We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (21)
Filter reviews
21 results
Traveller rating
17
4
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
17
4
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 21 reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2015

This is our second time at the hotel. There are 4 apartments each very well appointed with comfortable beds and a lovely kitchen. You will have plenty of room to spread out. The caretaker is wonderful and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 28, 2015

This is a delightful place to stay while exploring the World War I battlefields in the area. The Moulin le Cygne has free parking and wifi, wonderfully decorated rooms that are comfortable and spacious and a gracious hostess. The adjaent restaurant has good-quality food and provides the bountiful breakfast. The grounds are beautiful and you stay in a beautifully redone old mill. The European beer museum is across the street, although we did not visit. There is absolutely nothing that could have made this wonderful place better.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 1 and loved it. Nice bedroom and bathroom, kitchenette and sitting room. All the amenities.
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 11, 2014

The Moulin Le Cygne has been restored to its former glory by the current owners. There is nothing much to choose between any of the four apartments. They are all superb and well equipped with everything that you could possibly want. There is plenty of hot water for a bath / shower - and the shower works well with plenty of flow and pressure.

We stayed in apartment 3 on the first floor with views to the front and rear. The bed is exceptionally comfortable and the bedding is good quality. We slept very well throughout our week-long stay. A good hair dryer is provided in the bathroom. The kitchen has a very good Philips Senseo Coffee Maker too. What a boon that was for coffee. A nearby Lidl supermarket stocks a full range of coffee bags too. Their wine range is pretty spectacular as well.

The adjoining Tavern run by Sebastian and Shirley is truly an asset. It is THE BEST in Stenay town. No other restaurant comes close unless you leave town and travel 5 km. We ate in the Tavern everyday that it was open. Mostly dinner but we ate lunch on a Saturday. Fresh produce superbly cooked and presented attractively on the plate. There is generally a choice of three starters and three mains with a different variety each day. The wine list is sensible and relatively inexpensive.

Everything about the Moulin Le Cygne and the Tavern represents excellent value for money and we heartily recommend both.

There are three Boulangeries within walking distance but the nearest is probably the best. Fresh breads and patisseries everyday. Open from 06h30 most days. Sells ham, butter, cheese and milk too so you can have breakfast in the apartments if you wish - the coffee maker comes into its own here!

Car parking is directly in front of the premises off the road in a private cul-de-sac. We considered it secure.

Room Tip: There is little to choose between the apartments. Numbers 3 and 4 are first floor. Numbers 1 and 2 are ground floor. Number 1 has a separate entrance door whilst numbers 2, 3 and 4 are all accessed from another door overlooking the car park. The apartment door key also opens the main entrance door so guests can come and go at whatever time they choose.
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 17, 2014

We stayed 3 nights. The apartment had a living room, kitchen, bedroom and bath (with tub/shower). It was very clean and well-equipped, with a welcoming bottle of wine. Although the building is very old, it was perfectly restored. Nice views of the garden, and very quiet. The adjoining tavern had great dinners and breakfasts. We visited the American cemetery at Argonne and several interesting towns, castles and churches in the area. This was our favorite place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lorenzo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 13, 2014

A restored mill on a beautiful river walking distance from the lovely downtown of Stenay. Large rooms with kitchens and relaxing living rooms make this place much better than a typical hotel.
A huge bonus is the excellent new restaurant adjacent to the inn and the European Beer Museum just a short walk away. Highly recommend this place as a great base from which to explore the whole area!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank t w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews