We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (416)
Filter reviews
416 results
Traveller rating
174
139
71
28
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
174
139
71
28
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lake peten beautiful hotel sunset cruise pool and jacuzzi room was large grounds are beautiful boat ride national park el remate turtle feeding isolated hotel a great place to stay nice balcony air conditioned howler monkeys unpaved road minute drive
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 416 reviews
Reviewed April 18, 2018 via mobile

We were pleased with this hotel especially being in Guatemala. I would have given it a five if the Wi-Fi had worked in the rooms but ours did not so we had to go to the lobby and even there, it was sketchy. The rooms were large and clean. The breakfasts and dinners were pretty good, especially for being in the wilds of Guatemala.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
Thank teachers55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisa B, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Camino Real Tikal, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your comment! For us it has been an honor to assist you. We hope to see you again soon.

Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 15, 2018 via mobile

Came alone to see Tikal and rest. Hotel is amazing, staff very friendly. Do not miss drinking Gallo lake front. There is a nice boat ride. Afternoon boat ride is the best (sunset and swimming). I will return.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled solo
Thank Fabiano C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisa B, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Camino Real Tikal, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your comment! For us it has been an honor to assist you. We hope to see you again soon.

Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 9, 2018

We really enjoyed this hotel---It is on a lake, with a beautiful lakeside area, beautiful gardens, amazing bird life, and a good restaurant. It is not the easiest hotel to get around--there are many steps. The staff is accommodating and helpful. It is on a dirt road--luckily we were there with an excellent NG/Lindblad tour so our bus took us to Tikal.

Room Tip: Ask about the steps!
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NCSue67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisa B, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Camino Real Tikal, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your comment! For us it has been an honor to assist you. We hope to see you again soon.

Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2018

My husband and I stayed here as part of a Lindblad/National Geographic trip to Belize and Tikal; otherwise I'm not sure we would have ever found this place. The setting is idyllic, the lovely Lake Peten on one side, and part jungle on the other. Our room was large with 2 queen size beds, so it was easy to spread out our suitcases and contents. The bathroom was adequately sized, and the toiletries smelled really good.
We had a nice balcony from which to watch birds or the sun set.
On a catamaran that launched from the hotel dock, we took a sunset cruise on Lake Peten, which was relaxing. Although internet service was free, the connection in our rooms was poor so that in order to access our email we had to either go to the lobby or dining areas.
I don't know about the quality of the a la cart menu items, but our daily buffets were mediocre. There was always a selection of meat and chicken, but I had the fish, which actually tasted good, well seasoned. For breakfast, I loaded up on fruits, like fresh, ripe papayas, watermelons, and pineapples that were so sweet and juicy.

I know others have mentioned that part of the road to the hotel is a challenging, bumpy, unpaved, gravel road, but I'm not sure that the hotel has the means to pave it. In any case, the first trip over that uncomfortable section seemed to take over an hour, but each subsequent ride seemed shorter and less stressful. It probably took all of 20 minutes to go about 2.5 miles. A 4-wheel drive vehicle would be a good choice to navigate this road.

One complaint I do have is that the hotel did not provide bottled water. There were 2 bottles in the mini-fridge for a charge. Fortunately the tour company provided us with plenty of bottled water on the trip so that we did not have to purchase from the mini-fridge.

Room Tip: Our room 506 had an excellent view of the lake.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank txchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisa B, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Camino Real Tikal, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your comment! For us it has been an honor to assist you. We hope to see you again soon.

Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2018 via mobile

We spent 5 amazingly relaxing days here.
Rooms were big with stunning views over Lake Peten. Staff couldn’t have been more helpful and friendly,from reception to waiters to gardeners . I just love the Guatemalan people anyway !
The food was always excellent .
We did a trip to Tikal which the hotel organized for us and everything went smoothly.
Lovely beach area by the edge of the lake to swing in a hammock with a good book , then stroll over for a nearby temascal followed by a dip in the lake ! Heaven !

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Marian9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisa B, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Camino Real Tikal, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2018

Dear Marian,

Thank you for your comment, we really like that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. We hope you come back soon.

Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews