We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Months later” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Palace at Playa Grande

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Palace at Playa Grande
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Rio San Juan
Lititz
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Months later”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

What are the ingredients for a perfectly romantic anniversary getaway - 30 years of bliss? The site, the staff, the guest, and location all combine for the surreal. The real measure of a resort destination are the memories that survive the test of time. The web site photo gallery accurately depicts the many amenities of location, design and attention to detail. Not portrayed however is the exceptional service of staff - think English butler with a smile. There is no need to lock your room as the property is completely secure and safe. The Palace grounds are more than ample to accommodate their limited number of guest rooms. The beach and pools present ample opportunity for alone time. Romantic dinners sited wherever the moment moves you are accommodated and suggested. The food and beverage are without limit and of exceptional quality. A three night stay is too short to venture off property. If you do however, use Palace transportation as this sea of tranquility is amidst an island besieged with economic despair - airport transportation is well worth the van fee. Would we return - in a heart beat.

Room Tip: You get what you pay for. The balcony rooms are spacious. Cliff side rooms are self contained suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank monthslater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    8
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
65
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

Attended a wedding at The Palace and was very impressed. I believe all the guests enjoyed it very much. The location is stunning. The staff was very helpful with the wedding.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lexfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

When I die, if I get to go to heaven, I want it to look just like The Palace at Playa Grande. When I first saw the pictures, I thought they had probably been photo shopped, yet it does look just like the pictures or better. One visual I had that I didn't get a snap shot of, yet burns brightly in my memory was peaking out after the rain at night and seeing the lanterns on the railing reflected perfectly on the patio. If I was CezanneI would have painted that image. The other burning memory I regret not taking a picture of was all of the ladies on the staff on the third balcony wishing us well on our departure and blowing kisses and waving good bye. Forever that will be an image that burns warmly in my heart. We had three nights of total bliss at the Palace and were the only guests at the time, being mid week. The staff could not have made us feel any more cared for, pampered and spoiled. When laying out by the pool, even without asking, Carlos brought us some papa frites and soda's, just in case we were hungry and thirsty. Juan Carlos, the amazing manager at the Palace arranged to have DR's finest amber and latimer jewelery brought in for us to purchase one evening. Since we were there such a short time and wanted to kick back and relax, we didn't have lots of time for shopping, but did want to go home with some of the specialties of the area . DR does not have the same resources and economic base as we do in the US, so it felt good to spend some money there and help the local economy. With the limited infrastructure in DR, one must understand that the electrical is provided by a generator although we never heard it running, there were slight interruptions in power from time to time. I must admit, I looked a lot younger in the dim yellow light when I couldn't see the wrinkles. The yellow lights also kept any insects away and we never saw one mosquito, which I had been concerned about before going there. It was a challenge to get your hair washed and shower before the hot water ran out, but the cold wasn't dreadfully cold, actually rather refreshing.
We took advantage of the spa services while there, and my husband even went back for a second massage the next day he loved it so much. He was in very good hands with Nika.
Phillipe took us to see the near by cave, Blue Lagoon, water fall, beaches and then went in the bank to help and an electronics store for us to get a new sim card for our camera. We were lucky to have him to take us around and be our local guide for the afternoon.
I am so happy my husband and I had an opportunity to share this special place and time. I would love to go back with my grown children and their children some time soon for a family reunion and I have recommended it to my nephew as a wonderful spot for his upcoming honeymoon.

Room Tip: Take advantage of The Palace staff arranging your transportation from the airport. It was so much e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EAO9218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
49 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

For my birthday I had the pleasure of staying at the Palace. If you are looking for just a relaxing time away from your busy and stressful life this is the place to visit. The staff is so professional and the nicest people you could ever meet at an establishment. In my view this place is not for children. The meals were great, the service was excellent, and the establishment is beautiful. My experience was fun and romantic.

We stayed in the Royal Ocean Front Suite with Balcony/Jacuzzi room (which was an upgrade from what was originally booked). It was cleaned 2 or 3 times every day and every night the bed was turned down. Anything we needed was serviced. Because it was my birthday (which they did not know beforehand) they even made it possible to have a whole birthday cake for me which was very nice.

Yes, if you want to experience the culture of DR you will have to drive to one of the nearest towns (closet is five mins away) but it is not a big deal. They offer tours and expeditions during your stay along with spa services.

If the opportunity ever presents itself again I will definitely return to the Palace.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ANR113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diegl
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

My wife and I had the privilege of staying at the Palace for 5 nights of our honeymoon. We were drawn to the Palace because of the boutique hotel experience that we could not get at the mega resorts. Long before our actual trip we were won over by their service and overall treatment of our stay.
Four months prior to our honeymoon we were contacted by the management to alert us to the fact that the remainder of the rooms were booked out by a wedding party, and that we would be the only other guests. They gave us the option to change the dates of our stay should we desire, but being our honeymoon we were unable to. In an effort to provide a more enjoyable experience, we were upgraded to the Ocean Cliffside Suites that are separate from the main structure. We were blown away that a management staff would alert us to this type of situation, and then offer a significant upgrade as to not take away from our experience.
We opted to fly into Santo Domingo, which I would not recommend for everyone. It was a challenging drive for those who rely on GPS in everyday life but fortunately we had a map, compass (app), and basic idea of where the Palace was at. Three and half hours later, we made it to the Palace.
The Grounds: Trust me the pictures do not do the Palace justice. The views off the back cliff are incredible and easily the best I have seen in the Caribbean. Every day we woke up to the sound of the waves crashing against the rocks below our room. The grounds were very well kept and the roaming peacocks were a nice touch. The swimming pool was usually pretty dirty, and neither Jacuzzi was ever hot, but we still took advantage of them.
The Service: Our room was cleaned and maintained every day very well. One big surprise was the laundry service. Every day our clothes in the hamper were laundered and returned the next day. All of the staff at the Palace is extremely friendly and we were sad to say goodbye to Juan Carlos, Felipe and the rest of the gang. Having worked in the hospitality industry in the past, I was impressed by the “steps of service” employed by the staff in this little spot in the DR. I was bummed that the swim up bar in the pool is not utilized; it is such a waste of space and a sad reminder of more fun you could be having. There also isn’t a “bar” in the typical fashion, but the servers can make most basic drinks for your time.
The Food: We took most of our meals at the Palace because we had the all inclusive package. I wouldn’t say it was anything out of this world, but it was sufficient. A lot of dishes are repetitive, and most of the food is over-salted. Don’t expect gourmet meals. If you get a chance, definitely have lunch out at Playa Grande. For $8 you get a fresh seafood lunch complete with salad, rice, tostones, and a table. And if you plan ahead, have the Palace pack a cooler full of beers to take out to the beach with you!
We absolutely loved our time at The Palace. Is it The Four Seasons or The Ritz Carlton? No. Is it a mega resort with activities and bars full of partying crowds? No. But it is beautiful property that will give you the feeling of what it may be like to have your own Palace on the Dominican Cliffside.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

Our stay at The Palace was a fun, romantic and exciting getaway. We didn't know what to expect upon our arrival to DR, however, when we pulled up to the property it was just as advertised and more. The entire property to the rooms were amazing. The staff made the stay that much more fun and memorable from the great hospitality to the delicious food that was unique and different each day. We would like to thank Juan Carlos, Felipe and Carlos for making our trip a pleasurable and memorable one; we couldn't of had better service. And, a big KUDOS to the chefs who cooked to perfection every meal. We'll be back soon.

Room Tip: Any room there you will be more than satisfied.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KevinMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmond, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2011

We had our honeymoon at the Palace and it was amazing. The staff was wonderful and we were waited on hand and foot. We pretty much had the place to ourselves and it was great. We didn't have any issues and we felt safe everywhere we went; even on the excursions. We stayed in the Garden Suite which looks out onto the pool. All of the rooms are so nice! The beach is right there and it is absolutely beautiful. Thank you to Juan Carlos, Carlos, Felipe, Alfredo, Tony and Cynthia for making our honeymoon perfect! We hope to come back soon!

-Marcus and Erin Favorite
Edmond, Oklahoma

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank erinmarie816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rio San Juan
218.0 km away
Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol
Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol
#4 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,142 reviews
216.8 km away
Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club
64.2 km away
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
#4 of 44 in Puerto Plata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
51.3 km away
Casa Veintiuno
Casa Veintiuno
#1 of 34 in Sosua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
12.4 km away
Grand Bahia Principe San Juan
5.8 km away
The Balaji Palace at Playa Grande
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace at Playa Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace at Playa Grande

Property: The Palace at Playa Grande
Address: Calle Rio San Juan | Playa Grande, Rio San Juan, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Maria Trinidad Sanchez Province > Rio San Juan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Rio San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palace at Playa Grande 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity.ca so you can book your The Palace at Playa Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace At Playa Grande Hotel Rio San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing