We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mind-blowing wildlife encounter” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pachico's Ecotours

More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Berkeley, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mind-blowing wildlife encounter”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2011

My wife are both biologists who've worked & traveled extensively on 4 continents in search of cool natural history encounters, and this is hands-down one of the best experiences we've ever had. We went out in mid-April - a bit late - but whales were still around. Probably best to inquire before going down if not in the peak season (Feb-March). Still, we just showed up with no reservation and went out...and had lots of incredible close encounters with very curious mother whales & calves. It is an incredibly beautiful setting as well - a great place to hang out on shore & watch shorebirds. Road to Pachico's is not bad, but pretty washboarded - could be done in 2WD vehicle without problem if you drive slow.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank coleonyx7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    1
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“best in 5 years”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2011

this was our third year to San Ignacio Lagoon fifth year whale watching - first with Pachicos - by far the best! Sabrina and Jesus were great host, tour guide with brother as Capt. We saw so many whales our necks were strained!!! We flew in to the local air strip. We took a tour of their cabins and may venture to stay next year. If you have ever thought of whale watching but wondered - do it. Wonderful experience.

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank HendersonNVAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“SENSATIONAL EXPERIENCE FROM BEGINNING TO END”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2011

Our group of 9 stayed for 4 nights at this amazing eco camp, it was basic but incredibly clean, neat and tidy. Everything was done to make our experience memorable.
Jesus and Sabrina succeed in giving you the holiday of a life time. We came from the 4 corners of the world, everything was done to accommodate our needs. Showers are basic, but clean and doable, toilets supervised me, they were organic but spotless. Our little cabana was great! It's cold though at this time of the year so we did need extra blankets. Amazing view over the lagoon. Take some water shoes - you need them to get in and out of the boat - even gum boots would be good!
The Whales are the main feature and all I can say is that you will not be sorry for this long trip! The Whales are everywhere and it's even better than on you tube or any video you can watch! A life time experience for sure. These people are local and real! Keeping it in the family tradition - passed down from father to son and onwards.
I'm coming back next year! No doubt about it!

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank CHRISTINEAMALA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pittsburgh
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Unbelievable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2011

I just left San Ignacio Lagoon where I had an amazing exprience with Pachico's Ecotours. I'm an avid user of tripadvisor and am now motiatved to write my first review.

Baja California is famous for its grey whales and its "friendly encounters" in which grey whales will approach a boat and interact with tourists, coming close enough to allow themselves to be touched.

A group of local fisherman in the 1970s were first approached by these animals and it has grown into an ecotourism venture. Today there are multiple companies in multiple locations, however San Ignacio has the highest number/percentage of friendly encounters and is relatively easy to reach from southern Baja where the main airports are located.

I had been wanting to see the whales up close for years and did extensive research of the companies before choosing Pachico's. Firstly, Pachico Mayoral (the namesake of the company) was the local fisherman first approached by one of the resident gray whales in the 1970s. His family has been leading people on trips to see the friendly whales for over 30 years. Pachico is now in his 70s and his son, Jesus, is the driving force behind the company as well as behind many environmental protection programs in the lagoon. It is amazing to listen to his stories of growing up around the lagoon and his years of interactions with the whales. He is also pioneering a waste recycling-reuse program and his campsite utilizes both solar and wind energy.

More than that, everyone at his campsite is friendly and helpful. The food is amazing, home-made, authentic Mexican dishes featuring seafood that is fresh from the local fisherman. Jesus is as enthusiastic about encountering the whales as his guests and will shoot literally 1000s of pictures on his high powered camera which he is happy to share with his guests at the end of the day. For that reason, I was able (even as an avid photographer) to put my camera down and completely enjoy the experience while still coming back with amazing pictures (with the added benefit of being in many of the photos as well).

Next - the interaction with the whales is impossible to put into words. You are in a 20-foot wooden boat literally surrounded by whales up to 45 feet long. Some are breaching, others spy-hopping, and some are just swimming by with their babies. That is an experience in itself, but the ultimate goal is a "friendly encounter" in which, a whale swims over to meet you. They push the boat, lift up their heads, and allow themselves to be petted by eager hands. Pachico's approach to the whales is to allow them to come to you and that experience is magical, most importantly, I never felt as if the whales were being harassed or bothered. The whales themselves seem to enjoy the encounter as much as we do, popping their heads out to get a good look at you before spraying as they exhale.

We stayed for two days with Pachico's Ecotours and each trip out was amazing for different reasons. We had three friendly encounters including a mother and baby and also witnessed a mother helping her just-born calf to the surface for its first breaths while it learned to swim. At night the sunsets were unbelievable and we went to sleep to the sounds of the coyotes, while we were "guarded" by the two friendliest camp dogs. I have never seen so many stars in my life.

Pachicos Ecotours is a small family-run, locally owned company and you feel like family when you are there. His business is his passion and comes from his heart. During our conversations, he spoke about initiatives to protect the lagoon, protect the whales, recycle and reuse the trash in the lagoon, and a solar power initiative for the local fisherman. Pachicos is an amazing company in an amazing place. I will most definitely return to see the whales and my friends again.

Visited January 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank THEW0RLDAR0UNDUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pachico's Ecotours also viewed

San Ignacio, Baja California Sur
San Ignacio, Baja California Sur
 
San Ignacio, Baja California Sur
San Ignacio, Baja California Sur
 

Been to Pachico's Ecotours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing