We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5-Star”
Review of Mangapapa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mangapapa Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Havelock North
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2017

My husband and I recently stayed at Mangapapa Hotel for two nights. The accommodations and staff were fabulous. We were greeted with a 5 course meal that was extraordinarily and thoughtfully prepared. Norka, Amanda and Krishna were very attentive without being intrusive. The manager listened to our "wish list" for tours and carefully prepared personal tours for us for both days. If you want a quiet atmosphere surrounded by New Zealand beauty, this is the place for you. Memorable stay. Highly recommend it!!,
Ida & Paul Roldan

Room Tip: We had the suite on second floor This is an older, historic building. Plenty of room and beautifull...
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iroldan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mangapapa, Guest Relations Manager at Mangapapa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2017

Dear Ida & Paul, Thank you so much for the very special review. It is wonderful to see the team have looked after you so well and you enjoyed your stay at Mangapapa. I will pass on your kind words. Yes we really are set in a stunning location, which we are glad you got to enjoy on the bikes! Even the Hawke's Bay, Winter days have some beautiful blue skies and warm sun. We will look forward to seeing you again sometime in the future.
Thank you - The Mangapapa Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (246)
There are newer reviews for Mangapapa Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 246 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2017

We took the opportunity for a indulgent weekend away to Mangapapa Hotel and booked the High Tea, Degustation Dinner and breakfast. High Tea was fabulous the food was exquisite with lovely dainty sandwiches, sweets and lovely glass of sparkling wine. Hotel room was clean and spacious with nice touches of purge coffee available. Netflix availability was also nice change. Went off to dinner with high expectation. Dinner was just nice. The staff service was good and quietly attentive without being overbearing. We had experienced Degustation Dinners in the past at Mangapapa and we were both extremely disappointed with a couple of dishes. You can not call them unpleasant however not up to the standard of expectation especially for $120 per person for dinner. The Venison was extremely smoky along with the carrots which actually left a bitter after taste. The Venison cooking was inconsistent with different size portions with medium and medium rare served. My husband's smoked carrot couldn't even be cut with a knife. Dessert looked very "Master Chef" taste of Carrots once again the carrots did not win us over. Breakfast definitely made up for the dinner wonderful buttery Danishes. We would definitely return for the accommodation and High Tea but would look at alternatives for the dinner in the future.

Room Tip: The Lady Wattie rooms which are not in the main part of the hotel were lovely and quite
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Sharonsos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mangapapa, Guest Relations Manager at Mangapapa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2017

Dear Sharonsos,

Thank you for the kind words, we really appreciate you taking the time to give your feedback. We have passed this onto to our team for further consideration. It is great to see you enjoyed your stay with us and so pleased you chose the hotel for your 'indulgent weekend away'. We appreciate your repeat visits with us.

Kind regards
The Mangapapa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2017

We were driving toward Auckland from Wellington and had a problem with another reservation and got the last 2 rooms at this 12 room hotel. This hotel sits on 12 acres and the vegetables are grown on site. The rooms and amenities are superb and everything is well maintained. The general manager, David Thompson was an amazing host and even had a drink with us as my friend played the piano! This hotel is one of the finest I have ever stayed in and I actively travel for pleasure and business. I highly recommend the Mangapapa and will return here on our next trip to New Zealand!!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mangapapa, Guest Relations Manager at Mangapapa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2017

Dear John,

Your recommendation is very much appreciated, 'one of the finest I have ever stayed in' is a pretty great accolade so thank you for those wonderful words. Great to hear you were well looked after by the team and enjoyed a tinker on our bar piano. Always a great evening at the hotel when we find a musician amongst us.
Until next time, a huge thank you from the team.

Kind regards,
The Mangapapa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2017 via mobile

Beautiful grounds, nice pool and spa, well stocked bar, great food. Room was quite nice and completely modern. Stayed in a junior suite. Located in an agricultural part of the region, very bucolic, nice place to stay.

Stayed: May 2017
1  Thank TylerCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mangapapa, Guest Relations Manager at Mangapapa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2017

Dear Tyler,

Thank you for your lovely review. Yes our bar is pretty extensive once you consider our huge range of wine in the cellar also. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay.
See you again next time.

Kind regards,
The Mangapapa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2017

It has been 11 years since I last stayed at this magnificent Hotel.
My recent return visit far exceeded my expectations in every conceivable regard.
On arrival we were professionally greeted and made to feel very welcome. As we were being escorted to our Room, the services, facilities and features of the Hotel were explained.To our delight we were given a complimentary upgrade to the SEEFELD Suite which is on the upper floor of the Homestead. This room was open and spacious with both a lounge area, bedroom and huge bathroom with a Spa Bath and separate Shower. The Room was serviced daily by a very dedicated and professional housekeeping Team and the nightly "turn down" service was appreciated.
Breakfast both Buffet and Cooked was available in the Conservatory each morning and served by a delightful young lady.
Likewise Dinner in the evening was exquisite, offering a Chef's Choice Menu which was substantially varied each evening. How long is it since you dined and the Chef came to the Table to enquire how you were enjoying the meal and the menu?
Everything about this Hotel is 5Star plus and we sincerely look forward to returning, hopefully in the very near future.
Our Thanks go to every member of the Team for making this an extremely relaxing and very memorable stay.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Christopher172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mangapapa, Guest Relations Manager at Mangapapa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2017

Dear Christopher,

Wow, we are blown away by your wonderful words. Seefeld is definitely a beautiful suite and we are pleased you enjoyed the upgrade. It's fantastic to see you enjoyed the full Mangapapa experience, food, service and great hospitality.

Please don't stay away so long next time :)

Kind regards,
The Mangapapa Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2017

Beautiful autumn colours in the gardens provided a spectacular backdrop for an exquisite Mothers Day High Tea. Bubbles, your choice of tea in its own teapot, and 3 tiers of the most delicious savouries and sweets. Mums were also given giftwrapped chocolates. What a lovely treat.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Lynda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mangapapa, Guest Relations Manager at Mangapapa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2017

Dear Lynda,

What a fantastic way to describe Mangapapa, our trees are very beautiful at the moment with all their golden leaves. That is the beauty of Mangapapa, watching the gardens change throughout the seasons plus the fantastic food! Great to see you enjoyed our handmade chocolates for Mother's Day, we love to spoil our guests where we can.

Kind regards,
The Mangapapa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2017 via mobile

Best ever high tea, great selection of food tasted and looked fantastic.
The citrus cheese cake was so soft and light a pleasure to eat.
Service was exceptional
Beautiful place
Well worth a visit I will definitely be returning

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank sallyanne03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mangapapa, Guest Relations Manager at Mangapapa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2017

Dear Sally,

Thank you for your review of our delicious high teas. It sounds like you experienced our Mother's Day menu with the mention of the citrus cheese cake, this was a huge hit! It was a very busy weekend for the team but very rewarding when we get great feedback like yours.
Thank you and we look forward to your return.

Kind regards
The Mangapapa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Havelock North
4.8 km away
Porters Boutique Hotel
Porters Boutique Hotel
#2 of 5 in Havelock North
57 reviews
15.9 km away
The County Hotel Napier
16.7 km away
The Crown Hotel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 km away
Greenhill Lodge
Greenhill Lodge
#4 of 18 in Hastings
57 reviews
24.0 km away
The Manse
The Manse
#1 of 18 in Hastings
80 reviews
15.7 km away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 47 in Napier
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mangapapa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mangapapa Hotel

Address: 466 Napier Road, Havelock North 4157, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Havelock North
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Havelock North
Price Range: $266 - $538 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mangapapa Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury, seclusion, elegance and romance - four words which describe this stunning boutique hotel. Surrounded by landscaped gardens and orchards, Mangapapa Hotel offers the finest luxury accommodation in its magnificent suites. Together with the renowned restaurant, spa retreat, and facilities such as the pool and lawn tennis court, Mangapapa delivers Hawke's Bay's ultimate luxury experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mangapapa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing