We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value for money in Hervey!”
Review of Shelly Beach Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Shelly Beach Motel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Urangan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 September 2017

Australia is a pretty expensive country to travel in and when you are trying to spend your money on whale watching or seeing the Great Barrier Reef things add up quickly! Shelly's beach motel was a life safer. It is run by two sisters who know the area and the people who run the activities around Hervey Bay. From the second I walked into their office I was steered in the right direction for choosing an excellent whale watching tour. I had just come from Elliot Island and had left something on the island and one of the sisters ran to the airport for me the next day to pick it up for me. Their kindness knew no bounds. The rooms have a mini-fridge and a balcony with views of the water. There is nothing special about the rooms. They are clean, the t.v. works and the internet is decent, but the above and beyond kindness of the two sisters makes this a wonderful place to stay. Thank you for everything!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jendieg0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2017

Great accommodation for the price. Our room was spotless. Water pressure great. Little kitchenette that is well equipped .Little balcony to sit on for a cuppa looking at the water. We were on the first floor . there are ground level rooms if you don't want to carry your bags up the stairs. lovely large back yard. We ordered our breakfast & sat outside under the gazebo. Just beautiful. Great breaky too. Very welcoming , good local advice. You can't beat this place for value & hospitality. We had dinner at the local pub, 2kms down the road. Just ask for there courtisy bus to pick you up &run you back to the motel.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbo1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

Debra in the office gave us a warm welcome. This property would be ideal for those travelling with a boat as there is room in the back yard to park the boat. We found the room comfortable and squeaky clean. Our upstairs room had a balcony, television in a comfortable location to watch from both the bed and the sofa, full size fridge, microwave, kettle, kitchen bench and sink. The shower would be ideal for tall people but because the shower head is so high and the shower cubicle is compact it was difficult for a shorty like me as the shower was at an angle that went straight into my face instead of on to my body. I would suggest to the owners that another holder be placed lower on the shower wall so that the shower head could be adapted for both short and tall people.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wooroolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017

Welcoming onsite owner, front door undercover carport parking, check-in is swift. Just a stroll across the main beach road for Beach access or jogging track. A little separated balcony top floor. Nicely Manicured gardens and lawns. Kitchenette is adequete but Dominos is in the next block too. Not next to highrises. Quaint old style motel set up and nik nak decor. Good size room with 2 seater lounge. Nice relaxed outlook of the bush / hint of water / sunset view through the bush . Good Internet access available. **Negatives (rm 6): Dusty nic naks, bed was poor , windows in need of a professional clean.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KEYdestinations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017

We stopped over on our to Brisbane from the country. Lovely, quaint. The property is loved and well lived. The sisters who take care of it are wonderful. They were warm and helpful. Simple no fuss, clean and absolutely fabulous location. We will be returning. Thank you sisters.

Room Tip: Loved the view from upstairs with the small balcony. I would advise that the wifi has a daily limit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ange692014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017 via mobile

We found this motel welcoming and clean. It had a full kitchen including microwave and a balcony. It was located a short walk from restaurants and over the road from the beach. I would recommend staying here.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank debcol25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2017

The things that mattered for great - the place seems to have the personality of the owners - particularly in my room (Room 12) (including stuffed bear on the couch and some gorgeous old world suitcases as decoration. When I arrived - like others have said welcome cud not have been friendlier and I had been previously allocated an upstairs room and as i am quite mobility restricted was moved to downstairs room which i was very grateful for. Plenty of parking - although first in best dressed so you cannot guarantee you will get a park outside your room - and unless you have difficulty with walking this is absolutely no trouble. I was lucky on both nites and got a park right outside the room. The bathroom looked as if it had recently undergone a refurb so was done quite tastefully and there may have been a new wooden floor in the main section. There was microwave and a small kitchen - and although i didnt use it seemed to be quite functional. The location was a distance from shops which suits me just fine i prefer to be away from the centre of town. The only thing I could've done differently is check the fine print to see that the room wasnt serviced every day which couldve been an issue if you were needed fresh towels daily and i did run out of toilet paper (again no issue to go and ask for more - unless walking is an issue). There was free wifi but it was limited. For me the best feature was the bed - it may have just been replaced but seemed to be of quite high quality - but of all the beds I slept in during this trip (4 weeks on the road) - this was the best.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SDDarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urangan
2.4 km away
Mantra Hervey Bay
Mantra Hervey Bay
#10 of 23 in Hervey Bay
2,245 reviews
0.7 km away
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
5.4 km away
Hervey Bay Hotel & Resort
Hervey Bay Hotel & Resort
#22 of 23 in Hervey Bay
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Kondari Resort Hervey Bay
1.1 km away
Tower Court Motel Hervey Bay
2.2 km away
Ramada Hervey Bay
Ramada Hervey Bay
#5 of 23 in Hervey Bay
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shelly Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelly Beach Motel

Address: 510 Esplanade, Urangan, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay > Urangan
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Urangan
Price Range: $95 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shelly Beach Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Shelly Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelly Beach Motel Hervey Bay/Urangan, Queensland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing