We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Idyllic thatched cottage”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Uppingham, Rutland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Carol H
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Idyllic thatched cottage”
Reviewed October 22, 2019 for a stay in September 2019

We stayed at Little Thatch on the recommendation of friends and we certainly weren't disappointed! We were greeted on arrival by Martin and by Julia's mouthwatering apple cake. The cottage is beautiful and immaculate and has everything you could possibly need. Unfortunately we weren't blessed with good weather so our enjoyment of the garden was limited.
We stayed for a week on a cycling holiday and there are some lovely villages to visit in the area. The cottage is ideally situated for cyclists and walkers alike.
We will definitely be visiting again!

Date of stay: September 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
i842018
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A peaceful retreat away from the everyday.”
Reviewed August 19, 2019 for a stay in August 2019

This is our fourth visit to Rutland and out third consecutive stay in Little Thatch. It is a perfect hideaway in beautiful Seaton (impressive Seaton viaduct nearby). The cottage is beautifully decorated and has absolutely everything we needed including cakes and biscuits on arrival. Martin and Julia are always most welcoming.
The location is outstanding with loads of activities(walking, cycling, bird watching, water sports) nearby for adults and children at Rutland Water and in the area as a whole. Historic houses/castles and towns including Uppingham, Oakham and Stamford are nearby and well worth a visit. Pubs and restaurants abound as do antique and independent shops.
We recommend Little Thatch most highly. An outstanding cottage.

Date of stay: August 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2019
Thank you so much for taking the time to post such lovely and rewarding feedback, not to mention being such lovely guests!
We hope to welcome you both for another return visit next year.
Best regards, Martin & Julia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David G
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“5 Star luxury cottage in beautiful Rutland village”
Reviewed August 1, 2019 for a stay in June 2019

How pleasant it was to stay in a luxury thatch cottage in the village of Seaton. This is not the first time we have stayed in this cottage. It is a home away from home with everything provided. Both cottage and garden are of an excellent standard and the owners go out of their way to make your stay very comfortable.

Date of stay: June 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Aug 2019
Many thanks David & Val for your kind feedback. You are perfect guests and it is always a pleasure to welcome you both. We look forward to seeing you again next year.
Best regards, Martin & Julia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W
1 review
“Wonderful thatched cottage in quiet Rutland village”
Reviewed August 6, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

This is a wonderful thatched cottage in the quiet village of Seaton. The cottage has been beautifully restored and includes all modern conveniences. There is a lovely and very well maintained garden.

We tried the local pub (George & Dragon Inn) and were positively surprised with the high quality of the food. There are lots of things to do in the area, including Rutland Water, Burghley House & Garden of Surprises, Woolsthorpe Manor (family home of Sir Isaac Newton) and Stamford Shakespeare open air theatre.

Overall, Little Thatch is a fantastic holiday retreat and we very much look forward to coming back next year !

Date of stay: July 2018
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2018
Thank you for your kind words & for taking the time to post this review on Little Thatch cottage & indeed the local Rutland & Stamford area.
We look forward to welcoming you back!
Best regards, Martin & Julia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ralphinat...
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A True Hidden Gem”
Reviewed March 18, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We stayed in this beautiful thatched cottage and loved every minute of it. Martin and Julia were very hospitable, and the cottage was so cosy. The village has a great pub a short stroll away serving home cooked delicious meals. It was an ideal place to explore this lovely county.
Thanks to Martin and Julia for sharing this magical cottage and we most certainly will return.

Date of stay: February 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Mar 2017
Delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Little Thatch & exploring the local Rutland & Stamford area. Thank you for the very positive review & we hope that we will be able to welcome you back to one of our cottages before too long. Martin & Julia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 6, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: September 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage is truly chocolate box absoluetly delightful.
Liked least: Nothing to say
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
7 Oct 2016
Many thanks for taking the time to post such a good review. Positive feedback makes the hard work worthwhile! We hope to be able to welcome you back to one of our thatched Rutland cottages soon! :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 21, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cottage is like the tardis, compact but fits a lot in!
Liked least: Boiler had a hiccup so no hot water one morning, but Martin sorted it straight away
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
23 Aug 2016
Thank you both for being excellent guests & also for the excellent review. We are delighted that you enjoyed the cottage, the George & Dragon and the local Rutland & Stamford area. We hope to welcome you back soon! Best regards, Martin & Julia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
US$USD
Canada (English)
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Canada. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.