We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ,Fab and Wonderfull Holiday”

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe San Juan
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rio San Juan
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great ,Fab and Wonderfull Holiday”
Reviewed 21 October 2010

this is my second trip to this hotel and do you know what makes me angry is all these negative reviews. A holiday is what you make of it please dont listen to the bad things that people say ,what to do is go and find out for yourself .I was talking to a couple of people that had tried to change their holiday because of what was said by people with nothing better to do with their time than moan but at the end of the holiday they said that they were so glad that they did not change their holiday in the end they had a great time. This hotel is clean and tidy the rooms are kept clean too ,the mini bar is stocked daily . The entertainment staff are great and Alex is just the best and Eddy who works in the buffet resterant is such a happy man and makes you want to go in and eat just to see him . If you have any problems they sort it out for you right away . When you are there do some of the trips The Dominican flavours is fab i dont drink rum but i did that night and it tasted ok . I also did the laguna bus i am so glad that i did it i brought pencils, rubbers, soap and lots of sweets for the kids O.M.G my heart went out the these kids and their familys i will never complain again they have nothing and they are still so happy if you do this trip keep some of the sweets for the kids that run from their homes shouting for candy and i also did the beach buggies what fun that was my 65 year old mother was with me and she loved every min of it our rep at the hotel (Lea Anne) was really helpful any problems that you had she sorted out right away all in all the second time going to the Biaha Principe was even better than the first time and im telling you that it wont be the last time that i go that is for sure and i would recomend it to anyone

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

4,919 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,690
    1,702
    764
    436
    327
See reviews for
1,112
1,715
62
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (569)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
liverpool
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2010

Okay, so i recently went to this hotel with TC, my opinion there was some good, some bad.

The hotel itself and rooms: were fab. the room was lovely, nice big comfy king size comfortable bed without bed bugs! minor problems fixed quickly and were not preventable (a blocked sink). maid was fab, could leave out change (as a tip) and she never took it had to physically give it to her. if we wanted her to come back later. she did! the lobby, resturant and all the areas were clean.

The staff: service was fab, the staff bend over backwards for you and do not even expect a tip. the animation team worked round the clock and were always friendly with the guests. cannot fault the staff in any respect.

The food: ok this is where things weren't great. the seafood is amazing! never did the italian. med was good as was the mexican. the diamond lunch buffet was great. the main buffet repeated alot. there was not flys swarming as i had imagined from reading previous reviews. if you don't want to see a fly don't go to a tropical country. The main buffet repeated alot, and even though i am a major foodie i struggled some days, but they tried very hard and i never starved. not bad but i have had better.

Entertainment: Ok another bad... and good.
The days were boring and the few activities that were going were not to my taste. they did however state activities were going to be taking place and they never did, or they were never announced or easily available which i found irritating. however, nights were fab and i really enjoyed all the shows. yes they are done by amateurs (who get limited time to practice) but the effort and variety was good. the strip is also an option and karaoke ran no matter how quiet.

The weather: nothing you can do about it. if it rains get in the pool, you'll have fun!

The beach: Very gritty but otherwise ok. when you get past a few steps in the sea its soft sand. sea was calm somedays and when it was it was brilliant! if you wnat carribean go to the east/south

Insects. Asdas repllent bands are great used algside jungle formula. i usually suffer badly and lnly got bit a few times it is not bed bugs. If you sufer from bites take precautions (wear long legged and sleeved things at night). plug ins don't work well due to low voltage (so take a cintronella candle). be wise and you'll be ok.

Trips: Heard mixed reviews about paradise island so didn't go. Puerto plata day, fantastic and only for those who like to be busy. some great views. Ocean world was great, swam with dolphins alot to fit in in little time. Dominican flavours (night out drinking on the bus) was brilliant. Catamaran was cancelled on our last day much to my distress. Be warned though most trips are at least an hour and a half travelling so make sure its something you really want to do and it doesn't matter. don't however go hungover!

Shops: some little shops all holding the same little things to buy but i thought they were nice, they are also some on the beach and even though i heard bad things i found them nice and not at all threatening!

All in all apart form the food and daytime activities it was a good holiday (we knew about the beach in advance). Would i recommend it? depends on what type of holiday you want. If you aren't fussed over little details then yes!

Any other problems i have are with the tour opertor not the hotel.
Oh and don't take padlocks and keys in your hand luggage on the way back as they will be confiscated, and we were not warned.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2010

had an amazing holiday here would recomend it, the staff work so hard an are so friendly the food was amazing. will use bahia principe again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland uk
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2010

This was an amazing holiday with no complaints to any bit of the hotel. Staff amazing, animation team amazing, food good, drink good, rep ( Lea anne ) amazing. The only thing I will say is do not go near the doctor for anything, I had an ear infection and the onsite doctor made me go to hospital or she wouldn,t let me fly home. I had been treating this ear infection myself and felt fine. The hospital made me stay in over night against my will the night before I flew home, not a nice experience. Therefore take things like antibiotics, ear drops etc as will cost you if you have to see doctor. When I stayed here at least 10 people i met had been refered to hospital for something or other. My insurance company came out tops, but over all stressful time as hospital is over 2 hours away. I would say that every thing else was utterlly amzing and I have nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eccles, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 October 2010

its the best holiday ever the staff was amazing the the activitys andthe food omg the food is amazing a walk in beach everything stylish i would recommend this to couples

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 October 2010

For the price that we paid for this vacation, there's nothing to complain about, really. The only thing that annoyed me big time was the bites that occupied my full legs and some on my upper torso. My boyfriend also had decent amount of bites in his legs. As well as the other guests in the hotel. When I looked at their legs, some people have swollen ones, really bad. I'm not sure if they were from mosquitoes or bedbugs but whatever bit us, they were nasty and mean!
Overall, The staff were really friendly and nice, the resort was clean.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2010

Stayed at the hotel between 21st Sept and 6th October and was part of a group to take in my nephew's wedding.
Having read some of the reviews i have to say i was a bit concerned, however i went with an open mind. I have had the opportunity to have visited the Dominican, Cuba and Mexico on numerous occasions.
I know that the Dominican caters for the cheaper end of the market and that there star rating is not comparable to the likes of Mexico so i did not expect 5 star gourmet food, i knew i was not getting golden sandy beaches as we were on the north of the island and you learn that when on complexes of this type there is very little scope of venturing out on your own. Anyone unaware of this can only blame themselves for not doing their homework.
The staff were certainly 5 star and very welcoming, from head waiter to gardeners they all had time for a chat or polite hello.
The rooms were spacious, cleaned daily and stocked with clean towels, toiletries and alcohol. Don't expect power showers with roasting hot water or you will be disappointed. There is a lack of power points but we managed to charged everything on the hair dryer point in the bathroom.
The food was plentiful, good variety and catered very well for a british market. It wasn't 5 star but there again we didn't pay for 5 star.
The entertainment was not to our taste but the entertainment team cannot be faulted on their efforts, they were there from sun up to 2 in the morning. One good thing for families is that the hotel bars all close at 11pm and everyone moves out of the hotel to the nearby Pueblo Principe into the karaoke bar, disco (still part of all inclusive drinks package so don't worry) and the casino. This ensures peace and quiet if you want to go to sleep early.
Some reviews have made mention of noisy foul mouthed creatures, otherwise known as british, letting themselves down. All i can say to that is alcohol, greed and all inclusive. This is a predominatly British package holiday hotel. I've been to the equivalent used by the americans and canadians and can tell you they are no better.

And if you are travelling with Thomas Cook and you have a problem dont worry because Lianne is your rep. Without doubt the best in the business i have come accross, despite her love of Irn Bru. No problem is too small and managed the impossible by making the welcome meeting interesting.

My wife managed to win the family game of "bitten by mites" by 87 to my 5 and it seems they either like you or don't. It appears they are resistant to all known repellants.

I enjoyed myself, would you? that very much depends on high you set your expectations. If you are realistic you will, if you want better then i am afraid you will have to pay the extra money and go elsewhere

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rio San Juan
55.3 km away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
57.3 km away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 39 in Puerto Plata
3,710 reviews
57.2 km away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#2 of 39 in Puerto Plata
7,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
55.3 km away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#6 of 39 in Puerto Plata
5,441 reviews
70.4 km away
ClubHotel Riu Bachata
ClubHotel Riu Bachata
#11 of 39 in Puerto Plata
5,256 reviews
55.2 km away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe San Juan

Property: Grand Bahia Principe San Juan
Address: Ctra. Gaspar Hernandez, km 18, Rio San Juan 33000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Maria Trinidad Sanchez Province > Rio San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rio San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe San Juan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 608
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services: 4 pools BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, tennis court, mini golf, football pitch... Water activity centre Motorised sports (additional charge) WiFi access in the lobby (24 hour free per day/device) and in rooms (additional charge) Wedding gazebo Main restaurant and 3 specialty restaurants 6 bars Playa Grande Golf Course just 40 minutes from the hotel Convention / Meeting centre Pueblo Principe: shows, live music, bars, stores, karaoke, casino and disco Rooms 608 rooms including 2 types: Suite & Standard The Standard rooms are equipped with: King size bed or 2 full size beds Fully-equipped bathroom: Bathtub plus shower, wash basin, hair dryer and magnifying mirror Bathroom amenities Air conditioning Ceiling fan Safe (additional charge) Mini-bar (Restocked daily) Direct phone line (additional charge for external calls) Flat screen TV Coffee set WiFi (additional charge) The Suite rooms have the same equipment as the Standard rooms but also include: Ironing set Sitting area with sofa Pool towel available in room Bathrobe and slippers Evening turn-down service International newspapers Terrace or balcony Children Bahia Scouts The hotel is perfect for families, offering a range of facilities tailored especially for children, including the following: Children's pool Mini Club with daytime activities Evening Mini Disco Babysitting service for children aged up to 12 (additional charge) Other Services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Juan Dominican Republic
Bahia Principe Puerto Plata
Bahia Principe San Juan Puerto Plata
Bahia Principe Dominican Republic
Bahia Principe San Juan Dominican Republic
Dominican Republic Bahia Principe
Bahia Principe San Juan Resort
Bahia Principe Sj
Puerto Plata Bahia Principe
Bahia Principe Resort San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing