We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Lido”
Review of Coral Beach

Coral Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Unique and exclusive venue in Canneto di Lipari. The Coral Beach is a beach equipped with Sun beds, deck chairs, sun umbrella, canoes, privee area, snack bar, salads, cocktail bar, children playground, Happy hour, wifi, wc, showers and BeachVolley, free shuttle service. Open every day with drinks and music
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children
Reviewed October 16, 2016

Giuseppe provides a great Lido experience at Coral Beach. Nice loungers, great food and amenities are available. The soft pebble beach has excellent swimming especially for open water swimmers. We visited every morning for nine days and my husband swam the length of Canneto Beach and had no problems with jelly's. The snorkeling is fantastic. This is a short drive (shuttle service available) from the town of Lipari. Exceptional views of Stramboli on clear days. We look forward to future visits!

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank Cynthia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (522)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"an umbrella"
in 3 reviews
"free beach"
in 2 reviews
"sunbeds"
in 5 reviews
"lido"
in 5 reviews
"facilities"
in 5 reviews
"terms"
in 2 reviews
"lipari"
in 12 reviews
"port"
in 2 reviews
"swimming"
in 2 reviews
Filter

10 - 14 of 522 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2016

We got the free shuttle from our hotel which was over packed, 12 plus the driver in an 8 seater van. A relatively short drive, but there are numerous stops along the way so try to arrange the shuttle earlier. The driver will ask you when you want to leave the beach so be sure to inform him of when you want to go back to your hotel.

The beach and club area is much smaller in person then what the pictures show. It is a rocky beach beach, no sand, but they are smooth stones. Bring beach shoes. There are waves here and the water gets deep quickly. The swimming area is roped off and does not extend too far out. Bathrooms are outhouses with plumbing. There is a fresh water shower available.

Tell the staff you are with a hotel and they give you the reduced rates. Call ahead and reserve your beds the day before to get beds closer to the water, or for the white big beds. The beach beds were in good condition.

No food or drink service on the beach, you have to order at the restaurant. Good prices for drinks and a big selection of beers. Panino was okay. There looked to be some really tasty food being served and the restaurant was busy so I assume the food was very good but we didn't eat much more.

There was a lot of kids here and there is a play area. Normally not an issue for me, but after seeing their Facebook page I thought this was a more adult scene. Have to admit listening to kids play cell phone games and videos or crying babies was a negative for this lido during the day.

No music was played, but there was a DJ booth area and that was being setup as we were leaving at 5pm. I would expect a fun beach party later on.

Date of experience: August 2016
1  Thank Jason L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 17, 2016 via mobile

The forecast for the area is not always accurate, so be prepared to wait out unexpected clouds in the summer. Walking there is actually not too bad, through a tunnel with a sidewalk isn't bad. It takes 30-35 minutes depending on how lost you think you are (hint: you're not lost its just not a beautiful route). If you decide to walk do NOT take a taxi back. Apparently you need to develop your (land) taxi relationship at the port of Lipari when you come in on the ferry. Otherwise the bartender will be happy to hook you up with a taxi that charges for the time it took to get to you AND the actual trip (€7.50 more).
They have good prices on bottles of wine, a jellyfish net, showers and salads that Americans would recognize as a healthy salad. As well as good bread.
The beach is pebbles and rounded rocks, so better for some more than others but still beautiful. The chair and umbrella rental with food and drink service was still s nice treat. However if you're on a budget, navigate to here, bring a camping pad (foam roll) and make your own free beach next door.
In general, watch out for scams in this area more than other tourist areas of Sicily.

Date of experience: July 2016
1  Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 11, 2016

After getting stung by a jellyfish at Acquacalda and seeing many in the water at other locations, we tried Coral Beach because they use a net that dramatically reduces the chance of coming into contact with the pesky things. Certainly it's more popular than other beaches so therefore less tranquil, but they do have more facilities (items for water play, wifi, a cafe, etc). Staff were attentive and the price was in line with other beaches in the region. I use this beach again.

Date of experience: July 2016
2  Thank antwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2016

Previously on our trip to Canneto we have just gone to the beach, armed with our water shoes and spent the day doing that. This time we decided that we would go for a bit more comfort especially if it meant we could avoid the jelly fish - having been stung on a previous visit!

The loungers we hired were under an umbrella, and could be moved whether you wished to have sun or shade. They were very comfrotable - the staff we re very attentive when we ordered

We had lunch there one day and we had a pane cuzato which was delicious however the other people in the party ordered a burger or something and they felt dissappointed but I think thats due to their choice rather than the food.

We went there 3 or 4 times during our ten day stay and always found it a comfortable stay

Date of experience: June 2016
1  Thank Delyth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coral Beach also viewed

Lipari, Aeolian Islands
Lipari, Aeolian Islands
 
Lipari, Aeolian Islands
Lipari, Aeolian Islands
 

Been to Coral Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing