry Grove Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks so much for the review Louise, so glad you enjoyed your time here with us & in the Hawkes Bay!! Come back soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2018 via mobile

Superb motel perfectly positioned in Havelock North. Rooms are a good size, good amenities and super helpful staff. Is on a main road so ask for a room off the road.
Pool was great relief for kids in the middle of the day. 15 min drive to sports Centre in Hastings and a 10 min walk to super little cafes in the town. Would come again.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Nikki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynCraigLarking, Owner at Cherry Grove Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for the review Nikki - it does pay to ask about the little things (especially if they are big things to you) we are more than happy to 'shuffle' the bookings around in our system to ensure everyone is happy!! To me, it's the little things that make a holiday from "just ok to absolutely fantastic!!" (making you want to come back again & tell your friends too)
Hope to see you again...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2017 via mobile

Stayed here with friends for a bike tour around the local trails. Nice roomy
accommodation for 4 people. Handy location to walk into the CBD area for
bars and restaurants. The owners were very accommodating and made us feel welcome. Definitely recommend.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Pat F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynCraigLarking, Owner at Cherry Grove Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2017

Thank you so much for your kind words!! Reviews are so important to us - we really appreciate any feedback.
Glad you enjoyed your visit & we hope to see you all again sometime in the not too distant future!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017

I stayed at Cherry Grove Motel for 7 nights whilst visiting my daughter in Havelock. The owners were friendly and welcoming. My unit was comfortable and had all the basic needs. The bed was extremely comfortable and most importantly the unit was spotlessly clean. I highly recommend this motel and it will definitely be the only motel I book into in my future visits to my daughter. Thank you Lyn and Craig for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Belinda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynCraigLarking, Owner at Cherry Grove Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2017

Awww, you're welcome Belinda - thank you so much for taking the time to write this such lovely to hear & positive review.
It is comments like this that help others to decide where to stay when coming to Havelock North - which is priceless, so thank you!!!
See you again x
Lyn & Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

I stayed at the Cherry Grove Motel back in August (11th-13th) and I was very impressed. It was very clean too! Reading reviews about the place its cleanliness was a recurring theme. I concur the level of cleanliness of this place was outstanding. I didn't walk into the town centre but it wasn't that far. The bed was comfortable and the unit was well appointed. The host when I checked in was very helpful, polite and friendly. I would definitely recommend this place and would come back!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynCraigLarking, Owner at Cherry Grove Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

What an outstanding review David - thank you so much for taking the time to construct such helpful words to encourage others like yourself to come & stay at our humble wee motel.
Glad you enjoyed your stay & hope to see you back again...
Regards
Lyn Larking
Proud owner of Cherry Grove Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

We were very happy with our stay, and very grateful for the fantastic service! The two bedroom unit was ideal for our family, lovely and clean, with everything we needed and well laid out. We particularly liked the lawn areas where our toddler could potter around safely. Thanks so much for the room upgrade, the extra milk for our little one, and for posting her jacket back to us when we left it behind!! We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank bleigh333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Havelock North hotels
0.9 km away
Porters Boutique Hotel
Porters Boutique Hotel
#2 of 5 in Havelock North
84 reviews
4 km away
Mangapapa Hotel
Mangapapa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Havelock North
259 reviews
0.9 km away
Te Mata Lodge
Te Mata Lodge
#3 of 5 in Havelock North
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
Village Motel
Village Motel
#5 of 5 in Havelock North
67 reviews
0.8 km away
Havelock North Motor Lodge
Havelock North Motor Lodge
#2 of 5 in Havelock North
61 reviews
2.3 km away
St Andrews Escape
St Andrews Escape
#3 of 11 in Havelock North
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cherry Grove Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherry Grove Motel

Address: 87 Napier Road, Havelock North 4130, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Havelock North
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Havelock North
Price Range: $129 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cherry Grove Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a comfortable & quiet family friendly motel close to "the Village" of Havelock North, Hawkes Bay. We are a popular destination to stay whilst you may be attending many of the events or weddings we host in this area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Cherry Grove Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing