We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
eDreams
Priceline
ZenHotels.com
View all 5 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (37)
Filter reviews
37 results
Traveller rating
35
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
35
2
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 37 reviews
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Ferreirola was the fourth "white village" we have stayed at on our 6 week car trip around Andalusia. We have found our way to some remote spots and Ferreirola was another. My husband was beginning to have his doubts when we got to the Square, however with a little poking around we found the Sierra y Mar sign and followed our noses to the Blue Door which I'd been told about several weeks ago by Guy Hunter Watts in Montecorte. It proved to be another fabulous recommendation from him and the walking out of Ferreirola was brilliant.

Great facilities for self catering and gorgeous sunny courtyard to dine in. Breakfast is included and is superb served with a fabulous view of the mountains directly opposite. Equally appreciated was the large sunny clothesline to catch up on the washing.

Inge appears to know a lot of the walking tracks having been a walking guide herself, so if you are coming to walk you couldn't pick a better location. She also organised a horse riding day out for me with Rafael up into the mountains above Capileria which was terrific.

With the location of Sierrya y Mar and the whole area this will be a spot we will never forget.

Room tip: Ask for the room at the top next to the clothesline. Has it's own terrace and table/chairs for evening drink or intimate dining.
Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Greennz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Sierra y Mar is a wonderful guest-house run by hospitable owners, Inge (Danish) and Giuseppe (Italian) in the remote Alpujarran village of Ferreirola. Made up of original, small white-washed houses set amongst a pretty hillside garden, Sierra y Mar is a great escape from the bustle of the Spanish coast and for us a lovely way to round off a visit to Granada (2 hours by car). Expect comfortable beds and efficient ensuite showers in white painted rooms with fantastic views across the valley, wonderful breakfasts served outside where you can admire the view, with fresh local tomatoes, cheeses, breads, yoghurt, fruit and breads with delicious home-made marmalades and jams. We stayed in early November and experienced high blue skies, autumn sunshine and spectacular autumn colours. If you like wandering along old medieval trails through peaceful ancient mixed woodland past plentiful streams and small farm holdings and up onto mountain pasture then come here. The walk to Trevelez (6 - 7 hours) is especially beautiful. Next door village of Messina (walking distance) has a few welcoming and very enjoyable restaurants.

Date of stay: November 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jillbackathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We only stayed for two nights but had a fantastic stay.
This place has the atmosphere of a youth hostel but with delicious breakfast, nice rooms and a lovely garden.
At night you only hear the river deep in the valley.

Date of stay: April 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarcAntwerpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 3, 2011

My husband and I stayed here the second week of September. It's located at the very end of the road in a small town, Ferreirola. There is only one tea house there but the town just before it has a few restaurants and a market. We bought items and made our own dinner 2 of 3 nights and sat on the patio. The kitchen has basic items so cooking is easy.

The owners, Sepp and Inge are very nice, speak great English and are happy to help. This is a great place if you want to go hiking from 1-hour to all day. We wished we could stay longer as you could hike for days and days and it is beautiful.

We looked forward to breakfast each morning. They get very nice artisan bread, home made jam, tomatoes and olive oil, butter, juice, a small bowl of yogurt and muesli, ham and cheese slices and all the caffe con leche or tea you want.

The location is very quiet and relaxing. After being in Barcelona and Granada, it was a nice change of pace. Would stay here again and highly recommend, especially if you like to hike.

Room tip: If you go to the vegetarian restaurant in the next town, DO NOT order a bottle of wine! We ordered one and they opened it before bringing it to our table. The wine was horrible (it was truly undrinkable). The food is good but order wine by the glass.
Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LWGandM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2011

I spent five lovely days at Sierra y Mar. The rooms are comfortable, quiet and very private, the views fabulous. Hosts Inger and Sepp are gracious without hovering, and will recommend first-rate hikes. If you're looking for tranquility, this is it.

Date of stay: March 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ebecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews