We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (913)
Filter reviews
913 results
Traveller rating
275
347
188
56
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
275
347
188
56
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tennis courts boat club great location hervey bay games room whale watching fraser island lock up garage ground floor unit great facilities air conditioned amazing views a great place to stay boat harbour family holiday easy walk night stay
Filter
Updating list...
122 - 127 of 913 reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2018

the ground floor unit with a grassy front yard was pleasant in that you could exit the unit without utalising stairs. although the weather was not the best the unit offered protection from the elements. with the poor conditions the boating faternity was not very active but was still interesting to observe

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerHB2, Front Office Supervisor at BreakFree Great Sandy Straits, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

Dear Robert C

Thank you so much for your lovely review of your recent stay at BreakFree Great Sandy Straits Resort. Our ground floor rooms are extremely popular with our holidaying families and it's wonderful having the beach or the marina straight out the front of the unit.
Sadly, we can't order the weather to suit - maybe next time!
We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort any time.

Best regards
Sue McLennan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2018

We booked a room for three nights but we left the day after . We lost two nights cause was not the pictures showed. The room was pretty old and bedroom was tiny with a terrible smell of mould, the sheets on the bed were like wet because the humidity. In the play room there were a terrible smell too and was not really kept same for the sauna .

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank omazza435708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerHB2, Front Office Supervisor at BreakFree Great Sandy Straits, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

Dear omazza435708

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay.
It is unfortunate that during your stay - you raised none of the issues you allude to in your review.
All that we had noted on your reservation was that you decided to depart early due to unfavorable weather and the unavailability of the Fraser Island tour (due to rainy weather).

Always, when we receive feedback such as yours, from a guest - we would welcome the opportunity to address the problem and offer you an alternate room, or solution if at all available. So sadly, not learning of your concerns until after your departure - we were unable to satisfy your needs; and for that you have my apologies. We always strive for excellent standards and service, and it's disappointing to read that your stay was less than ideal on this occasion.

Should you wish to return to our resort at any time - I invite you to contact us directly on gss.res@breakfree.com.au where we will be able to personally handle your booking and be sure that the allocated room will meet your needs.

Again, many thanks for taking the time to review your stay.
Best regards
S McLennan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2018

It was a very unhealthy environment due to overwhelming smell of mould present and the unit was very unclean when we arrived. We could not use the upstairs as it was a health risk due to the mould and the entire apartment was not clean making it a very uncomfortable stay.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank kellybrand2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerHB2, Front Office Supervisor at BreakFree Great Sandy Straits, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

Dear kellybrand2018

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay.

I was sorry to hear that you felt that the apartment was not to standard. Unfortunately - the only time you have alerted us to any issue according to our duty log, is on check out. Had we known prior that you were experiencing any issues, we could have organized an alternate room for your stay.

Again, my apologies if this room did not meet your expectations. We hope to welcome you back to the resort.
If you would like to contact us directly when making a booking next time we can be sure to allocate a room more in keeping with your needs. You can contact us anytime on gss.res@breakfree.com.au

Best regards
S McLennan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 27, 2018

Great location, facilities, security and amenities. Walking distance to good restaurants and cafes. Good value for money. Lovely views across the water. Friendly service. Downside was cleanliness (we found previous occupants' toenail clippings on the lounge floor which obviously hadn't been vacuumed) and early morning noise.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank StevenD2721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 20, 2018

Terrible bed was very hard . The sofa no support . The rooms were clean and tidy . Beautiful pool area and good views of the beach. location was good and close to facilities. Staff were pleasant and helpful

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank DayTrip737694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerHerveyBay, Front Office Supervisor at BreakFree Great Sandy Straits, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our resort.
I'm pleased that you enjoyed the resort facilities and location.
Thank you too, for the feedback about the furnishings - particularly about the sofa and bed - we are currently undergoing a program of renewal with our unit owners to improve the room facilities, and feedback such as yours is invaluable in opening a dialogue with our unit owners. I have passed on your positive praise regarding the cleanliness to our Housekeeping team.
Again, many thanks for taking the time to offer us this feedback.

Best regards
S McLennan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews