We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Havelock North Motor Lodge(Havelock North)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$97
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Village Motel(Havelock North)(Great Value!)
US$91
US$89
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harvest Lodge(Havelock North)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Cottages on St. Andrews & Lodge On St Georges(Havelock North)(Great Value!)
US$101
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Porters Boutique Hotel(Havelock North)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$127
US$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cherry Grove Motel(Havelock North)(Great Value!)
US$90
US$76
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
St Andrews Escape(Havelock North)(Great Value!)
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Te Mata Lodge(Havelock North)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$94
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Craggy Range(Havelock North)
US$305
US$260
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (271)
Filter reviews
272 results
Traveller rating
244
21
5
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
244
21
5
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshigh teacourse dinnernew zealandbeautiful groundsdegustation menuhawkes baydining experiencemain buildingsir jamesnew chefwine listseparate lounge areabeautiful hotelboutique hotelold treesmanager davidnice change
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 272 reviews
Reviewed March 13, 2017

We stayed and the Mangapapa Hotel while playing golf at Cape Kidnappers and visiting the Art Deco town of Napier. Wonderful rooms surrounded by grazing sheep and apple trees. The restaurant's five course meal was spectacular. Nearby vineyards are also and enjoyable visit. We wished we stayed longer.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mangapapa, General Manager at Mangapapa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2017

Dear Jerry W

We pride ourselves on our restaurant & food and we value your positive comments and hopefully next time when you return to Hawkesbay you can stay longer at Mangapapa Hotel .

Until next time

Kind regards

David & The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 5, 2017

We stayed at Mangapapa as guests for a wedding that was held in their grounds.
Everything was sensational, the attention to detail was just perfect, their service was sublime, the food exquisite and the accommodation absolutely five star.
They have a pool, spa, tennis court, bikes this was just the perfect stay.
If you are planning look no further.

Room Tip: They are all sensational
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mangapapa, General Manager at Mangapapa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2017

Dear Bill D

Thank you for the kind words and yes it was a special event for all and we very much enjoyed catering for the wedding and you are right about the property being absolutely five star.

We look forward to seeing you again

Kind regards


David & The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 2, 2017

Very nice,quiet accomodation,spacious rooms. The two five course dinner we had,
Fantastic cooking and very good friendly service too.great local wine cellar. We would
Come back any time to this lodge.

Room Tip: We had the owners suite(mangapapa) lors of space
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hanspeterhuber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mangapapa, General Manager at Mangapapa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2017

Hi Hanspeterbuber

Thank you for the kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

David & The team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 1, 2017

Just off the main highway but tucked away in the country side which made for a relaxing 2 days spent here.
The grounds are lovely and provide an enjoyable environment in which to catch your breath.
Lovely large suite and bathroom not seen in many hotels today.
Staff very friendly and helpful.
Will return.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Willie0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mangapapa, General Manager at Mangapapa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2017

Hi Willie0

Thank is probably the best thing you can stay to us is that you will return in the future.

We look forward to your next visit and we hope we can make that stay an even more enjoyable stay for you.

Kind regards

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 1, 2017 via mobile

We had a lovely room and enjoyed the terrific breakfasts in the sun room. The staff was friendly and helpful. It is a great location - close to Hastings and North Havelock - and it has lovely grounds. The weather didn't cooperate so we never sat by the pool. Only downside: Pricey.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank mcl1709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mangapapa, General Manager at Mangapapa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2017

Dear MCL1709

Thank you for the feedback and I will pass your feedback onto the owners.

Kind regards

David & The team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews