We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely fantastic cottage in superb location...”
other travellers have booked this property
Wondrous views from Castlemoor Holiday Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Wondrous views from Castlemoor Holiday Cottage
Just imagine waking up to this view Kitchen / diner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Wondrous views from Castlemoor Holiday Cottage
Just imagine waking up to this view
Kitchen / diner
A Well equipped kitchen
Views from Castlemoor Self catering Cottage
Views from Castlemoor Self catering Cottage
highdrummorecottages
Views from Castlemoor Self catering Cottage
Views from Castlemoor Self catering Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Drummore, Mull of Galloway, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
bernardda...
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely fantastic cottage in superb location with beautiful views!”
Reviewed June 5, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Arrived to a lovely welcome pack, unexpected but such a nice thought!
Elizabeth, the owner, even popped by personally, after giving us time to settle in, to ensure all was to our expectations!
We had a lovely week in a very clean, well equipped and tastefully appointed cottage, and spent most of our time relaxing in the lovely sunroom enjoying the most spectacular views.
The surrounding area is beautiful and a walk down the idyllic little glen nearby on a Sunday evening was one of those 'magic moments to be treasured!
Only regret was having to leave, but hope to be back soon!
Many thanks, Elizabeth, for a lovely and relaxing holiday experience!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jun 2016
Thank you for writing a lovely review about your stay at Castlemoor Cottage .We are pleased you enjoyed your holiday.We Hope to have the pleasure on seeing you both again.Thanks again Alan & Elizabeth
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davinia O
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect Cottage and location!”
Reviewed March 12, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

I and my hubby have just returned today from a week at Castlemoor cottage, and have already booked another holiday there!
The cottage itself is lovely! Nicely decorated and well equipped for a self catering holiday. The bed was very comfortable too, and we both slept well throughout our stay.
The views from the sunroom/garden room are stunning! And on one morning I got up super early to watch the sunrise from the sunroom, as the colours on the horizon were
beautiful!
We were fortune enough to have great weather all week, so the view to the lighthouse at Mull of Galloway was really clear, and we could see beyond it to the Isle of Man clearly.
The owner, Liz, is a really lovely lady! Very helpful, but not intrusive at all!
On arrival, we found a tea tray laid out ready for us, and fresh milk in the fridge, as well as a bottle of Prosecco in an ice bucket, with two glasses!
Overall, we have had our most enjoyable cottage holiday together here at Castlemoor, and we can't wait to return later this year.
Thanks so much to the owners, Liz and Alan.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jun 2016
Thank you for writing a lovely review about your stay at Castlemoor Cottage .We are pleased you enjoyed your holiday. Thank you for returning to the cottage a 2nd time and hopefully you will come back another time. Thanks again Alan & Elizabeth
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suzywong1
leyland
1 review
“Just Perfect”
Reviewed December 28, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

From our arrival at the cottage with a bottle on bubbly on ice to our departure we could not not fault this property. It is furnished beautifully and is spotlessly clean. There is a good supply of kitchen utensils, crockery etc. The gardens are secure, so perfect for dogs and young children. The garden room is perfect for admiring the views. We even had entertainment with the cows who were fascinated by us. ! We enjoyed trips to the lighthouse and RSPB at the Mull of Galloway on a few occasions and a must is to visit the cafe. Although the weather wasn't not great, it did not stop us visiting the small beaches and coves ( with wellies of course) , always quite and peaceful.
we will definitely return again and having no hesitation in recommendation a stay here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim J
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“The photos don't do it justice! Perfect!”
Reviewed October 27, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

I have recently returned from staying here for five nights with my husband, mother in law and dog. We had a fantastic time, from the arrival of the perfect touch of the welcome hamper including biscuits and wine. The cottage itself is in a beautiful position, you can see the sea and the lighthouse in the distance. Very well decorated, high quality furniture, enclosed garden which is perfect if you have small children or dogs with you. The weather was lovely when we were there, with palm trees lining the streets. We would return and recommend to others.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
presleys
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Stunning views”
Reviewed August 13, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Absolutely beautiful cottage with everything you would need, a home from home with stunning views towards the Mull of Galloway and the Isle of Man. My wife & I and our two young boys had a great time here. Plenty of nice walks around the house, and also a great base to travel around the area, with plenty to see and do. We would thoroughly recommend Castlemoor to anyone. The McDonald family

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet and the scenery.
Liked least: The week flew in
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacki B
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Stunning Location - Beautiful Cottage”
Reviewed June 23, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Castlemoor is everything you want for a holiday cottage. It was pristine - so clean and well cared for. The location was stunning - on the road to the Mull of Galloway Lighthouse, with beautiful sea views. We were met by the owner, Elizabeth, who had left us wine chilling, tea and biscuits and lovely touches such as fresh flowers. She even dropped by later in the week to make sure everything was OK. The garden was very pretty, with flowers and a patio area and was also very secure for our two dogs. There were walks with amazing views, straight from the door. Castlemoor is ideally located to visit beaches, gardens and the interesting fishing villages in the area. It is definitely a cottage we would love to return to sometime in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, and well cared for, clean accommodation
Liked least: Going home
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
POMPEYBAZ
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Christmas at Castlemoor”
Reviewed December 29, 2014 for a stay in December 2014
5
people found this review helpful

A beautiful holiday cottage with outstanding views, a real pleasure to look out across the fields and see the Isle of Man and lighthouses on both side of the water. The cottage has been very tastefully decorated and makes an excellent base to explore the Mull of Galloway. The description says luxury, and the cottage certainly surpassed our expectations. The owner Elizabeth made sure we felt welcome and added some unexpected additions such as flowers, a bottle of wine on chill, milk in the fridge and a treat for our girls which was very welcome after a long drive. We had a fantastic Christmas hidden away from the crowds and would definitely recommend this cottage.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing