We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little piece of tranquil heaven in the midi-Pyrenees”
Review of La Joie de Vivre

La Joie de Vivre
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bonnefont
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Joie de Vivre
Ranked #1 of 4 Bonnefont B&B and Inns
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A little piece of tranquil heaven in the midi-Pyrenees”
Reviewed 17 August 2011

I have stayed at la Joie de Vivre on a number of occasions over the past 5 years at varying time of the year and they have made a number of improvements over that time - the barn, the boules court and the swimming pool to name a few. Of course the weather changes but the hospitality, comfort and tranquility that La Joie de Vivre offers is second to none. A large part of this can be attributed to the owners themselves. I would defy you to find more welcoming hosts than Liz and Bob.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BaselEx_pat99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
1
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hungerford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

I have stayed here on two occasions and can not find one negative thing to say. On both occasions Rob & Liz have been amazing hosts and were on hand to advise of places to visit.
The attention to detail in the barn is very impressive! Decorated and furnished to a very high standard.
This makes the perfect base to travel to the surrounding areas as well, with nice quiet scenic roads to drive.
I would recommend a stay to anyone. Travelling alone with a 2yr old I found it to be perfect, with the swimming pool and lovely gardens for him to play in.
This could be described as a perfect holiday destination!!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

I was made so welcome the first time I went to Liz and Rob Norton that i went back for a second time. The accomodation is classically French and has an ambience that just forces you into a relaxed and open mindset. The grounds are tended to carefully and are exceptionally welcoming, the swimming pool is a great size and spotless. The most important point for me is that Rob and Liz both have a strong knowledge of their region and can steer you towards best attractions, best cycle routes, best running circuits etc. But, you would be forgiven if you just stayed in the grounds, relaxed under the shade of the trees with a nice glass of French wine. I will be back to see Liz and Rob.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BradPitt0020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Myself and my daughter have been to La Joie De Vivre on several wonderful occasions there is no other place to be and if your looking for peace and tranquillity then this is it. Rob and Liz are fantastic host's nothing is ever too much they are friendly, welcoming people who endeavour to make your holiday the best experience you could wish for. The food is fantastic as is the accommodation everything about La Joie de Vivre makes you feel completely relaxed. The ground's are so beautiful and the breath taking views of the pyrenees mountains that you can see so clearly are second to none. La Joie De Vivre is our holiday destination whenever possible this is the place for us there is no other.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allsorts61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, West Sussex
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2011

A perfect gem with attention to every detail. Rob and Liz are the ultimate hosts and they have created a truly unique experience. The food was delectable, with amazing 4 course dinners, and the accommodations were immaculate.
The house has been updated to incoporporate modern ammenities (extra comfortable beds) all while respecting the period of the house.
Moreover, the warm welcome and kindness shown my husband and I were without compare. As an example, when my husband's car broke down, Rob took my husband to the local garage, helped explain the problem in French with the mechanic. Then as if that was not enough, Rob & Liz loaned us the use of their spare vehicles (a van & little French pango) for several days, refusing any payments!

The area is great for biking and/or walking and the countryside and Frenxh villages are charming.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vic_Vivant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to La Joie de Vivre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Joie de Vivre

Property: La Joie de Vivre
Address: Village, 65220 Bonnefont, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Hautes-Pyrenees > Bonnefont
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Bonnefont
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing