We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Village Motel(Havelock North)(Great Value!)
US$91
US$88
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harvest Lodge(Havelock North)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Cottages on St. Andrews & Lodge On St Georges(Havelock North)(Great Value!)
US$100
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Porters Boutique Hotel(Havelock North)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$127
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Havelock North Motor Lodge(Havelock North)(Great Value!)
US$96
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cherry Grove Motel(Havelock North)(Great Value!)
US$90
US$75
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
St Andrews Escape(Havelock North)(Great Value!)
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Te Mata Lodge(Havelock North)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$94
US$91
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Craggy Range(Havelock North)
US$305
US$258
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (272)
Filter reviews
272 results
Traveller rating
244
21
5
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
244
21
5
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshigh teacourse dinnernew zealandbeautiful groundsdegustation menuhawkes baydining experiencemain buildingsir jamesnew chefwine listseparate lounge areabeautiful hotelboutique hotelold treesmanager davidnice change
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 272 reviews
Reviewed March 1, 2017

Just off the main highway but tucked away in the country side which made for a relaxing 2 days spent here.
The grounds are lovely and provide an enjoyable environment in which to catch your breath.
Lovely large suite and bathroom not seen in many hotels today.
Staff very friendly and helpful.
Will return.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Willie0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mangapapa, General Manager at Mangapapa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2017

Hi Willie0

Thank is probably the best thing you can stay to us is that you will return in the future.

We look forward to your next visit and we hope we can make that stay an even more enjoyable stay for you.

Kind regards

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 1, 2017 via mobile

We had a lovely room and enjoyed the terrific breakfasts in the sun room. The staff was friendly and helpful. It is a great location - close to Hastings and North Havelock - and it has lovely grounds. The weather didn't cooperate so we never sat by the pool. Only downside: Pricey.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank mcl1709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mangapapa, General Manager at Mangapapa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2017

Dear MCL1709

Thank you for the feedback and I will pass your feedback onto the owners.

Kind regards

David & The team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 16, 2017

We recently stayed at Mangapapa and loved it. Our well appointed suite had lovely period furniture and great views. The grounds include huge trees, nice gardens, well manicured lawns and a large pool. An added bonus is the restaurant which serves excellent cuisine overlooking the beautiful property. You cannot miss with this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLauer8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mangapapa, General Manager at Mangapapa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2017

Dear JLauer8

Thank you for the great review and we are pleased that you had a great stay.

We look forward to hopefully seeing you in the future.

Kind regards

David & The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 6, 2017

We loved our two night stay at Mangapapa. We had a beautiful room overlooking the grounds with a lovely comfy bed. We had an excellent meat/cheese board with wine pairing downstairs and enjoyed chatting with the friendly staff. Breakfast in the mornings was a treat. The food was excellent and the coffee, divine! The staff helped provide recommendations for all of our needs: dining, wineries, taxi transport. A short drive to town, a little further for golf/wineries but not far. We enjoyed walking around the grounds of Mangapapa and seeing the sheep. :) And Netflix in the room was also a bonus for a night in! A lovely stay with excellent service for a great price.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Cayla D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mangapapa, General Manager at Mangapapa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2017

Dear Cayla

Thank you for the positive review and it looks like we "ticked" all the boxes for a great stay. We look forward to you returning in the future and having a another amazing stay.

Kind regards

David & The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 4, 2017

We were there in February 2016 with my parents and daughter to get away from Auckland.... and what a perfect place to stay to relax and be looked after. The staff, property, food, rooms, well everything was fantastic. Will definitely be visiting again.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheRookery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mangapapa, General Manager at Mangapapa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2017

Dear TheRookery

Thank you for the kind words and we look forward to your next visit in the future .

Kind regards

David & The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews