We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect place”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Tystie Cottage

Tystie Cottage, 100 yards from the beach
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Tystie Cottage, 100 yards from the beach
Tystie - Shetland name for the black guillemot Living room with electric log burner, Freeview TV, iPod dock, DVD player
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Tystie Cottage, 100 yards from the beach
Tystie - Shetland name for the black guillemot
Living room with electric log burner, Freeview TV, iPod dock, DVD player
Double bedroom
Twin bedroom
Bathroom
Dining kitchen
Private secure garden
Private secure garden
Seated area & bike store
Private secure garden
Sandhead beach
Sandhead beach, great for walking dogs
Nearby Port Logan, famous for its sunsets
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Sandhead, Mull of Galloway, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
krisnandy...
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect place”
Reviewed April 5, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Me and my partner wanted a peaceful weekend and that's what we got. The cottage was perfect 20m from the the long sandy beach and with a great enclosed garden for our two little pugs. Tystie cottage has everything you could need in a getaway property, the bed is super comfortable we will definitely be arranging another trip. If you are looking for a quiet weekend away but with everything you could need within walking distance (shop, restaurant, tea room and beach) this is defo a must.
My only criticism is that the shower/bath ran hot then cold constantly, fix that little problem and I couldn't fault the place.
Thanks again for our stay Kris, Andy and the pugs :-)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona R
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely seaside retreat”
Reviewed February 17, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed in Tystie for Valentine's weekend and it was perfect. The cottage is well equipped and a short walk to a lovely beach. Would absolutely book it again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
djonesmeg
Wakefield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent location, pet friendly cottage”
Reviewed August 3, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
4
people found this review helpful

The cottage was well equipped, modern and comfortable, with a lovely enclosed garden which was safe for our dogs. There is a vast expanse of sandy beach just over the road and there is a well stocked convenience store, a nice cafe and a pub in the village. It is in an ideal location for visiting the area with many places of interest nearby. Would recommend.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
missleef3...
Dumfries and Galloway, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fabulous location”
Reviewed July 22, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We booked this at the last minute and Johnathon was very accommodating. Such a great host, nothing was too much trouble for him. We had a brilliant weekend with our grandchildren. The cottage is in a fabulous location, right next to the beach with a shop, pub/restaurant and play park all within a minutes walk. The garden is such a delight, beautifully laid out with lots of flowers and trees. The cottage itself is tastefully decorated and has everything a home needs plus more! My only gripe is the mobile signal is awful and my grandchildren were disappointed there was no wi-fi. Overall we had a fantastic stay and would recommend to friends and family

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the garden was beautiful
Liked least: no soft closing toilet and no cleaning cloths were provided although there was a sponge.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Aug 2014
Many thanks for the review - glad to be of assistance to you and your family and that you all had a good time. Mobile signals are poor in the area so we are now looking at installing wifi in the cottage for our guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew N
Midhurst, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“WHAT A GEM !”
Reviewed June 28, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This FANTASTIC cottage and it's friendly owners Jonathan and Jane, rescued our holiday after we found ourselves staying in a truly awful place. We cannot thank them enough for providing such a beautiful cottage to stay in.
Clearly a lot of hard work has gone into presenting a clean, comfortable place to base yourself in a lovely part of the world.
GREAT location.
Thankyou Thankyou Thankyou....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everthing!!!!!
Liked least: Didn't find it sooner.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jul 2014
Thank you very much for the positive review - it was very kind of you. We were delighted to be able to help you out & are pleased to have played a part in saving your holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing