We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,725)
Filter reviews
3,725 results
Traveller rating
1,919
1,159
370
181
96
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,919
1,159
370
181
96
Show reviews that mention
All reviews water sports piccolo mondo rainbow garden atlantic side a la carte st james beachfront room beach front per person all inclusive package shirley heights royal suite nightly entertainment tennis courts catamaran trip rum punch lobster
Filter
Updating list...
310 - 315 of 3,725 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2017

As repeat guests of a number of years at the St. James’s Club, we cannot praise the resort and its wonderful staff highly enough. Under the exceptional circumstances of this year’s hurricane season, the treatment we received was exemplary. We returned home some three weeks ago having been on the island during hurricanes Irma and Jose, and we are looking forward to our return to Antigua and St. James’s next year. I sincerely hope that tourists will appreciate that the weather this year was exceptional, rather than the norm, and that the tourist industry, upon which the island is very economically dependent, will not be severely adversely affected in the long-term.

We choose to return to St. James’s because it is the most friendly and relaxing place we have had the good fortune to visit. Although the location is inherently beautiful, in our opinion, it is the staff – at every level – who make the resort so special. In our experience, nothing is too much trouble and we are cared for impeccably by the hardworking staff. Housekeeping, grounds maintenance, watersports and activities, and kitchen staff, chefs, bartenders, waitresses and waiters, porters, members of reception and guest services, the vacation club, the corporate office, and management – everyone is immensely helpful and endeavours to make you feel special. We could list the names of employees at St. James’s who have, over the years, become dear friends, but the list is long and I fear someone would end up being inadvertently left out!

Some of the negative reviews that people post here about the discourteousness of the staff leave me flabbergasted. Treated with the civility and respect that they deserve, I cannot possibly imagine that any employee of the resort would not provide impeccable service. The other thing that strikes me is why guests who encounter problems during their stay do not raise their concerns with management whilst they are still on resort. If given the chance, management will go above and beyond to ensure that you enjoy your stay.

All in all, we cannot recommend St. James's highly enough for a relaxing, friendly and memorable holiday in beautiful surroundings. It is no surprise that this resort has so many loyal repeat customers.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank vspljp05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestAmbassador02, Guest Relations Manager at St. James's Club & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2017

Dear Valued Guest,

We always love hearing from our repeat guests, and we sincerely thank you for taking the time to review our resort! At St. James's Club Antigua, we strive each and every day to provide our guests with unforgettable holiday experiences, and it was a true pleasure to hear that you throughly enjoyed your stay with us!

Likewise, we were very pleased to hear that our top-notch team once again provided you with truly exceptional service, and we greatly appreciate your kind commendations.

We truly cherish your wonderful feedback and generous recommendation, and we most certainly look forward to welcoming your next visit to our beautiful shores!

Best regards,

St. James’s Club, Antigua
Staff & Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 6, 2017

Post hurricane stay, was a little worried but everything was wonderful. Rooms are really lovely with a fabulous sea view. Food was truly amazing, best I have ever experienced, wins hands down over Sandals! Shout out to Durand who kept our thirst quenched on the beach with his mobile bar. Can not fault this hotel, friendly staff, lots on offer, thank you!

Room Tip: Beach rooms Atlantic side are superb
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestAmbassador02, Guest Relations Manager at St. James's Club & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2017

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent holiday at St. James's Club Antigua! We are overjoyed your stay exceeded your expectations, and we greatly appreciate your generous compliments toward our excellent dining, courteous staff, and beautifully-kept facilities.

We sincerely thank you for your wonderful support, and hope you will join us in gorgeous Antigua for another magnificent Caribbean holiday in the near future!

Best regards,

St. James’s Club, Antigua
Staff & Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 5, 2017

Visited a month ago now, but a massive thank you to all the incredible staff who looked after us! Stayed in the royal suites, they were lovely and spacious, and Ralph looked after us really well, nothing was too much for him even though we asked loads of questions!

Seryna, Bobby, Alfred, Micheal and Brad were all amazing too, from running down from Coco's to Rainbow's to get cream for an irish coffee to knowing our drinks orders without even asking as well as the great laughs we had with them, these people really made our stay special!

One final word on staff is the manager himself Mr Rob Barrett. What an incredible guy, when hurricane Irma arrived upon us he came and stayed at the resort himself and talked to lots of the guests afterwards, now that is how you run a business, all his employees had nothing but good words to say about him.

Coco's is well worth the walk up for breakfast and lunch, rainbow's was great for dinner. The docksider was fairly average food wise, and Piccolo's was lovely but super hot and kind of spoilt what was otherwise a lovely meal, preferred sitting down in Rainbow's with a bit of a breeze.

One thing you must do is Stingray city! It was unreal and very easy to organise through the hotel, definitely recommend it.

I would hope that one day I return to this stunning and friendly resort, but for now all I can do is recommend it to anyone who is thinking about it!

Room Tip: Room's facing Mamora bay get the sunset
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Screenname997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 1, 2017

Having returned from this Resort 2 days ago, I can honestly say that this is the place to stay.

Set in a beautiful location, this gated Resort and surroundings is maintained to a high standard; it will leave you with memorable experiences.

From the moment you arrive, you will be greeted by warm, welcoming, attentive Reception/Managerial staff, who maintain a high professional approach at all times. This atmosphere will then ease you into the commencement of your stay after a long flight. The transition to your room, villa or private suites will also be smooth, with the aid of porters, who are equally professional and welcoming.

There are 5 restaurants, with bars and pools attached: Rainbow Garden; Docksider; Piccolol Mondo; Eleven – 11, and Coco’s. A good selection of food choices is available, along with an A La Carte option, to suit all dietary requirements. Reservations are required to dine.

A Children’s Club and pool are also insitu, along with Tennis Courts, hi spec Gymnasium (with personal trainers) and a Spa, for those who wish to indulge. Motorised/non-motorised activities are also available.

House Keeping: This facility is provided on a daily basis. Any additional requirements will be taken care of with just a phone call. Complimentary Eco-Friendly shower gels/shampoo/skin cream are replaced daily, otherwise there is an on-site shop available for other additional requirements. Again, you will encounter polite, courteous and willing staff to meet your requirements.

Room Fridges: Depending on your board basis, these can be stocked to your specification, and at your own cost.

Entertainment/Tours: Entertainment is provided most evenings, depending where you choose to dine.

This Resort will arrange tours and other outside entertainment on your behalf.

The Pink Panther Island Tour (at US$ 99.00 pp, includes lunch) is one to opt for, if you have an interest in the historical elements of Antigua. You will be taken to Nelson’s Dockyard, where your guide will reflect on the conditions of that era in protecting the Island from invaders etc. The Pink Panther tour will also take you to other points of interest such as the remains of various Forts; Devils Reach; Bettys Hope Restoration, where the process of sugar cane production to rum will be explained. Shirley Heights is another point of interest during this tour, with it’s links to Nelson’s Dockyard. Here you will be able to observe the beautiful sunsets and spectacular views or, separately indulge in a lengthier period of time at this interest. A buffet meal during the separate tour can be obtained (minimal cost), whilst you listen to steel pan playing, and other dancing entertainment for an evening (at US$10.00 pp entrance fee). Take your swimwear during the Pink Panther tour, as you will stop for hour at Jolly Beach – sun umbrellas are available at US$10.00 to hire.

A taxi to the Islands capital city, St. John, can also be arranged by the Resort at US$14.00 pp (minimum 4 people sharing), otherwise you can arrange your own taxi at a higher cost. You will be taken to the area where you can purchase Duty Free items – remember to take details of return flight and/or passport. The taxi will return to collect you at the drop off point, but please ensure you are punctual for the return to the Resort.

You can indulge in as little, or as much of the activities provided at this Resort. I certainly came away feeling rejuvenated, and happy having had all my holiday requests fulfilled in the safe hands of this Resort, courtesy of the owner, Mr Barrett, and his impeccable team, so much so, I very much look forward to seeing them all again in December 2017, and would not hesitate to refer family, friends and colleagues to this delightful Resort.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank LadyC139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestAmbassador02, Guest Relations Manager at St. James's Club & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2017

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing St. James’s Club Antigua for your Caribbean holiday! We sincerely thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience, and we are very appreciative of all of your wonderful sentiments. We truly love what we do and we cannot thank you enough for your wonderful support.

At St. James's Club, is our heartfelt goal to provide our treasured guests with unforgettable getaways, and we were delighted to learn that your visit was met with some much-needed relaxation!

We truly appreciate your gracious feedback, and can't wait to welcome your return and create many more incredible memories together during your next visit!

Best regards,

St. James’s Club, Antigua
Staff & Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 1, 2017

Beach front room with access onto the beach, there are two beaches at this resort the calm bay and on the other side the beach that can be affected by the tides however there is a reef that keeps the large waves at bay, the beach is cleaned every morning and is picturesque.
This hotel has a marvellous gym which is new and excellent tennis courts, all the water sports are free and no enjoying jet skis.
The grounds to this hotel are very well looked after.
There are 4 restaurants and a beach bar however we had some concerns over these as the choice was limited as not all are open and this restricted menu choice on several nights, at Coco restaurant we waited 50 minutes for pizzas, the beach bar burgers were very greasy. The catering has some customer service issues but you won't go hungry and the food that is available is of a good standard.
From the Airport it is 35 minutes by Taxi from the taxi rank opposite the Arrivals, cost was $40 US Dollars and on return the taxi rank is at the Hotel same price.
If you want to go to Shirley heights it's $30 US dollars.
Gift shop is available and a good choice of products. There is a room safe and this is free but is key operated.

Room Tip: "The beach front rooms on the ground floor have direct access down onto the beach and you have the sun during the morning"
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Holidaytrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews