We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (282)
Filter reviews
282 results
Traveller rating
254
21
5
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
254
21
5
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews high tea course dinner beautiful grounds new zealand degustation menu hawkes bay dining experience main building beautiful hotel sir james new chef separate lounge area boutique hotel old trees turn down service nice change understated luxury
Filter
Updating list...
149 - 154 of 282 reviews
Reviewed March 6, 2016

We stayed in one of the cottages off to the side of the main house. The rooms were excellent, having just been refurbished. Breakfast was very well done, we all really enjoyed it, and the staff were very friendly and attentive. The grounds are amazing, fun was had on the tennis court, and a very relaxing spa.
Our only disappointment was missing out on dinner. Both nights were fully booked, and there did not seem to be many other options, other than to head out.

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CraigMc73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mangapapa, General Manager at Mangapapa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2016

Dear CraigMC73

I am glad you had a great weekend, I am sorry about the lack of availability at the restaurant due to high demand from other customers, Horse of Year weekend is one of the busiest weekends of the year and with all accommodation bookings we do send out a friendly email 3 days prior to arrival checking accommodation requirements and advising that our restaurant would require a reservation and any dietary requirements in advance.

We look forward to your next visit

Kind regards

David & The team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 5, 2016

This is the best hotel we have stayed in in New Zealand, beautiful grounds with beautiful 100 year old trees, the staff are very helpful, the whole stay was a pleasure. Our degustation dinner was stunning, as was our cottage suite which were the old stables from years ago, there is also a spa and sauna near the pool which we made use of.

Room tip: They are all good
Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Russell D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mangapapa, General Manager at Mangapapa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2016

Dear Russell D

I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and that your degustation dinner was stunning, this means a lot to the staff that we are doing something right.

Kind regards

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 3, 2016

What a great place to stay, the room was very comfortable and the hotel is nice and secluded and quiet.
We dined in the first night, one of the best metals we have had in a very long time. We were the only ones dining in, so we had personalised treatment.
David, the manger, is a very gracious host, as are the rest of the team.
The only gripe we had was the second night the gentlemen running house was perhaps a little out of his depth, but this was just a small blip, the rest of the team couldn't have been better.
Yes, one day we will be back, thanks!

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brooke D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mangapapa, General Manager at Mangapapa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2016

Dear Brooke D

Thank for the kind words and we look forward to looking after you again , i also enjoyed the conversion and looking after you personally, it was fun night.

Regards

David & The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 29, 2016 via mobile

This was a gem of a place, the whole ethos was, welcome this is your place not ours. The staff were all knowledgable friendly and generally outstanding. The rooms were extremely comfortable, our only regret was choosing to dine out on the one night we stayed for. I have stayed in many hotels & I have to say this place is top draw. I will definitely be recommending it to friends & family.

Date of stay: March 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Evannes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mangapapa, General Manager at Mangapapa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2016

Dear Evannes

We are so pleased you understand our ethos "welcome this your place not ours and enjoy it" We look forward to hopefully seeing you in the future and again enjoying your new home away from home.

Kind regards

David & The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 24, 2016

I highly recommend Mangapapa as an afternoon tea destination (you need to book). We spent over two hours leisurely eating our way through the yummy selection of savoury and sweet items. The food didn't just taste good, it was beautifully presented. We particularly liked the balance of savoury to sweet items (probably 75%:25%). In so many places it is the other way around which even I, who loves sweet things, find too much. Also, there is the advantage that you could take the men in your life with confidence that even they might like it!

With the exception of the scones, which we didn't need anyway, the food was as good as you would expect but don't always get, at this level of hotel. We ate in the extremely nice and comfortable, dining room, overlooking the grounds. The service was excellent too.

Date of stay: February 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Peyps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mangapapa, General Manager at Mangapapa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2016

Dear Peyps

We are very proud of our High Teas at Mangapapa and thank you for the kind words about it, it is one of the many culinary delights we have at the hotel and you must come back and try dinner one time.

Kind regards

David & The Amazing Food & Beverage Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews