We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“well located and spacious cottage”

Review of Four Coysh Square

living area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
living area
twin bedroom main living area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
30 reviews
living area
twin bedroom
main living area
sunset on the Exe river at Topsham
'cosy night by the fire'
main bedroom
single bedroom
bathroom 'no diving in the shallow end'!
'duck don't grouse'
I am sailing
'piggy back'
'don't look at the lights!'
'The Lighter Inn' on the quay - 'mine's a pint'
'squeak piggy squeak'
another long walk
Devon coastline
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Topsham, Exeter, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Marmitefi...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“well located and spacious cottage”
Reviewed April 11, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage is just as advertised. There is plenty of space, with three nice bedrooms upstairs (with plenty of clothes storage space), and the open plan arrangement downstairs works well. The location is brilliant as it is just a stone's throw from the shops in Topsham but in a very quiet spot indeed. It is very handy for the Passage House Inn, which does excellent food and has a very fine quiz night on Tuesdays at 8pm. I'd recommend hiring bikes from Route 2 - there is largely off-road cycling all the way to Exmouth and it is a very pleasant ride. It is also possible to take bikes on the Topsham Ferry (just across the road from the Passage House Inn) and then cycle down towards Powderham Castle, also mostly off road. If you are keen on birding then daily walks down to the hide at the Bowling Green Marsh are a must, and there is usually lots to see. I'd also highly recommend the fish and chips at Dart's Farm - you can get the fish battered or grilled, and the chips are heavenly! Adina is a very helpful host, and I would definitely love to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouiseHel...
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
“a lovely place to stay”
Reviewed April 7, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Four Coysh Square is a very nice place to stay - clean, well kept and comfortable. The owner was very helpful in advance of our stay (sending directions, answering queries etc) and she even forewarned us about the tight parking space for the cottage.

One thing though, it is worth noting that the downstairs of the property has a stone tiled floor and the upstairs is largely a laminate wood floor. We were warm enough there in March/April, but in winter it is definitely worth bringing thick socks or some slippers as the floor downstairs is cold!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location - Topsham is a lovely place to be and we were fairly central.
Liked least: The cold stone floor downstairs!
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark b
ashford
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Ideally situated”
Reviewed September 28, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We based ourselves here for one week. Topsham is a great place and we were well based for cycling and visiting all around us. We enjoyed our stay and the home was peaceful and comfortable. It made for really good value. It's best to reverse into the drive as there is no turning circle but once your in and have done it a few times you get used to it. It's accurate in it's description so if your looking for a base here I'm sure you won't be disappointed. You can walk to the shops or one of the many pubs. The train station is close enough also.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, nicely situated.
Liked least: Drvieway
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Voyage803...
Newport, Wales
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed June 18, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Plenty of room, well thought out layout. Very comfortable beds and sofas - we're older and became quite expert in heaving ourselves out of the latter! Everything you could want in the kitchen, although we didn't make much use of those facilities because there are many excellent pubs and restaurants in Topsham. However there is a handy corner shop within yards of the cottage and an excellent small Co-op supermarket a few steps further on. We did wonder about the Nelson being so close to the cottage, but there was no noise at all. The welcome tea and scones were a nice touch, as was the bottle of wine. Would recommend whole heartedly!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet location in town centre
Liked least: Had to leave it
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BPB_11
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Ideal Cosy Cottage”
Reviewed June 5, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Sorry. Bit late with this review.
Beautiful little cottage but surprisingly spacious.
Has outhouse where washing machine, etc, is housed.
Nice, witty lady who owns it has her office about 50 yards away.
If you don't like Topsham then there is no hope for you: loads of pubs; loads of restaurants; beautiful views.
Bit tight on getting car in, but at least it has a place to park.
Top place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Remote but right in centre of town, if that doesn't sound daft.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lulucrome...
cromer
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely fabulous”
Reviewed April 29, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We booked the cottage to see family who live in Exeter so it was nice and close to visit them. When we arrived we could not have had a better welcome. Adina met us to hand over the keys and to show us around. What a bubbly happy lady, she made us so welcome, she had left us a cream tea and a bottle of wine which was a lovely surprise. The cottage was spacious and beautifully decorated. It was well stock for a catering holiday if you didn't what to eat out. The beds were all comfortable with plenty of space to hang clothes. It is a cottage I would definitely book again when we go to Devon as I could not fault it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie S
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“No better place to stay”
Reviewed August 1, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

My 3 sisters and myself, all middle aged Aussies spent a week in this accommodation. The cottage was all it promised, clean and comfortable. The owner is a fantastic person and goes out of her way to be helpful and answered all our queries. The village is a lovely place and the people friendly. Even though it was very cold we were able to take walks by the river and around the area. We had a couple of meals in the Passage Inn and would recommend it to anyone and the staff extremely pleasant and helpful. The cottage is close to both buses and trains. We were all very impressed with everything.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing