We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“High standard in relaxed environment”
other traveller has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
58 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
8 Bedrooms, 9 Bathrooms, Sleeps 21
Vilanant, Province of Girona, Catalonia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 58 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

MR_MRS_St...
Copenhagen Region, Denmark
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“High standard in relaxed environment”
Reviewed October 16, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We stayed a night in Mas Jonquer during a business visit to Catalonia, and we enjoyed very much the place. The rooms are of very high standard, and the house very autentic. We enjoyed an excellent breakfast. The house has a garden, which is almost a park and a very big swimming pool. There is also a tennis court. We enjoyed our stay very much - L + B (Denmark)

Date of stay: September 2014
Cleanliness Service
Visit was for: Business
Travelling group: Negocios
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bells-n-h...
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Middle of nowhere”
Reviewed September 25, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Mas Jonquer is a very well converted farmhouse. The rooms are very nicely appointed, good bathroom, although the bed was rather too hard for our taste.

Because of the T shape of our room, the aircon didn't really reach the bed, despite a ceiling fan.

Isabel provided very good, and very good value evening meal (we couldn't believe that the E16 a head included such good wine) - even at relatively short notice (necessary, because there are few close restaurants, and they have crazy opening hours), breakfast good, loved the honesty bar.

Delightful to be able to relax in the garden, have a game of boules (or was it petanques...never did know the difference), have a dip in the pool.

Date of stay: September 2014
Rooms Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Richard M
Shipham
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful place”
Reviewed August 21, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

There were 13 of us including one 4 year old and one baby of 8 months. We had an amazing stay. The Villa was all we were led to believe and more, well equipped, clean and with lots of facilities. The pool and baby pool were great. It was situated in lovely countryside but there was also easy access to villages, shops and seaside. Isabel, the owner was very helpful and friendly. We had a wonderful time.

Date of stay: August 2014
Rooms Location
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: En familia
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mary O
Bendigo, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Winner”
Reviewed October 20, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Having travelled for many years, highs and lows are expected accommodation wise, we were totally impressed by Mas Jonquer. This property is well placed for exploring the region, and in Catalonia being so close to the Pyrenees and a "pathway" into France beyond, there is much to enjoy. Isabel Prat, owner and hostess is an absolute professional. Friendly without gush, she anticipates and meets needs with ease, and treats each guest with the right degree of respect. She should be made a template for B&B standards worldwide. Totally conscious at all times of security - but offering trust, one feels safe,secure, also quite free. The dinner was superb, no other description warrants it. Shared with other fortunate guests - and meeting and enjoying the company of others is neither fostered nor discouraged and so, either quiet singular dining or joining other groups is up to the individual - plenty of room in the spacious dining room for either - we had a memorable time with memorable food. The silky lasagne is recalled with delight by us both, and there were choices enough from the "set" 4 course menu to tempt any appetite, portions were generous. The room was spacious, comfortable and like the bathroom spotlessly clean. The gardens were both tranquil and a delight to the eye. For families or the more active guest, a pool, tennis court, playground furniture for children, all well cared for, available and inviting. Breakfast was as comprehensively stand out as dinner. If required, bacon and egg cooked on demand, fresh and delicious fruit juices, rolls, fruit, muffins, a great range of breads and spreads, pastries,meats and cheeses for the European palate, also English and American tastes well catered for. Simply "un-faultable" - may not be a word, but it describes Isabel and her hospitality perfectly. We will return.

Date of stay: October 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
352KateF3...
Toulouse, France
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Tranquil base for exploring Catalonia”
Reviewed May 9, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

I hesitate to use the expression "good value", as it doesn't necessarily imply top quality, but this hotel really does have it all at a very reasonable price: a beautiful, tranquil setting far from the hustle of day-to-day life; pretty renovated Catalan farmhouse; good quality fixtures and fittings; excellent food; and a hostess who seems to try very hard to anticipate guests' needs.

We had a wonderful two day stay, benefitting from the location to explore the coastline near Figueres. Each morning we set off fuelled with an unusually good breakfast (freshly cooked bacon and omelette, range of fresh and dried fruits, home-made cake, pastries, bread, jams, meat and cheese...), and in the evening had a really good 4 course meal, wine included, for the bargain sum of 16 euros/person. The manager checked what we'd like in advance as it's a fixed menu, and then had prepared a delicious vegetable soup, salad with cheese and tomato filo parcel, fresh fish with asparagus, and apple-pie with turron ice-cream, all home-cooked. I don't think we'll ever eat as well again for that price!

There were also nice little touches, like guests being trusted with a drinks cupboard and glasses should they want a drink in the evening. Isabel, the manager, apparently has taken over the family business armed with a degree in hotel management, and the professionalism shows. Will definitely be back.

Date of stay: May 2013
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: En couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
h f
France
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B with restaurant”
Reviewed May 18, 2012 for a stay in May 2012

We (2 adults, one 2-year-old ) had a lovely stay in this B&B! Isabel Prat is a very kind and enthusiastic host, who speaks English and French fluently. She gave us a useful list of restaurants in Figueras (5-minute drive from the Mas) and even made a telephonic reservation for a tour at the Dalí-house in Portlligat for me, which I really appreciated. Our room (room 3) was great, and very clean. The garden is huge, and there is a nice swimming pool, as well as a soccer field and even a tennis court! Our toddler loved it. Breakfast is included in the room rate. We highly recommend having dinner (cooked with love by Isabel's mother, 16 euros for a 3-course dinner) at the Mas. We definitely recommend going to Mas Jonquer.

Date of stay: May 2012
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: En familia
Your age range 35-49
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ledarby
Barcelona, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“'LOVED IT!'”
Reviewed May 3, 2012 for a stay in May 2012

Felt really welcome at this rural country house. Isabel is very helpful and friendly. The house and its grounds are beautiful and well kept. It is very peaceful - I woke up to the sound of birds singing. Very good quality buffet breakfast, very reasonably priced self service mini bar in the dining room. Recommendable for couples or families with young children. Loved the fact that you can take your dog.

Date of stay: May 2012
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: En pareja
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2023 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Canada. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.