We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Auld Schoolhouse

Sandhead Beach 7 miles of sand on your doorstep!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sandhead Beach 7 miles of sand on your doorstep!
Lounge with open fire lounge with open fire
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Sandhead Beach 7 miles of sand on your doorstep!
Lounge with open fire
lounge with open fire
Dining Room
Kitchen with Breakfast table
Double bedroom with sea view and king sized bed
Double bedroom with sea view and additional single bed
Twin bedroom
Family Bathroom
Utility room with shower beyond
Upstairs shower room
View of Auld Schoolhouse from Beach
Auld Schoolhouse
View from Bedroom window - palm trees - then unlimited Beach
Enclosed secluded garden on beach at Auld Schoolhouse
Auld Schoolhouse secluded garden on the beach!
Fun in the Sun - at Sandhead
Sandhead  Summer on the beach
Port Logan
Maiden Head Bay on Southern Upland Way 10 minutes walk from Portpatrick
Lady Bay near Kirkcolm with Irish ferry in distance
Logan Botanic Gardens
Logan Botanical Gardens
Portpatrick
Ardwell Bay
Killantringan Bay near Portpatrick
Coastal path (Stanraer to Mull of Galloway) Near Ardwell
Castle Kennedy Gardens
Mull of Galloway Lighthouse
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Sandhead, Mull of Galloway, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
magicalho...
West Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed 30 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

what a lovely place. This is a big house which is very well kept and very well equipped, we loved it. We took our small dog who loved the beach outside which is a wonderful view from the front of the house. It was a very comfortable house and the beds were comfortable and decor very good. We rattled around a little with there just being the 2 of us but it was really lovely, I would recommend this to anyone and would go back. We visited the areas around and had some brilliant visits of gardens, towns and bays. Whithorne was one of my favourites along with Portpatrick.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuboy286
Leeds
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a view and what a location.”
Reviewed 11 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We have visited Sandhead many times in the past on trips to the Portpatrick area and this was the first time we have stayed there but won't be the last. House very comfortable and well equipped, although missed having wifi. Being able to walk straight onto the beach was brilliant and absolute heaven for Theo, our Labrador. Other great places to visit locally are Castle Kennedy, Port Logan and Portpatrick. Harbour Hotel in Portpatrick does nice meals and is dog friendly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quiet and the location.
Liked least: Shed in back garden.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1alice40
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We love it so much, we never want to leave!”
Reviewed 4 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

This is a fantastic holiday home, it is well equipped and very comfortable. The enormous, empty, sandy beach is across the road and we love long walks, football and kite flying on the sand. The tea room next door is a lovely place to have a treat. Elspeth, the owner is really helpful. It is a fantastic place for families.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland
Reviewed 30 April 2013 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$147
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing