We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home away from home”

Review of Four Coysh Square

living area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
living area
twin bedroom main living area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
living area
twin bedroom
main living area
sunset on the Exe river at Topsham
'cosy night by the fire'
main bedroom
single bedroom
bathroom 'no diving in the shallow end'!
'duck don't grouse'
I am sailing
'piggy back'
'don't look at the lights!'
'The Lighter Inn' on the quay - 'mine's a pint'
'squeak piggy squeak'
another long walk
Devon coastline
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Topsham, Exeter, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sharontlg
Bendigo
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed June 13, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Adina greeted us with fresh scones, jam and cream and a welcoming personality. She took us through her lovely cottage in this quaint English village, explaining how everything worked.
We loved staying here and our only regret was having to leave!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne L
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful cottage in a lovely location.”
Reviewed May 27, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We stayed here while exhibiting at the Devon Show. Adina was extremely welcoming and the cottage was comfortable and well equipped. Topsham is a lovely place with interesting shops and great eateries. We would definitely stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Access to property as we have a large car and the entrance is narrow.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew L
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Top marks for Topsham and cottage”
Reviewed March 2, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

We stayed at this cottage whilst visiting our daughter at Exeter University; the village and cottage were perfect. Topsham is a quiet village with a varied selection of shops, pubs and restaurants, just a short drive from the city. The cottage was presented to a very high standard, very well equipped and spotlessly clean. The owner was very welcoming and takes an obvious pride in the property. Our stay was relaxing and pleasant, I would highly recommend this cottage as a place to stay near Exeter.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hippoScot...
Scottish Borders
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Cosy comfortable cottage with such a warm welcome”
Reviewed February 10, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Met by Adina to show us around. Cream tea and a bottle of wine to welcome us which we thoroughly enjoyed. Very cosy and warm. Great comfortable settees and beds. Bedding beautiful and loads of storage space in bedrooms. Very large laundry room which was handy. Large bathroom with separate shower and bath. All nicely decorated and dressed.
Be aware that the shared drive is narrow and it us best to reverse in. You get used to it, I did. Get someone to guide you in the first time.
Beautiful town with plenty of shops, pubs and coffee shops. Wine shop about 50 yards away, and a The Nelson another 50 yds on. Take a walk to the quay to a The Lighter Inn too, very nice.
Thanks for a lovely stay. It was great to visit our daughter who is at Exeter Uni and spend the weekend relaxing together.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Us5Hobart
Hobart
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Promising but disappointing at the end”
Reviewed January 15, 2014 for a stay in September 2013

Customer service was disappointing and beds not comfortable. It took ages (weeks) for email queries to be responded to and requests for invoices and receipts had to be repeatedly prompted. This should have been an early warning sign as we ended up with an unpleasant and unnecessary fight over the return of our security deposit after we were wrongfully blamed for a a damaged mattress (no evidence of this was provided to us and it was only mentioned more than a week after we had vacated). All the beds were uncomfortable and the double bed's cross bar beam was broken and propped up by a piece of wood (so a bit precarious) . Suggest single bed mattresses are suitable for younger children but not for older ones or adults for any length of time. The cottage did have a good amount of storage and robe hanging and generally everything was clean, although the shower tray regularly became blocked and the shower pressure was not good. The kitchen had all the basics but only limited cutlery. A positive was the fully equipped separate laundry room - excellent for families during a longer stay, the wi-fi, and location which - near the heart of Topsham and excellent bus and train transport, local parks and riverfront walks. There are other better quality alternatives though so wouldn't recommend this based on our overall experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, off the street, full laundry facilities
Liked least: Uncomfortable beds, blocked shower tray, lightweight curtains, poor customer service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Reviewed April 10, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Parking is difficult as the space in is narrow
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Limesemma
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage, fantastic location, well stocked!”
Reviewed March 7, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Me, my partner and my sister stayed here for a few days recently, Adina was really helpful from booking to meeting us with the keys and showing us around. The cottage was great, plenty space and everything you could need, it was the best equiped SC cottage I have sayed in in terms of kitchen equipment and other items around the house you often are expected to provide.

the village was a great location for Exter and getting around Devon, the shops in the village had everything you would want and the numerous cosy country pubs were close by, however I would reccomend going in to Topsham Wines on the corner for some fantastic ciders, ales, wine and more!!

Really enjoyed being so close to the water, La Ronde 3 miles away was really interesting and couldnt fault anything about the cottage, i could live there!

great stay, will def be reccommending!

Thanks
Emma

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing