We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A very nice stay”
other traveller has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
58 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
8 Bedrooms, 9 Bathrooms, Sleeps 21
Vilanant, Province of Girona, Catalonia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 58 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

AllyMoEdz...
Edzell, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Not all its cracked up to be.”
Reviewed August 15, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

As a family group of 12 adults we have been going on holiday together for a good number of years. This year was Mas Jonquer's turn. On arrival, Isabel was very welcoming and showed us round, how things worked and where things were locally. Although this place is run as B&B we had the whole property to ourselves, except we didn't know it was effectively attached to another property occupied by Isabel and family, so not as isolated as we anticipated. The bedrooms were all very nice with working a/c and ensuites, all much of the same standard and size. The lounge, dining room and kitchen were all of a good size too.The outside terrace was nicely located apart from the smell from the drains and the adjacent cattle barns. The grounds too are very spacious and it has a lovely pool, but why do the staff have to be tending to it at times when we were using the facilities. Some of our women felt uncomfortable in the pool with the elderly man wandering about. The biggest problem we had was that Isabel told us the oven was a bit temperamental, then early in the first week it decided to stop altogether ! The day it broke Isabel took our prepared meal away and cooked it for us. However it took the best part of a week to get a replacement oven ! As a group, we enjoy prepping and cooking our own meals, with the kitchen being an integral part of the holiday. Isabel did offer to cook our meals for us in her house, but that is defeating the point made in the previous sentence, so wrong had to improvise and adjust our menus so that we could use the barbecue. We also ended up eating out a good bit more, at significant expense. By the time the new cooker arrived, we had already planned our meals utilising the bbq so it's eventual arrival was meaningless. We paid more for this holiday than any other, yet were offered a paltry €150 for our inconvenience (any group meal out was costing in excess of €300). Even then, the chap that saw us off kept the money in his pocket until we had to ask for it So, the building and grounds are very nice, the smells not so much, and the level of attention to shortcomings was woeful I'm afraid. The WiFi was also pathetic, very intermittent as to connecting.

Date of stay: July 2016
Value Rooms
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jkotli
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A very nice stay”
Reviewed July 5, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed at Mas Jonquer for 2 nights. The room was specious and spotless clean. The breakfast was very good as well as the 2 dinners we ate. Great service.

Isabel was very helpful planing our trips in Costa Brava.

Date of stay: June 2015
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MR_MRS_St...
Copenhagen Region, Denmark
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“High standard in relaxed environment”
Reviewed October 16, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We stayed a night in Mas Jonquer during a business visit to Catalonia, and we enjoyed very much the place. The rooms are of very high standard, and the house very autentic. We enjoyed an excellent breakfast. The house has a garden, which is almost a park and a very big swimming pool. There is also a tennis court. We enjoyed our stay very much - L + B (Denmark)

Date of stay: September 2014
Cleanliness Service
Visit was for: Business
Travelling group: Negocios
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bells-n-h...
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Middle of nowhere”
Reviewed September 25, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Mas Jonquer is a very well converted farmhouse. The rooms are very nicely appointed, good bathroom, although the bed was rather too hard for our taste.

Because of the T shape of our room, the aircon didn't really reach the bed, despite a ceiling fan.

Isabel provided very good, and very good value evening meal (we couldn't believe that the E16 a head included such good wine) - even at relatively short notice (necessary, because there are few close restaurants, and they have crazy opening hours), breakfast good, loved the honesty bar.

Delightful to be able to relax in the garden, have a game of boules (or was it petanques...never did know the difference), have a dip in the pool.

Date of stay: September 2014
Rooms Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Richard M
Shipham
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful place”
Reviewed August 21, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

There were 13 of us including one 4 year old and one baby of 8 months. We had an amazing stay. The Villa was all we were led to believe and more, well equipped, clean and with lots of facilities. The pool and baby pool were great. It was situated in lovely countryside but there was also easy access to villages, shops and seaside. Isabel, the owner was very helpful and friendly. We had a wonderful time.

Date of stay: August 2014
Rooms Location
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: En familia
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mary O
Bendigo, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Winner”
Reviewed October 20, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Having travelled for many years, highs and lows are expected accommodation wise, we were totally impressed by Mas Jonquer. This property is well placed for exploring the region, and in Catalonia being so close to the Pyrenees and a "pathway" into France beyond, there is much to enjoy. Isabel Prat, owner and hostess is an absolute professional. Friendly without gush, she anticipates and meets needs with ease, and treats each guest with the right degree of respect. She should be made a template for B&B standards worldwide. Totally conscious at all times of security - but offering trust, one feels safe,secure, also quite free. The dinner was superb, no other description warrants it. Shared with other fortunate guests - and meeting and enjoying the company of others is neither fostered nor discouraged and so, either quiet singular dining or joining other groups is up to the individual - plenty of room in the spacious dining room for either - we had a memorable time with memorable food. The silky lasagne is recalled with delight by us both, and there were choices enough from the "set" 4 course menu to tempt any appetite, portions were generous. The room was spacious, comfortable and like the bathroom spotlessly clean. The gardens were both tranquil and a delight to the eye. For families or the more active guest, a pool, tennis court, playground furniture for children, all well cared for, available and inviting. Breakfast was as comprehensively stand out as dinner. If required, bacon and egg cooked on demand, fresh and delicious fruit juices, rolls, fruit, muffins, a great range of breads and spreads, pastries,meats and cheeses for the European palate, also English and American tastes well catered for. Simply "un-faultable" - may not be a word, but it describes Isabel and her hospitality perfectly. We will return.

Date of stay: October 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
352KateF3...
Toulouse, France
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Tranquil base for exploring Catalonia”
Reviewed May 9, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

I hesitate to use the expression "good value", as it doesn't necessarily imply top quality, but this hotel really does have it all at a very reasonable price: a beautiful, tranquil setting far from the hustle of day-to-day life; pretty renovated Catalan farmhouse; good quality fixtures and fittings; excellent food; and a hostess who seems to try very hard to anticipate guests' needs.

We had a wonderful two day stay, benefitting from the location to explore the coastline near Figueres. Each morning we set off fuelled with an unusually good breakfast (freshly cooked bacon and omelette, range of fresh and dried fruits, home-made cake, pastries, bread, jams, meat and cheese...), and in the evening had a really good 4 course meal, wine included, for the bargain sum of 16 euros/person. The manager checked what we'd like in advance as it's a fixed menu, and then had prepared a delicious vegetable soup, salad with cheese and tomato filo parcel, fresh fish with asparagus, and apple-pie with turron ice-cream, all home-cooked. I don't think we'll ever eat as well again for that price!

There were also nice little touches, like guests being trusted with a drinks cupboard and glasses should they want a drink in the evening. Isabel, the manager, apparently has taken over the family business armed with a degree in hotel management, and the professionalism shows. Will definitely be back.

Date of stay: May 2013
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: En couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2023 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Canada. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.